We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Washington

Expedia.comUS$ 70*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 72*
US$ 70*
US$ 72*
US$ 72*
US$ 70*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
The Washington
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

658 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Washington
See the most recent reviews
Showing 619: English reviews
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 November 2015

Comfortable room with clean and well equipped en-suite. A good variety and decent hot food at breakfast, and served at times to suit business and leisure traveller. Very professional staff, happy to help and savings can be made booking direct with chain. Lots of stairs!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank hm12523
WashingtonManager, Assistant Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Hi Hm12523 Thank you for your fantastic feedback, we really appreciate it. Our housekeeping team does their best to ensure that all the rooms are well prepared for our guests. We have many different choices of breakfast including gluten free and vegan options, we also have two chefs working everyday to ensure the breakfast is served efficiently and that the...

San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewed 30 November 2015

I had to stay here last week because of work. The hotel was good, it was basically all I needed, a bed, a bathroom and a good price. Breakfast in the morning was particularly great. The reception staff were really friendly. I picked this place because it quite convenient where I was going.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gabo Q
WashingtonManager, Assistant Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Hi Alberto1423 Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback, It’s so nice to see that you have enjoyed your breakfast in the morning, we think it’s an important part of the day and we try to make it as tasty as possible. Washington is in perfect location, close to city center, main bus rotes...

Reviewed 29 November 2015

I have stayed in the Washington several times over the last few months. It's located in a lovely part of Bristol (Clifton) and is very convenient for visiting the university and the city centre. I've stayed in at least 4 different rooms on my travels and they've all been of similar quality: tired decoration and furnishing, beds of average comfort,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harry B
WashingtonManager, Assistant Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Hi Harry B Thank you very much for this review, it’s fantastic to hear that our staff was wonderful. They always go the extra mile for all of our guests, to be certain that they feel welcomed and comfortable. Our Breakfast team always makes sure that the food is well prepared and very tasty. At the moment we are doing...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 November 2015 via mobile

I unfortunately left it too late to book a place to stay in Bristol so had to take The Washington, despite all the bad reviews, in the hope that it would be OK. It's not. I'm in a single room with a shared bathroom (reminds me of uni halls). The shower is always cold because they forget to turn the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angelique B
WashingtonManager, Assistant Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Hi Angelique B Thank you for your review, and I’m really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our Non-ensuite rooms are great deals for guests that would like to save money they also come with breakfast included. We do not forget to turn the heating on, if many of our guests take shower at...

Stone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 November 2015

I had booked 3 nights at the Washington in a family room for my wife, son and myself. When we reached room 46 on the top floor we were immediately disappointed as it appeared shabby. Closer examination showed that it was in fact dirty. There was wallpaper peeling off the wall above the window and the frame was filthy. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DavidFolkes
WashingtonManager, Assistant Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Hi DavidFolkes Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we really appreciate feedback on your stay as this gives us opportunity to improve on different areas of our hotel. After receiving your review we have immediately taken actions and cleaned all areas that you have mentioned. We have also made our Maintenance team aware of the wallpaper...

Frinton-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 November 2015

Excellent location, within walking distance of the vibrant City Centre and many historical buildings and landmarks, also Clifton Village which is charming. Wealth of restaurants again within walking distance. Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms could do with a little TLC but are clean and comfortable. Wonderful breakfast, your choice freshly cooked to order plus continental style, help yourself buffet....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JudithH1706
WashingtonManager, Assistant Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Dear JudithH1706 I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. I have passed on the great comments about the breakfast to our team. It makes a big difference to us, when our guests see that we try our best to provide an excellent service. Washington is located in heart of Clifton which...

Arrens-Marsous, France
Reviewed 15 November 2015

This hotel represents very good value for money. It is conveniently placed right in the centre of Clifton, within easy walking distance of shops and restaurants. Although the decor is a little tired, all the important aspects are in place: warm rooms, comfortable beds, lovely big towels, wifi access and an excellent breakfast, cooked to order. Despite being very central,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne S
WashingtonManager, Assistant Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Dear SuzzaneS It’s Fantastic to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. Our reception, breakfast and housekeeping team do everything in their power to make our guests stay comfortable and personal. We have plenty of different breakfast options available of all the guests as we think that breakfast is very important part of the day! Thank you very...

Reviewed 11 November 2015 via mobile

Was not able to book into the Rodney so was offered rooms in the Washington which is part of the group. The good bits: Staff very helpful Bed very comfortable Great towels The bad bits Room decoration very dated and in need of a major face lift with paper hanging off the wall The sash window frame was very dirty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roynshirl
WashingtonManager, Assistant Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Dear roynshirl I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your room. I am glad, though, that you found the receptionist to be helpful. Our beds are carefully prepared by our housekeeping team to make sure you get a nice night of sleep. In regards to decoration, we have an ongoing refurbishment project here at the Washington...

Newquay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 November 2015

Clean, comfortable room. Plenty of tea, coffee and drinking chocolate provided in the room, plus a bowl of fruit. Nice and quiet. The breakfast was excellent and the staff were friendly and helpful. Reception staff were too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ellen R
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Dear Ellen R, Thank you so much for this glowing review - it has brought a big smile to my face! We work so hard to give every guest the experience that you had and so it is a real encouragement when we hear that our hard work has paid off. Do come back and see us again soon, we...

Reviewed 7 November 2015 via mobile

Not a good start when it took 2 attempts asking about getting to the carpark. This was more of a language barrier issue than the incompetence of staff but the receptionist showed annoyance when we had to re-ask where the carpark was situated. Once the car was parked, we took our stuff inside and went to check in. This was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michaela C
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this review

Dear Michaela C, Thank you for taking the time to write us this thorough review. As a small independent hotel guests review really help us to narrow down where we are doing well and also areas for improvement. It is great to hear that you found your room clean & comfortable, and that you appreciated the fresh fruit, biscuits, tea,...

172 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (133)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (3)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.1 km away
The Clifton Hotel
The Clifton Hotel
#34 of 37 in Bristol
648 reviews
0.8 km away
The Rodney Hotel
The Rodney Hotel
#31 of 37 in Bristol
417 reviews
0.5 km away
The Berkeley Square Hotel
The Berkeley Square Hotel
#32 of 37 in Bristol
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Victoria Square Hotel
Victoria Square Hotel
#28 of 37 in Bristol
509 reviews
1.3 km away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Haymarket) Hotel
0.1 km away
The Regency Bristol Hotel
The Regency Bristol Hotel
#40 of 52 in Bristol
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Washington offers City accommodation in the heart of Clifton. We combine both comfort and convenience with the most competitive of prices. An absolute must for those on a budget: quality accommodation and the highest standards of service. With a Full English or Continental breakfast, bowl of fruit, biscuits and complimentary tea and coffee included in the price of every room, the Washington really is the best value Guest House in Bristol.Whatever your reason for visiting, our friendly and efficient reception team is always on hand to make sure your stay is as enjoyable as possible. No matter how long you spend with us, whether it is one day or one month, the Washington's home-from-home atmosphere will perfectly harmonize with your time in the city. Guests at the Washington have a full range of restaurants, cafes and bars on their very doorstep, with Racks Bar & Kitchen and Cafe Clifton merely a few steps away, and the busy Whiteladies road nearby. Secure onsite parking is available for a small charge. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Washington

Address: 11-15 St. Pauls Road | Clifton, Bristol BS8 1LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Price Range: ₹ 3,940 - ₹ 8,461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Washington 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Washington Hotel Bristol
Washington Hotel Bristol
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Washington staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Chicago, Illinois
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
11 months ago
California Desert, California

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The Washington staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't choose room 9”
molly123495, 26 May 2017 | Read review
“Aim to face the road, rear views are to the car park and delaperdated buildings and are very dull in the evening.”
Pixiwhiteknuckles, 9 May 2017 | Read review
“Request a lower floor room if stairs are a problem, no lifts unfortunately.”
Q9993JUmatthewc, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“quiet floor”
SusieGAviemore, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Go for a double room, even if you are travelling alone.”
helenbowstead, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$ 70* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 72
TravelocityUS$ 70
TripAdvisorUS$ 70
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates