We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Avonside Guest House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Avonside Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

29 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 27: English reviews
Newquay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2016

My partner, young daughter and I stayed for two nights. The owner was very nice and friendly. We booked one room but we were lucky as our room had an adjoining room for our daughter. Travel cot was provided. Breakfast was good with plenty of food and hot drinks. Would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rower678
alison h, Owner at Avonside Guest House, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for taking the time to review our guest house, I am glad you had a nice stay and an enjoyable weekend, we have only recently fitted our fresh ground 'bean to cup' coffee facility which is free all day and it is proving to be very popular. It was lovely to meet you and your super...

Reviewed 24 October 2016

The guest house is very convenient for the centre of Bristol, with only a short 20 minute walk through the vibrant culture of Bristol's Prince's Wharf and Mud Dock area, to Colston Hall, the Bear Pit, Stoke's Croft and any number of other interesting, exciting, and varied places that the City offers these days. Avonside Guest House itself is well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
alison h, Manager at Avonside Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review, and I look forward to meeting you again should your travels bring you to Bristol in the future. Alison

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 October 2016

Needs a bit of refurb, Shower wouldnt get hot so had to have a cold shower in late september. Staff friendly and good service. Cleanliness in dinning area was poor, utensils & cultery was dirty on various occassions. Breakfast included in price , rooms were extremely cold at night , parking needs to be attended to as no parking outside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank luvinia1969
alison h, Owner at Avonside Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Guest House, I am sorry that you found problems. As I dont know the name you booked under or which room you stayed in or on what days I have inspected each shower and heating system in the whole house and could not find a problem, the heating was put on...

Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

Perfect location for the city and the bars near the harbour, nice big shared room for me and my friends. Lovely hostess who was very friendly and made sure we had everything we needed. Didn't try out the breakfast. Shower was either too hot or too cold, only downside.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Oliver P
alison h, Owner at Avonside Guest House, responded to this review

Hi and thank you for your review, and taking time to share your experience, I will look into the shower which is a mixer system. Alison

Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed at this place a few times had three or four different rooms, all the rooms are very outdated the beds are extremely uncomfortable the breakfast for me doesn't work it's a continental style breakfast cereal, toast, croissants what I don't get if Alison can get up really early to put the continental breakfast out why doesn't she do a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim E
alison h, Owner at Avonside Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review my guest house, we have two standards of rooms as indicated on our booking sight as we continually run a refurbishment program of decorating rooms, I have just published the latest re furbished room photos on face book. You stated you last stayed in March and so as this was 6 months...

Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

Good budget B&b has a good location not far from the centre, parking was hard to find but for those who travel by train the station is only a short walk away. The room was clean and tidy would happily spend a few nights here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sean D
alison h, Owner at Avonside Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we aim to achieve the balance between cost and comfort and I am pleased you would stay again. Alison

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 May 2016 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel over the weekend. Very basic & dated. I honestly felt like I was staying in a hotel room from the 1990s. Wardrobes. Beds. Carpets. Curtains. Everything was OLD! Shower was a nightmare to work....once it did it work it wouldn't stay warm...cold is an understatement, so kinda felt dirty stop after a shower. The TV kept...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank barrettjake
alison h, Owner at Avonside Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I welcome the opportunity to always improve the customer experience and am concerned that you have not had a good experience. When you phoned and asked for a double room I explained that due to the short notice, I only had one room left, it was very small and twin beds, was a 'standard' quality...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 March 2016 via mobile

I had family stay at Avonside for three nights over easter. The check in was easy, they were greeted by a lovely couple who own the guest house. The room they were shown to was great, comfortable and clean! The location is really good, within walking distance of nice areas of bristol and north street which is great for food!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danimal14
alison h, Owner at Avonside Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the lovely review, it was a pleasure to have your family stay with us over the Easter holiday and hope you all had a great time at the Wedding. Alison

Reviewed 22 February 2016

We were a group of students, and found the guesthouse more than welcoming after a day walking around. We arrived late, but after calling the manager managed to find our rooms and settle down. We had a double room and a twin room, and though were not big, fitted us perfectly without feeling constraint. The shower was very small, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie T
alison h, Owner at Avonside Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Avonside Guest House, I am glad you had a comfortable stay with friends, I apologize for the lack of wifi which is uaually available in all rooms and is free, as I live on the premsis I would of been happy to try to problem solve at the time,...

Tralee
Reviewed 17 September 2015 via mobile

If you are working in Bristol and on a budget it will suffice it is very basic beds are worn rooms need decorating showers are hard work and breakfast is a help yourself continental affair which is tea toast cereal and fruit it is not for the connoisseur

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank christopher s
alison h, Owner at Avonside Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for the review and giving us an opportunity to learn and improve our business, we aim to offer good quality budget accommodation and have a rolling program of refurbishment, we endeavor to keep costs as low as possible but this should never be at the expense of standards. Since your review we have refurbished the hall way and...

10 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.5 km away
Ibis Bristol Centre
Ibis Bristol Centre
#19 of 37 in Bristol
1,369 reviews
1.0 km away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (King Street) Hotel
1.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
No photo provided
0.1 km away
Southville Guest House
Southville Guest House
#5 of 52 in Bristol
31 reviews
0.2 km away
The Riverview Guest House
The Riverview Guest House
#22 of 52 in Bristol
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Avon Side is large Victorian Villa offering low cost, good quality accommodation. We are ideally located just 10 minute walk to Bristol's Historic Harbor side and tourist attractions as well as theaters and night life. One mile from train and bus station and the advantage of free weekend parking and discount week day parking. As we are a family business we can tailor your stay to your needs making sure you are as comfortable as possible and adapt to ensure a pleasant experience. Most of our rooms are en suite, we have a range of rooms from singles to large 5 person family rooms, a dining room and kitchenette is available all day with continental breakfast provided in the room rate. I have lived in Bristol all my life and have lots of local knowledge, Please ring me to ask any questions I will be happy to help. Alison ... more   less 

Additional Information about Avonside Guest House

Address: 106 Coronation Road | Southville, Bristol BS3 1AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Price Range: ₹ 3,277 - ₹ 6,963 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Avonside Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Avonside Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stairs were pretty narrow, not very accessible with large luggage. The share bathroom is small, and shared by many people.”
 of 5 bubbles debbiet534, 22 Feb 2016 | Read review
“The back rooms are quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles Marcela12, 7 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Get an En-suite Room”
 of 5 bubbles simonl586, 15 Sep 2014 | Read review
“basically i had the last room she had and it was a lovely room and was at top of building ok only noise i had to deal with was people in there garden behind having a party which was not to bad apart from that pretty quiet”
 of 5 bubbles mrmtstallard, 12 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Ask Alison about rooms facing the road/ or the other side. I read somewhere that rooms facing the road may be a little noisier. If this is a genuine problem it is certainly avoidable.”
 of 5 bubbles 655archiek, 11 Dec 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay