We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Berkeley Square Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Berkeley Square Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

497 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Berkeley Square Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 484: English reviews
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 November 2015

I recently stayed at this hotel and my room had no heating at all. Despite several trips to speak with reception staff they made little or no effort to rectify the problem other than saying there were problems with the boiler. However, the main reception and other public areas were perfectly warm. They eventually offered me another room equally as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Duffo2014
Berkeley_Manager, Manager at Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Duffo2014, I am very disappointed to learn you have not enjoyed your stay with us. I am so sorry for the problems with the heating you encountered during your time with us. Our reception team tried their hardest to find a warm room for you. Unfortunately, as the hotel was quite busy that night their actions were very limited....

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 November 2015

Really quaint hotel merging historic charms and some modern amenities. Nicely kept up with an extremely convenient location for the Uni and various other amenities. Generally helpful staff and a lovely restaurant. But .... major noise issues. There is a club in the basement and each night I was here, the sound was seriously intrusive until midnight. Also, having arrived...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VulnerableElegant
Berkeley_Manager, Manager at Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear VulnerableElegant, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to hear you like the hotel itself and you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. I am ever so sorry for the noise issues you encountered during your time with us. Indeed, as there is...

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 November 2015

This is a horrid hotel , with truly dreadful staff , I booked a room , and asked if there was parking ,before booking as I was getting late to hotel approx 10.30 pm , ( I wouldn't have booked if there wasn't ) I was told yes , they didn't send a confirmation to me , so rang ahead...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank davina t
Berkeley_Manager, Manager at Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Davina T, I am very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. I do apologise for the miscommunication between you and the reception team. I am afraid we do not reserve parking spaces and do our best to explain to our guests that our parking is limited and on 'first come first serve' basis. I...

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2015

There are some towns/cities where I have one hotel that I will always try to stay at. In Bristol this is the Berkeley Square. It's a very stylish boutique hotel in a quiet location whilst still being very close to the University and a good selection of dining and drinking. The hotel is very compact, so don't expect spacious rooms,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M M
Berkeley_Manager, Manager at Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear M M, Thank you very much for your review of the Berkeley Square. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would stay again. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hospitality tray we provide in the rooms with the products carefully selected for our guests. I will pass on your comments onto...

Bracknell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 November 2015

I stayed for 2 nights in Nov whilst attending a reunion with the boys - i.e. solo. Externally the hotel looks as if it's old school, but internally there's a 'boutique' makeover in public areas and less than average sized room (24) than expected, even in a converted town house. The location is ideal for the town centre and museum,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JoeCBansteadUK
Berkeley_Manager, Manager at Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JoeCBansteadUK, Thank you very much for your kind review of the Berkeley Square Hotel after your recent stay with us. I am very pleased to hear you had an enjoyable time here and were satisfied with the service we provide. At the Berkeley Square we place a huge importance on customer service and always aim to offer a friendly...

Salisbury Wilts
Reviewed 30 October 2015

Very tired room, if everything that was provided in the room was teleported into a new room it would have been fine, very musty smell to the room as well. In general the place could have done with a clean and I do not agree with anyone charging for WIFI it should be included as part of the service.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ShadySteve
Berkeley_Manager, Manager at Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ShadySteve, Thank you for reviewing your stay at The Berkeley Square Hotel. I am sad to hear that you weren't fully satisfied with your stay here. We do acknowledge the fact that some of our rooms require updating and so we are continuously investing in refurbishing them. New soft furnishings are getting fitted in this month which should improve...

Uppingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 October 2015

Very central. Our bedroom was generally clean but tired,our shower trickled cold water and too much hot!I feel they need to be far more on the ball especially when serving drinks the staff member looked worried that we had asked her for service.Little things like making sure the cupboard is shut in reception area is not a lot to ask...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fiona J
Berkeley_Manager, Manager at Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Fiona J, Thank you very much for taking your time to review The Berkeley Square Hotel on Trip Advisor. I am glad you found our location to be convenient and the rooms clean. Our housekeeping team is working really hard to make sure we provide a high standard of cleanliness. Our house manager checks water temperatures on daily basis...

Reviewed 25 October 2015 via mobile

Great central location, interesting rooms, breakfast is average, you need to arrive early to get a parking space but once in your car is safe and secure undercover. I have stayed here many times over the years, and I have to say as with other comments that the decor could in some parts need a refresh now, but I am...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
Annabel T, Manager at Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michael W, Thank you very much for providing the feedback on your recent stay with us. Our parking is on ' first come first served basis' and we are unable to reserve spaces in advance. There is an alternative parking located not far from us and reception is more than happy to provide information and directions. As you are...

Island of Malta, Malta
Reviewed 25 October 2015

wi-fi was included on the online price and when arrived at the hotel the recetionist charged me 4 euros. she admited they know they have the prolem and said they have to solve it with the resellers. So why was i supposed to pay for it. they should have charged back hotels.com the room was small but acceptable if it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank smrshild
Annabel T, Manager at Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear smrshild, I am very sorry for the issue with the wifi. We do offer a complementary internet access to all of our guests who book with us directly or through our website. I will investigate why there is misleading information displayed on Hotels.com and make sure this gets resolved. I have passed your comment about the cleanliness of the...

Mooloolaba, Australia
Reviewed 21 October 2015

Staff on reception and the dinning areas very helpful, overall feel once you leave the ground floor and ascend to your rooms, scored this hotel down. It looks and feels tired, reading other posts I see the management are in addressing. My single room was on the small side, activity along the corridors is not muffled in anyway and it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clark b
Annabel T, Manager at Berkeley Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear clark b, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Berkeley Square Hotel. I am very happy you found our staff to be helpful and the room clean and functional. As you have mentioned in your review we are taking our guests' feedback very seriously and act on everyting that is brough...

130 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (114)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.7 km away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#5 of 37 in Bristol
1,103 reviews
0.6 km away
Victoria Square Hotel
Victoria Square Hotel
#26 of 37 in Bristol
472 reviews
0.9 km away
The Rodney Hotel
The Rodney Hotel
#28 of 37 in Bristol
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Washington
The Washington
#30 of 37 in Bristol
597 reviews
0.9 km away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#4 of 37 in Bristol
3,303 reviews
0.6 km away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in an elegant Georgian square in Bristol city centre, the Berkeley Square Hotel is the ideal place for your stay in Bristol. As Bristol's first art hotel, it oozes boutique charm and offers comfortable accommodation and first class service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Berkeley Square Hotel

Address: 15 Berkeley Square, Bristol BS8 1HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Price Range: ₹ 4,532 - ₹ 11,834 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Berkeley Square Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Berkeley Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Square Bristol
Hotel Berkeley Square
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Berkeley Square Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
hong kong
4 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Berkeley Square Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“None of the rooms escape the noise of the downstairs club. Don't stay there on a weekend.”
 of 5 bubbles 831simon, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“ASk for a quiet room to avoid party noise.”
 of 5 bubbles 43paddy75, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room overlooking the Square, the view of the university buildings was spectacular”
 of 5 bubbles Holbr1989, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Quiet for an inner city hotel but not truly quiet, Parking available but limited, Bring confirmation of your booking in case of problems.”
 of 5 bubbles davidhH1387JQ, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 12 a great single room!”
 of 5 bubbles 18gavink, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay