We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Base Bed & Breakfast

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bristol
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

141 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 139: English reviews
Start your review of The Base Bed & Breakfast
 Click to rate
Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We booked out the Victorian villa (including basement flat) for my hen weekend. It worked really really well. Location: whilst not very very central it's perfectly easy to get into town in a 10-12min drive. Taxis/ubers plentiful and £10-15. Plenty of supermarkets (and takeaway type restaurants) really close. Facilities: Communal kitchen/lounge area worked really well, plenty of room for us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carlyloub
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for a hen weekend and found the house to be excellent. We had originally booked the apartment but the owners gave us a free upgrade to the larger house on the day. We thought that was fantastic as they didn't have to do that for us at all. Communication from the owners was excellent from point of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louwww
Reviewed 25 January 2017

I booked an apartment at the base which sleeps 6 for some friends who were visiting. I am unsure as to why you would use The Base otherwise as it's location is poor in relation to Bristol but I live near here so was suitable for me. The booking was made late and I did get a discount for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Toby P
TheBaseBristol, Muggings. at The Base Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

So...the facts: We accepted your booking for New Year's Eve, which was only for 1 night even though we have a 2 night minimum term. There were at least 6 of you in a large apartment, we granted you a discount after you asked for it based on you leaving the apartment as you found it. You left the apartment...

Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

I had booked this accommodation several months ago for my best friends hen do! There was 18 girls in total so we rented the entire Victorian villa as well as the apartment underneath it. One of our girls arrived early on the Friday (around 1pm) and was able to get the keys early to start setting up the house for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LJBishy
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Spent a weekend here for a hen do and was very impressed with the space we had, especially in communal areas. Kitchen was well equipped and you can easily cook in it for a large group. The only thing I would say to bring if you are staying here is your own towel. The Base does provide towels but ours...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruth J
St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 July 2016

The Base is a great choice for a hen weekend in Bristol. We rented the Victorian Villa and Apartment. It seemed really reasonably priced compared with other similar options so I wasn't sure what to expect. It turned out to be exactly right for us - plenty of space for everyone in the living room/kitchen and good to have some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jennyxg486
Epsom, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

I had the most amazing hen weekend staying at the base, great spacious rooms and great location. Very clean and comfy beds . Brilliant place to stay 👍 we enjoyed the dug in trampoline and the conservatory. Short drive from Bristol town centre

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank foodloveriam123
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 June 2016

There were 21 of us staying at the base with 3 extras joining us in the evenings and there was enough space for us all! I was nervous, because I think the photos make it look smaller than it is. The main living room in the Victorian villa is large and there are loads of extra fold up chairs, so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanne S
Reviewed 18 April 2016 via mobile

This was the perfect weekend accommodation for our group of hens, the rooms were spotless and all situated close to each other, it felt like a home from home. Plenty of room all facilities I provided and decorated beautifully. We all felt so comfortable and happy with what we had payed for. Perfect for a family getaway very close to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebeccanapoletano
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 March 2016

I have stayed at the base multiple times over the last few months and it has yet to disappoint, The rooms are always clean and comfortable and there is a kitchen available with clean utensils gor guests to use to make their own food and shops and supermarkets are only a short walk away. It is also very close to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SKW101

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
4.0 km away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
4.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
3.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
4.4 km away
Novotel Bristol Centre
Novotel Bristol Centre
#13 of 37 in Bristol
1,403 reviews
4.1 km away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Haymarket) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Based in Fishponds, Bristol close'ish to University of West England (UWE) and convenient for City Centre, The Base is a primarily self-catering, down to earth, city B&B with an efficient service. With a good standard of rooms and facilities including free Wi-Fi, fully equipped kitchens, The Base is the place to recharge and prepare for your purpose. The Base has many happy customers from around the world. Card payments accepted. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Base Bed & Breakfast

Address: 564 Fishponds Road | Fishponds, Bristol BS16 3DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Price Range: ₹ 2,285 - ₹ 6,120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Base Bed And Breakfast
The Base Hotel Bristol
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Base Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Bring a towel and car share if travelling as a large group”
 of 5 bubbles ruthj470, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms face a busy street, so choose one of the rooms with a view over the back garden. They are lovely and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles margaretg808, 29 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Room 4 looks over the garden, is opposite kitchen/dining room, great for kids as they can be in room whilst you cook and still be in view”
 of 5 bubbles DavidMarkCurtis, 5 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Their rooms are available on their website with pictures - they are accurate. Just be reminded they have 2 buildings, main block has en suite bathroom and second blocks has share bathrooms. Both blocks have share kitchens with sufficient equipments to make a decent meal for self-catering stays.”
 of 5 bubbles lowsian, 19 Sep 2014 | Read review
“choose rear facing room as front can be noisy”
 of 5 bubbles FCCbiker, 19 Mar 2014 | Read review
5 of 5