We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Priory Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Priory Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

81 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 81: English reviews
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

It is a really lovely place, I just wish it was a little warmer and the internet was a little better. Phone reception is fairly sketchy also so it can feel a bit cut off. This is the only reason I don't stay regularly. Otherwise great.

Helpful?
Thank Jessica B
HerefordshireOwner, Manager at The Priory Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jess Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Unfortunately the aspects you find fault with are due to the nature of the building. Extra heaters are available if required and although internet is available, we never make claims that it is high speed (you can certainly manage the basics but not stream from the internet... More 

Kilpeck, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We chose The Priory Hotel for my father's wake due to the excellent reviews we had read. Off the beaten path this beautiful hotel is one of Hereford's secret gems. The reception rooms are elegant with wooden floors, comfortable yet stylish furniture and traditional floor to ceiling windows overlooking lovely grounds and countryside. We arrived on a cold November day... More 

Helpful?
Thank Diana T
HerefordshireOwner, Manager at The Priory Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Diana Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a lovely review. We are glad that we provided everything you had hoped for and you have really summed up what we aim to achieve. We look forward to seeing yourself and family in the future. Regards, Chris, Chris & Nadia More 

Llangammarch Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Forced to stay in Hereford we chose The Priory and could not have done better. The room was large and comfortable with an excellent bed. The dinner and breakfast were most enjoyable and the staff were friendly and efficient. An ideal place to stay.

Helpful?
Thank John N
HerefordshireOwner, Manager at The Priory Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us last week; thank you for taking the time to write a 5* review. We hope to see you again if you are in the area. Chris, Chris & Nadia More 

1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

This hotel is down a small quiet country lane, the team Chris and Chris welcome you with a great smile and warm welcome. The rooms are excellent, clean with all the requirements you need for your stay. I would recommend this hotel for any one wishing to stay just out of the way from the hustle and bustle of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robert B
HerefordshireOwner, Manager at The Priory Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a lovely review Rob, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Our location is ideal; quietly set down a no through lane but just 3 miles from the city center, not too far from anything. If you're back in the area again, it would be great to see you. (Team) Chris, Chris & Nadia More 

Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2016

I attended a wedding here,staying overnight. Excellent hotel,run by owner,manager Chris,small venue for a wedding but run by Chris and her lovely smiling staff with presion...food excellent,no complaints there,beautiful beef lunch with all the trimming all freshly cooked,this room where we are,was later cleared with no fuss and turned into a dance floor,later that evening out came bacon sandwiches,wonderful...Our room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marie H
HerefordshireOwner, Manager at The Priory Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review of your friends wedding at The Priory Hotel. We pride ourselves on our weddings for more intimate groups and our staff are very skilled at doing their jobs subtly, without fuss or hurry; we are proud that this is seen and appreciated by guests. Very grateful... More 

Swansea County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

We visited Hereford for a wedding and needed somewhere to stay. My other half booked this place and it is stunning. It is nestled down a country lane is a beautiful setting. There is ample free parking for guests and the hotel is beautiful and excellent value. The room we had was spotless and had views over the beautiful garden.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Rhodri D
HerefordshireOwner, Manager at The Priory Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a very positive review. Your words capture the setting and amenities perfectly. We greatly appreciate the feedback with regards to the bathroom. It is something we are working on, as we are aware that more people prefer a shower or at least shower facilities. Room 5 has been transformed to now... More 

Leominster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2016

Parking, which is subject to a fee in many hotels, is free here. Reception staff were most welcoming! Room was spacious, very clean. Breakfast & dinner; meals were so good, faultless, & the service excellent! I cannot praise this establishment enough. Will return when once again travelling through this area.

Helpful?
Thank A Tardigrade w
HerefordshireOwner, Manager at The Priory Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Your have summed up what we aim to offer here and we are pleased you are full of praise for The Priory Hotel. We do hope you will visit us again. Chris, Chris & Nadia More 

Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2016

My husband and I were on a charity fund raising trip from Lands End to John O'Groats, he was on a Honda C90 (small motorbike) and I was following in our car. As it had been raining when we arrived at The Priory Hotel he was quite wet but Chris (proprietor) very kindly brought us a heater to dry his... More 

Helpful?
Thank Smartie475
HerefordshireOwner, Manager at The Priory Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a positive review of your stay at The Priory Hotel. We're happy to help wherever possible and try to go above and beyond; customer service is key to the running of our establishment. I hope the rest of the charity event went well! Hopefully see you again in the future... More 

Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

This tucked away hotel is lovely, family run and well run too, it's clean and well kept and the owners are hands on and friendly, I will certainly visit again. They make you feel very welcome and the prices are very reasonable, I was overall pleased and impressed with "Priory Hotel"

Helpful?
Thank casperminstral
HerefordshireOwner, Manager at The Priory Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review Mr Barnes. We are glad you enjoyed your nights stay with us and appreciated the ethos we work by. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind regards, Chris, Chris & Nadia More 

Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2016

Character hotel. Very comfortable room with good facilities and good quality food in the restaurant. Small hotel suitable for quiet relaxing stay. Situated in a country area, but short drive into city centre.

Helpful?
Thank DavH965
HerefordshireOwner, Owner at The Priory Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a positive review. W are glad you enjoyed your stay. More 

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stretton Sugwas
5.6 km away
Castle House
Castle House
#2 of 13 in Hereford
390 reviews
12.6 km away
The Pilgrim Hotel
The Pilgrim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Much Birch
745 reviews
4.1 km away
Premier Inn Hereford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Three Counties Hotel
Three Counties Hotel
#5 of 13 in Hereford
260 reviews
5.2 km away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#9 of 13 in Hereford
726 reviews
5.7 km away
Aylestone Court Hotel
Aylestone Court Hotel
#4 of 13 in Hereford
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A hidden gem in rural Herefordshire, but just 3 miles from the Cathedral city of Hereford.Chris & Chris Rowbotham operate the family run country house hotel as a home from home. There are 8 en-suite bedrooms, ranging in size and bathroom options, offering every comfort. At the heart of the hotel is our Hathway Restaurant priding itself on using the finest local ingredients cooked fresh to order. Enjoy a glass of wine or local beer in the cosy lounge bar with an open fire for the winter or on the sun terrace if lucky with the weather. We also are a popular wedding venue in the area, licensed for civil marriage ceremonies and able to cater for up to 80 people. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Priory Hotel

Address: Priory Lane | Stretton Sugwas, Stretton Sugwas, Hereford HR4 7AR, England (Formerly New Priory Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Hereford > Stretton Sugwas
Price Range: ₹ 12,113 - ₹ 12,457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Priory Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Priory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel New Priory
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Priory Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Wales, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Priory Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We did not sleep here as we were using only the reception rooms. Not suitable for wheelchair users as every entrance has steps.”
 of 5 bubbles dianat912, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Very isolated,but perfect rural location,unable to walk to nearby pub etc,not that you'd want to.”
 of 5 bubbles marieh166, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We had a room overlooking the garden which was lovely, sorry cannot comment on other rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Smartie475, 28 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Superior room is a good size.”
 of 5 bubbles DavH965, 9 Jul 2016 | Read review
“I don't think you can go wrong. I was in room 8. It was quiet, had beautiful views and was warm and cosy.”
 of 5 bubbles jredcon, 15 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay