Waterton Glacier Inn & Suites

Waterton Glacier Inn & Suites

107 Wildflower Ave Box 51, Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta T0K 2M0 Canada
Animal seen from room
Traveller (142)
Loft Room 207 - loft  bedroom
Room & Suite (64)
Prince of Wales Hotel
Dining (19)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#5 of 8 hotels in Waterton Lakes National Park
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Waterton Glacier Suites is Waterton's all suite hotel and we just completed a full renovation in all our rooms & Suites! We have three different types of suites - Deluxe, Romantic and Loft Suites with two bathrooms! This all suite property boasts a fireplace, mini fridge, microwave, coffee maker, in room safes and heavenly bedding in all our rooms. We are located in the center of the village and we are a non-smoking property.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Hiking
Horseback riding
Children's playground
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Complimentary tea
Wine / champagne
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Tennis court offsite
Water park offsite
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Safe
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Microwave
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Mountain View
Languages Spoken
English

Location

107 Wildflower Ave Box 51, Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta T0K 2M0 Canada
491Reviews2Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 182
  • 155
  • 87
  • 42
  • 25
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Chelsi wrote a review Jul 2021
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a king suite with booking.com and sadly we were given a “romantic” suite which turned out to be a very outdated and a disappointing room.

The jacuzzi tub in the room was full of bugs and dirty. The shower is tiny and you can hardly turn around in it. Also the water temperature was luke warm at best. The grooming kit and lotion that you get was opened and used.

Upon looking at their website they have more updated rooms with bigger showers, I would recommend those over the romantic suite.

The views from the room we’re beautiful as it faces the mountains. And the location of the hotel is perfect walking distance to all shops and restaurants.

I should also mention that the outdated romantic suite costs more than the newer updated suites. For 3 nights we paid $1266.00. I understand it’s their busiest time of year and prices are higher but for what we were provided this price point is ridiculous.

Overall it was an alright stay but probably wouldn’t book here again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shameer Sueman, General Manager at Waterton Glacier Inn & Suites
Responded 8 May 2022
We are so sorry that our rooms were up to par but all of our rooms and suites have been fully renovated now so hope you give us another chance to try out our amazing rooms!!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rlmptl wrote a review Apr 2022
Lloydminster, Canada
4.0 of 5 bubbles
this was a last minute 2 hours before to detour off the highway and stay here in the park. We had two choices of hotel and even though this one did not have a pool decided to try it. Very nicely decorated we rented the romantic room for 149.00 plus tax with a fireplace (can only be used for brief periods or its too hot in the room) and a lovely soaker tub fits 2 it drains very slow but still nice. Good size fridge and microwave coffee pot, loved the 2 sinks and ample space in the bathroom with a large glass door shower.

the king bed was a comfy dream after a long drive and pillows good too lots of them. large tv with good channels had a great mountain view we were facing the street on the second floor, second from the end. our view was obscured by the large overhang that covered the deck too cold to use, which turned out good after all cause gale force windows shook the window high up and doors all night and i think it would have been worse in the other rooms further down with no overhang to protect. The light from the building comes directly in the loft window all night which i did not discover till bedtime just bring an eye cover i used a towel and ear plugs for the wind if present i used paper towel in a pinch. Friendly staff ! the set up to get to the rooms is odd you have to check in the front and GPS seems confused about the location and tries to take you to the hotel right accross. Then drive around the building to the parking lot in the back and enter your room up the stairs. People with mobility issues would want a first floor room.

there was practically no one in the what felt like ghost town with only the liquor store open, its only end of April, and a hot dog place. Looks like some nice shops in full season, right now only two restaurants both in the hotels open with limited hours, we had packed food so not an issue.

WE had horrendous wind and snow conditions off and on it would be good one minute and howling the next, could not walk without it feeling like stinging knives in your face so we drove around after supper. This seems like a small area and 70 percent of the park was burned in 2017 so no trees practically, it would be congested i would think in summer. The prince of wales hotel looked lovely perched up on top built in 1927. Waterton has stunning mountain views for sure and the beautiful still partly frozen lake was very nice to walk around the next day before we left and the sun came out but this must be the windiest place in Alberta right now LOL
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: perhaps the prince of wales view side less windy or noisy? room without the overhang obstructing...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Netti78 wrote a review Jun 2020
Calgary, Canada
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The property is conveniently and centrally located. We stayed in the "deluxe" 1 bdr suite, which was in need of some serious upkeep. The front and patio screen doors were stuck, the furniture was dated, the walls were super thin, and the mini fridge and microwave don't really allow to make meals at the hotel. Overall, this place is way overpriced, and the pictures on booking sites very misleading.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chris R wrote a review Aug 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Me and my parnter opted for the romantic suite and were very dissapointed. Like many other reviews highlight, the hotel and rooms are in desperate need of a refurbishment. The furniture, upholstery, amenities, and decor are all dated and to tippify this the service was average and the concierge seemed disinterested. Work needs to be done in order to justify charging $350 per night.

Word of warning the Prince of Wales is the saving grace of Waterton so if you plan to visit we highly recommend staying at this location for the novelty asepct otherwise be prepared for a mundane, overpriced stay in South Western Alberta.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Request a room that isn't parralel to the carpark otherwise be prepared to sacrifice any form...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shameer Sueman, General Manager at Waterton Glacier Inn & Suites
Responded 24 Aug 2020
We are so sorry you were disappointed in your stay with us. We do not have a concierge (we only have 26 rooms) but the front desk agent should always give the best service and he will be spoken to as we take pride in our service. As Waterton welcomes new visitors to Waterton from all over Alberta we have to sometimes remind them that we are not Banff or Jasper, there are 300 rooms in all of Waterton Park. Businesses are seasonal in Waterton and are only open for 5 months in a normal year and 80 days this year. There are no new or franchise hotels here as that is just not financially feasible, only family run businesses. Waterton Glacier Suites is the highest rated hotel in the park with all handcrafted locally made furniture and brand new 50 inch TV's. I am so sorry you did not like our decor. These are the nicest rooms in the park , the Prince of Wales is a beautiful heritage property however they do not have TV's or telephones, they have single beds, small rooms and are not a rated property. I suppose we are used to guests from all over the world that focus on the beauty of the park and are just amazed to be here. We have to adjust to our new market, that being said there is a major renovation planned that will commence next month. Perhaps you can visit us when this is complete and you will be more happy but when you visit us don't forget to get outside and enjoy the magical place that is Waterton Park........
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dan N wrote a review Oct 2020
Calgary, Canada
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed 3 nights Sept 9-12. Deluxe Suite. TV wouldn’t work, 1out 2 fireplaces not working, wallpaper peeling, won’t even talk about deck.where to start. Called front desk gal came showed me how to run tv. Still had to turn and off manually , volume on remote never did work. Fireplace. Gal took thermostat face off shorted something fire place worked only the once. Gal said Manager showed her this a while back. A/C. Why on Earth would a person, I’m 5’9” tall, have to stand on a chair to adjust a/c?. Gal said remote missing. Upon checkout Manager gladly took our money and when told of this he said there are no remotes for A/C so don’t stay here unless you 6’6” or better. Stated thanks for letting him about the rest of problems as if he didn’t know. Remember gal told me Manager showed her this trick a while back.
If you want people to stay with you you had better hire a maintenance person and put some money into the place. They will not though as only 2 hotels opened year round.
Never again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Stay at anther hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shameer Sueman, General Manager at Waterton Glacier Inn & Suites
Responded 21 Oct 2020
We are so sorry for your negative experience. I checked all our logs and there were no complaints about TV's not working. Perhaps you had trouble with the remote or TV input? We are the first to get internet TV in Waterton (there has never been cable in Waterton) so our TV remotes change the volume and the Cable box remotes change the channels. I am so sorry but that has all been fixed as we got new TV's since! We turn the pilot lights on the fireplaces off in the summer, i am so sorry if they were not relite at that time. The AC was put in after the hotel was built and with the large patio door there just wasn't enough wall space to put the AC unit any lower. I am so sorry for that. We are getting new units with remotes that will be affixed to the wall so guests do not lose them! We are in the midst of a major renovation to all guest rooms so i hope you give us another chance to show you how we have improved!!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
vbrother wrote a review Jul 2022
Abbotsford, Canada
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a 2 night stay in June. To check in you have to drive to the back of the hotel as there is no parking in the front of the hotel. We had a deluxe suite on the ground floor.
The room itself is very nice. It is a suite with a separate sitting area with TV as you enter. You walk down a hallway past the washroom to the bedroom. There are TV’s in fireplaces in both the sitting area and bedroom.
The soap is provided by a plastic dispenser. For my husband this was not problem but my hands are much smaller and since the dispenser is a fairly hard plastic I could not squeeze hard enough to get the soap. I had to continuously ask for help to wash my hands.
The room does not have a proper area in which to write or set up a computer. I think it is just poorly designed because there is room that could have been used to set up a desk.

The air conditioning unit is extremely noisy. It is so loud that we ended up turning it off in the evening and opening the doors to get some cool air. This is not ideal when your room is on the ground floor. In the evening even when we turned off our air conditioner we could hear the air conditioner in the other unit.

They do not have black out curtains so the room was too bright early in the morning.

There are no laundry facilities. They suggested we take our laundry to another hotel in the Park.

They are still working on renovations so although we had a deck there was not railing around the deck and consequently no chairs on the deck so we could sit outside.

The hotel is in a great location and we were able to walk into town.

I think that for over $300.00 a night is not good value. The room is very nice but there are no amenities: no pool, no laundry facilities etc. The pricing is resort fee pricing for basic hotel services.

The staff are very friendly and do their best to help.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shameer Sueman, General Manager at Waterton Glacier Inn & Suites
Responded 3 Jul 2022
We are happy to hear you liked the new renovations to our rooms! We will speak wot the designer and see if we can fit a small desk somewhere in the room. We just installed a new refillable system by bath & bodyworks to be more environmentally friendly. We are so sorry to hear it was too stiff for you, we do also include a bar of soap in every room. The air conditioners were added afterwards and although they are new there is limited space to add a different size unit. We are sorry you found it noisy and we working with our HVAC company to find something quieter. We are a 26 room seasonal hotel in a National Park, we are not large enough to have laundry facilities or a pool . There are no pools in Waterton Park and they are not allowed in Waterton park. There is one coin laundry facility in Waterton Park as we are a small village. We are sorry you were there during the patio renovation, we can only do those renovation in the spring and completed it as soon as we could. That is complete now and there are two chairs on every patio. We hope to see you in Waterton Park soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lynd231 wrote a review Sept 2020
Okotoks, Canada
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed for three nights at this hotel and we had multiple issues with the television DVD player and remote to the point where we just gave up trying to watch anything. The shower wouldn’t stop dripping. There is an obvious lack of maintenance between the rips in the outside flooring on the second level and the weeds and the paint peeling on the decks. It’s noisy and the rooms don’t have much noise suppression so kids running around upstairs next door sounded like it was in our suite. I won’t stay there again
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shameer Sueman, General Manager at Waterton Glacier Inn & Suites
Responded 5 Sept 2020
We are so sorry for your negative experience! We do not have DVD players but perhaps you were having trouble with the cable box. Next time please give us a call as we can run up and fix it for your right away!I am so sorry for the dripping shower, i will have maintenance go and check the rooms for drips right away! You are right, there are rips in the upstairs walkways and the decks were to be refinished and that was too be repaired at the beginning of the season but then COVID hit. We have scheduled that to be completely redone as soon as it slows down in early October. As we have been full every night this summer is have not been possible to repair. The hotel is scheduled to have renovations start in early October, I hope you come back give us a chance to show you the new changes!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mountaineer L wrote a review May 2021
Banff, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Escaping to Waterton during a pandemic was certainly the best thing I've done for myself in a long time. This hotel offered everything I needed. I travelled with my adult son so the fold out sofa bed came in very handy. He had his room and I had mine. Mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker were much appreciated as we travelled with food (with restaurants being limited to take-out). The bed was comfortable and the suite was clean. Sliding glass doors allowed the fresh mountain air in which provided a restful sleep. Centrally located so walking anywhere is easy. Too bad we weren't able to try the restaurant. Hopefully when the restrictions are lifted. Would definitely recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rolf S wrote a review Dec 2021
Lethbridge, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A two night stay in the romantic suite was booked well in advance, so we took our chance with December weather in a mountain setting. The weather was horrible (windy, even for Waterton, plus snow that would sting the face when we did go outside) so our room was a very nice retreat. Good size, fireplace that kept the room toasty warm, comfortable bed and jacuzzi that got a lot of use. The view was nice and we were on the protected side of the building so did not have excessive wind noise. The short walk to the Red Rock Trattoria was also appreciated.
Staff were very efficient and friendly, with check in and check out extremely smooth. Already planning our next stay.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adventure but add a baby wrote a review Oct 2021
Calgary, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a great stay at the Waterton Glacier suites! We originally had been placed in a romance suite (when we had booked a deluxe suite ) and the hotel staff quickly swapped rooms for us.

The suite had a sitting area, with a corridor type area to the bedroom also with a door, making a cozy dark room for our little one. They had a playpen on site, which the staff brought and helped us set up. The room came with a mini fridge, a coffee maker and a microwave. We went pretty late in the season with not too much left open and no real gluten free options so we packed our own breakfast and sandwiches.

The king sized bed was firm but we both slept well. It’s so centrally located - we walked everywhere and even to the trail head of our hikes (what a treat!)

Didn’t eat at the restaurant but it smelled heavenly! Will check it out next time!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shell1384 asked a question Oct 2018
Medicine Hat, Canada237 contributions41 helpful votes
What is open in town the November long weekend, gas station, liquor store, restaurants?
Answer from watertonalberta
Alberta5 contributions
The Waterton Glacier Suites and the Waterton Lakes Lodge are the only two hotels open. The Red Rock Trattoria and Vimys are the only restaurants...i would highly recommend the Red Rock Trattoria and the lacier Suites. Gas station is weather dependent, they did open last week. Liquor store is closed. All trails are open!
Answer from watertonalberta
Alberta5 contributions
Hello - The Waterton Glacier Suites is not located on the lake. None of our rooms are lakefront, we are located in the center of the village. The only hotel located on the lake is the Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa.
Steve S wrote a tip Nov 2023
Newport Beach, California87 contributions87 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just don't. There are a few other lovely places to stay in town. "
Read full review
GinaF F wrote a tip Oct 2023
Wausau, Wisconsin65 contributions32 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great parking. Restaurant on site."
Read full review
Michael Spillane wrote a tip Sept 2023
Summerville, South Carolina5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Laundry is available at a sister location close by. Ask Pat at the front desk."
Read full review
Cliff S wrote a tip Sept 2023
Safety Harbor, Florida159 contributions84 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room 202 doesn’t get completely dark as it has an upper window with no curtain."
Read full review
i_m_datwife wrote a tip Feb 2023
Calgary, Canada251 contributions132 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pack you snacks and drinks - nothing open on the townsites in February"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Waterton Lakes National Park area.
PRICE RANGE
₹21,979 - ₹33,344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
waterton glacier hotel waterton lakes national park, hotel waterton glacier
LOCATION
CanadaAlbertaCanadian RockiesWaterton Lakes National Park
NUMBER OF ROOMS
26
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

WATERTON GLACIER INN & SUITES (Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada - Alberta) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Waterton Glacier Inn & Suites
Which popular attractions are close to Waterton Glacier Inn & Suites?
Nearby attractions include Waterton Village (0.4 km), Bertha Lake Trail (0.3 km), and Tamarack Outdoors (0.08 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Waterton Glacier Inn & Suites?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and off-site canoeing.
Which room amenities are available at Waterton Glacier Inn & Suites?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Waterton Glacier Inn & Suites?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Waterton Glacier Inn & Suites?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Waterton Glacier Inn & Suites?
Conveniently located restaurants include Wieners of Waterton, Thirsty Bear Kitchen + Bar, and Red Rock Trattoria.
Are there any historical sites close to Waterton Glacier Inn & Suites?
Many travellers enjoy visiting First Oil Well In Western Canada National Historic Site (6.0 km).
Does Waterton Glacier Inn & Suites have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Waterton Glacier Inn & Suites accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Waterton Lakes National Park HotelsWaterton Lakes National Park Hotel DealsHotels near Waterton Glacier Inn & Suites
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire