We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Crandell Mountain Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Crandell Mountain Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

207 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Crandell Mountain Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 195: English reviews
Bigfork, Montana
Reviewed 30 September 2014

First the good - Friendly owners and staff. Generally clean, if a bit spotty. Then the rest - small rooms, noisy, room wasn't cleaned until 3pm, "kitchen" was like those in a small RV, windows face one of the busiest traffic corners in Waterton. OK if you get a sweet deal, but otherwise there are much better and quieter places...

6Thank Timoan
Waymarker, Public Relations Manager at Crandell Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear your experience with us at Crandell Mountain Lodge was disappointing. We are currently in the process of upgrading our rooms to provide a more convenient experience for our guests. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on your stay, we appreciate your feedback and hope you enjoyed your time visiting Waterton.

Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewed 22 September 2014

Stayed with friends from UK for 3 nights and was embarrassed for them and generally dissatisfied with the experience. The location is good. That's about all that was positive. The rooms are shabby and worn, the carpets dirty and the window blinds shredded. I found a Pepsi bottle and Copenhagen can under one of the beds and had to prop...

5Thank FYICharleston
Waymarker, Public Relations Manager at Crandell Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

We are truly sorry you hear you were dissatisfied with your stay at Crandell Mountain Lodge. We understand our guest rooms are in need of upgrades, and we are currently working to modernize our suites without taking away from the cozy charming atmosphere. The housekeeping issues experienced during your stay are unacceptable and we sincerely apologize these things were overlooked...

Reviewed 17 September 2014

First, understand that every place in the area is overpriced/expensive. As a result, the Crandell is pretty expensive for what you get; however, as we looked for accommodations it seemed the best value. Our host at the Crandell was pleasant and helpful, parking was directly in front of our room. You walked in an outer door and down a tiny...

3Thank gottagetupandgo
Waymarker, Public Relations Manager at Crandell Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Crandell Mountain Lodge. We apologize for the inconvenient placement of furniture in your room, and we are currently working to modernize our guest suites to be more convenient and accessible for our guests. We appreciate you letting us know of the maintenance issues you experienced in your...

Golden, Canada
Reviewed 2 September 2014

What a surprise Crandell Mountain Lodge turned out to be! My wife and I took a chance and decided to spend a night in Waterton Park. Crandell is the first hotel you see and if you're lucky they'll have a vacancy. The front desk girl was nice and friendly even though we did interrupt her in the middle of baking...

3Thank Michael H
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We recently spent 2 nites here and we were thoroughly disappointed. There has been minimal upkeep at this property inside or out. There was a film of dust throughout the room. The beds and pillows and linens were old. It was an expensive rate for a barely average room.

5Thank Gartrave
Waymarker, Public Relations Manager at Crandell Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear you were unimpressed in your stay with us. Crandell Mountain Lodge is an older property and we do our best to maintain our guest suites while staying true to our 'Grandma's Cottage' charm. We sincerely apologize the cleanliness of your room wasn't up to our typical standard of excellence, and we will do our best...

Osceola, IA
Reviewed 27 August 2014

My husband and I spent 2 nights here in mid-August and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The location was convenient and just steps away from the walking trail in town and views of the Prince of Wales Hotel and mountains. The room was clean, the bathroom was spacious with ample shelving, and the bed was comfortable. The room gave one the...

2Thank SouthIA
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 24 August 2014

My wife and I spent two fantastic days in Waterton earlier this week. We had a Deluxe Queen room the first night and a Standard King the second. Both very clean and efficient rooms. Excellent location (5 minute walk to the restaurants) and great view of the Prince of Wales Hotel from the front of out hotel. Great value for...

3Thank BCollins2014
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We were happy to score a room in the busy season at Waterton Lakes. The lodge is very easy to find (right there when you enter the town). We were greeted by Bob who was just making fresh cookies. It smelled delightful. Our room was spacious and we were delighted by the "bear" décor. There was twinkly pine trees and...

2Thank Nadja B
Waymarker, Public Relations Manager at Crandell Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us in the Bears Den. What a better welcome than the smell of our fresh Crandell Cookies, you really lucked out! We appreciate you taking the time to write us a review, and hope you have you back again!

High River
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We have been to Crandell Mountain Lodge several times and each time is more enjoyable. We always hate to leave. The rooms are very comfortable and clean and the staff are friendly. The deck just a few steps from our room was nice to sit outside and bar-b-ques are also available. Love the lodge and Waterton and will go back...

2Thank Gail S
Waymarker, Public Relations Manager at Crandell Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we appreciate your kind words. It is always a pleasure to have you with us, and we are looking forward to your next visit!

Clearwater Florida
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is an old restored to perfection Hotel. The decor, cleanliness, and comfort are tops in the Waterton area. Our room was upstairs and very large for a hotel room. The attendant Sabrina, an avid hiker,explorer,gave us exciting areas to explore. She told us of a bear and three cubs she had seen earlier in the week. We were blessed...

Thank bearcatbob
Waymarker, Public Relations Manager at Crandell Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

We appreciate your kind words! It was a pleasure having you stay with us, and we are so happy to hear you enjoyed your time in Waterton.

92 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (74)
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Room/Suite (30)
Bathroom (8)
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (18)
Room/Suite (11)
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Bathroom (1)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterton Lakes National Park hotels
0.4 km away
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
Waterton Lakes Lodge Resort
#7 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
446 reviews
0.3 km away
Waterton Glacier Suites
Waterton Glacier Suites
#4 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
340 reviews
0.7 km away
Northland Lodge
Northland Lodge
#6 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Prince of Wales Hotel
Prince of Wales Hotel
#1 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
822 reviews
0.6 km away
Aspen Village
Aspen Village
#8 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
206 reviews
0.5 km away
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa
#2 of 8 in Waterton Lakes National Park
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Designated a Charming Inn of Alberta, Crandell Mountain Lodge is a rustic and quaint property that, with no telephones and few TV channels, feels like a true getaway. Guests receive complimentary use of the outdoor BBQ and access to the local Recreation Center. Choose from standard, deluxe, kitchenette, or the “Bear’s Den” that has a king size bed, fireplace and in-room jetted tub; it’s a favourite among our guests. The Crandell Mountain Lodge is a jewel within itself; with a feeling of a country bed and breakfast and the comfort of a lodge. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crandell Mountain Lodge

Address: 102 Mountview Road, Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta T0K 2M0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Waterton Lakes National Park
Price Range: ₹ 6,774 - ₹ 13,484 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crandell Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Crandell Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crandell Mountain Hotel Waterton Lakes National Park
Crandell Mountain Lodge Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada - Alberta
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Crandell Mountain Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Crandell Mountain Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Wifi is spotty at best in the far end of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles CarlaRoanoke_VA, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you want a room with a microwave, you have to book a larger room.”
 of 5 bubbles fortherelax, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We enjoyed a front upstairs corner room with good outdoor ventilation/fresh air.”
 of 5 bubbles jl2travel, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Second-level rooms have less noise from ajoining rooms above.”
 of 5 bubbles bajahuma, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else!”
 of 5 bubbles Haydenfamily3, 16 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5