We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Waring House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Waring House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

386 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Waring House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 383: English reviews
Arnprior, Canada
Reviewed 2 August 2015

The Chef must have had the night off when we dined at Amelia's Garden on Thursday July 30 2015. Not only did my lactose intolerant husband get served dessert with cream surrounding it, my meal was so overcooked, that I sent back half my order uneaten. If the waitress had been at all attentive she would have noticed this oversight...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Laurie D
Peter L, Public Relations Manager at Waring House, responded to this review

I'm very sorry to hear about your unsatisfactory dining experience. There seems to have been an unacceptable breakdown in communication. Your server should have been aware and accommodating of husband's allergy. It's not our policy to ignore our guests requests. Please accept our apologies. You should not have been treated that way. We've referred your case to the innkeepers.

Kingston, Canada
Reviewed 1 August 2015

Pretty good selection from their menu I had a great pasta dish and my lodgings were comfortable, Will come back next time I'm in PIcton, If you have never been to Picton its full of charming little shops, B&B's and eateries which can be expensive or reasonably priced you have to search out the places that will meet your budget.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Isabella f
Burlington
Reviewed 29 July 2015

We stayed In a Premium Room with a King Bed in the Heritage Lodge. The room was very clean, was spacious, and had a patio with hot tub. Our package included dinner (appetizer, main course and dessert) on one of the days and breakfast both days in Amelia's Garden restaurant. We enjoyed dinner so much the first night that we...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Bob And Brenda P
Reviewed 26 July 2015

The Waring House has a new chef, Nick Loshak. It was a surprise as I had not had a meal prepared by Chef Loshak in 10 years. And what a meal, farm and lake to table cooking by a wonderful chef. Several local wines on the list were not available, which was a shame as the Grange unoaked Chard was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2015

We were located in one on the lodges, I think it was the Quakers and we had a great room with a huge balcony and stunning views. The breakfast which was included was fab, I would highly recommend the pancakes. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and we would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank alice w
Picton, Canada
Reviewed 25 July 2015

Currently a guest and cant understand what the foss is all about Lets start by the positive...the food is rather good,presentation & taste, easily getting a 7 on my scale (of 10) But the service....OMG...they need to teach their staff to smile and bring them to understand that the customer should be #1 and the reason why they are there....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Bella C
Peter L, Public Relations Manager at Waring House, responded to this review

We're very sorry to hear that your experience with us didn't meet your expectations. Please understand that our dining room staff work very hard and usually give our customers a first-rate experience. We do apologize for the shortcomings in service during your visit. We'll review your feedback with the dining room staff. The memo is admittedly an awkward solution to...

Canada
Reviewed 24 July 2015

The room is nice, check-in was easy. No hair dryer in room, the amenities are a bit scarce and the tv choices are slim (after a day of visiting wineries, this could be important). The restaurant was disappointing - three of the wines we ordered on the list were not available (local "county" wines for which area is famous for,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Cynthia C
Peter L, Public Relations Manager at Waring House, responded to this review

We're pleased to hear that you were generally pleased with the room. All of our rooms are equipped with hair dryers, so I'm not sure how that would have broken down. We're very sorry to hear that your experience in our restaurant failed to live up to your expectation. The menu in the dining room has just been changed and...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 19 July 2015 via mobile

The decor was nice and the grand piano was a lovely touch. The waitress was incompetent unfortunately, and made the kitchen look bad. They completely botched my food allergy issues (brought me scallops in soy sauce that was not gluten free, brought me risotto smothered in cheese and when I sent it back, brought me overcooked fish in a puddle...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Lisa W
Peter L, Public Relations Manager at Waring House, responded to this review

We're so terribly sorry to hear about the difficulties you had with your meal. We try to be as accommodating as possible when our guests has food allergies or sensitivities. It seems, from what you've said, that on this particular occasion, we didn't live up to the proper standard. Please accept our apologies. We'll investigate what might have caused this...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 19 July 2015 via mobile

Stayed at the Waring House with my wife for the weekend. We stayed in the Heritage house, one of 8 buildings on the property. We decided to splurge and get the room with the private outdoor jacuzzi. Only two rooms in the two floor building have the personal two person sized jacuzzi. It was the right choice for us. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Philip T
Peter L, Public Relations Manager at Waring House, responded to this review

We're very glad to hear that you made such good use of your jacuzzi tub. We're sorry to hear that you found the noise problematic. We hope that you'll come visit us again. I'm sure you'd find the upstairs room more to your liking. Thanks for taking the time to write a review.

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 9 July 2015

My husband and I spent 2 nights in a premium room at the Waring House. The room was very large with a comfortable bed, a shower and a soaking tub. We also had a balcony with 2 chairs but the weather was not nice enough for us to use them. The breakfasts were excellent. We really enjoyed the pancakes and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Micheline D

147 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (83)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
27.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Belleville
28.7 km away
TownePlace Suites Belleville
3.1 km away
The Queen's Inn
The Queen's Inn
#3 of 5 in Picton
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 km away
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
#5 of 5 in Picton
427 reviews
8.9 km away
The Miller's House Bed and Breakfast
14.6 km away
Drake Devonshire Inn
Drake Devonshire Inn
#1 of 12 in Wellington
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rural hospitality meets modern convenience in the heart of Ontario's newest wine and culinary hotspot, Prince Edward County. Choose from 49 rooms and suites in our historical buildings or our new luxurious lodges. Fine dining in Amelia's Garden, casual fare and live music in the Barley Room Pub. Recreational hands-on cooking classes. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Waring House

Address: 395 Sandy Hook Road, Picton, Ontario K0K 2T0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton
Price Range: ₹ 10,485 - ₹ 14,719 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waring House 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Waring House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waring House Hotel Picton
Waring House Picton, Ontario
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Waring House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Waring House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request a room in one of the newer buildings.”
 of 5 bubbles ForeignPlaces, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you have a couple ask for fireplace and large tub”
 of 5 bubbles AllanBeautifulPlace, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 11 - king bed and Jacuzzi tub for 2 people a must.”
 of 5 bubbles mrscolnik, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in one of the newer outer buildings and it was fine. No elevator which did not matter to us but may to others.”
 of 5 bubbles LyndaTen, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms accessible for handicapped people. Let them know. Book well ahead to guarantee a better choice.”
 of 5 bubbles 524jimg, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5