We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Taboo Muskoka Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Taboo Muskoka Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

421 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Taboo Muskoka Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 415: English reviews
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 23 September 2014

From the nature trails to the delicious dinner menu at ELEMENTS restaurant, this resort is spectacular! We enjoyed warm, friendly and helpful service - thank you Taboo. While it may be a little pricey for young-couples, we can't wait to return next summer! Check the website regularly for special offers and promotions.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TaylorNVFerri
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 15 September 2014

We stayed in a stunning two bedroom platinum suite and enjoyed the beautiful lakeview. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. We had an amazing day at the spa and enjoyed the wine tasting. We had dinner in Elements and the service was great! I would definitely recommend to friends and family.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debby M
Anne W, Public Relations Manager at Taboo Muskoka Resort, responded to this review

Debby M, thanks to you all for choosing to spend your girlfriends' getaway at Taboo Muskoka and acknowledging our "very friendly and accommodating" staff and "great" dinner service. Also glad to read you enjoyed Spa Taboo. Next time take a look at our spa packages and specials designed with girlfriends in mind, like the "Pretty Women" option.

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 12 September 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed the beautiful resort setting, the lake walk, the pool and all the welcoming staff. We attended a beautiful wedding at the boathouse last weekend. We were impressed with the quick friendly service we received getting cart transportation on the property whenever needed. The rooms were well equipped and comfortable. However, better lighting would help as they are...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Hopefullygreat
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 11 September 2014

We rented a chalet for two nights and were taken back by the beauty of the accommodations and facilities. Staff and everyone there were great. I really enjoyed the golf, clay tennis courts, saltwater pools, and most of all Lake Muskoka. Come up to Taboo, you will love every minute!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Avraham B
Anne W, Public Relations Manager at Taboo Muskoka Resort, responded to this review

Wow, Avraham B, also sounds like you "loved every minute" of your Taboo Muskoka stay as well. Thanks for posting about our condominium accommodation option for other TripAdvisor readers. Also pleased to read you enjoyed so many resort activities, including our new for 2014 clay (Har-Tru) tennis courts.

Sweden
Reviewed 7 September 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights when playing golf at the nearby course (very nice by the way!). We found the rooms very nice, although a bit boring with a view to the parking. The service in the restaurant was really bad (the young servants are not to be blamed, the whole organisation around how to serve food felt inefficient...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Miss_PSingapore
Anne W, Public Relations Manager at Taboo Muskoka Resort, responded to this review

Ms_PSingapore Thank you for sharing your Taboo Muskoka review with TripAdvisor readers. Wanted to let you know we have addressed dining staff training and service delivery since your visit in May 2014 and re-introduced plated breakfast as of September. Our sincere apology for the delays to the start of your days. Good to read you found our rooms Taboo golf...

Ancaster
Reviewed 6 September 2014

My husband and I have just come home from a five day get away at the Taboo Resort and Spa. It was excellent from start to finish. The staff are friendly, courteous and can't do enough to make your stay pleasurable. We loved swimming in the heated pool and had fantastic weather everyday. The gym was great, I went every...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank linamooreAncaster
Anne W, Public Relations Manager at Taboo Muskoka Resort, responded to this review

linamooreAncaster, thank you for spending time at Taboo Muskoka and sharing your "most enjoyable" review with TripAdvisor readers. Glad to read you appreciated the resort's Fitness Centre and valet service. FYI, the resort fee you note in your room tip covers an assortment of items, from daily newspapers and resort-wide HSIA (Internet) to the valet parking, access to the Sands,...

Ontario
Reviewed 5 September 2014

My mother took me away for 3 nights and upon arrival the boy at the gate didn't have us on his list. We found the uniforms very unprofessional and messy. They told us that valet parking was included only to discover upon checkout we were charged an additional 25.00 per night. Then we were informed upon check in that the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank greatnorth
Anne W, Public Relations Manager at Taboo Muskoka Resort, responded to this review

Hello greatnorth, Taboo Muskoka is sincerely sorry about your various detail disappointments. That certainly doesn't represent the level of service and responsiveness we strive to provide. I have reached out to you directly on TripAdvisor so we can connect you with our Guest Service Manager and do what we can to make things right. Regarding your note about the $25...

Lindsay, Canada
Reviewed 4 September 2014

This place is awesome, beautiful inside and out the spa is amazing with great staff! Great food, I went with a friend to get a way, expensive but worth it! We loved it! The trails are nice, (tip : they don't head back to the hotel, a 3k walk will be 6k after turning back! )

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TammyAndrew S
Anne W, Public Relations Manager at Taboo Muskoka Resort, responded to this review

TammyAndrewS, Thank you for dubbing Taboo Muskoka a "great place" with "AWESOME" lakeview rooms and sharing your review with other TripAdvisor readers. A number of our activities, including the nature trails and winter snowmobiling, are located near our Taboo golf course. There is also a short boardwalk right along the lake if you just want a brief stroll.

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 1 September 2014

For the money we spent I was expecting more. We arrived on a Wednesday at 3pm, 1 hour prior to check in and were told our room MIGHT be available by 4pm time. They would do their best but the previous guests of our room requested a late check out. We finally got our room at around 5pm. When it...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Renzo C
Anne W, Public Relations Manager at Taboo Muskoka Resort, responded to this review

RenzoC, thanks for taking the time to post. Very sorry about the two activity cancellations you experienced and our lack of internal communication. We've sent you a direct message on TripAdvisor so our Guest Experience Manager can help, in hope you'll consider giving Taboo Muskoka another chance. Also thank you for pointing out the positives like our "friendly staff" and...

Hertfordshire
Reviewed 1 September 2014

From the minute we arrived we were impressed. Friendly Valets parked the car, reception were efficient and professional, we were very happy. And then...We walked into our room and were stunned by the beauty of our view and thrilled with the room which was on the 4th floor. Everything was clean, modern and well kempt, It was perfect. There are...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Deborah B
Anne W, Public Relations Manager at Taboo Muskoka Resort, responded to this review

Deborah B, hello across the pond to Hertfordshire and thank you for sharing your detailed and enthusiastic review with other TripAdvisor readers. Most off all appreciation for acknowledging our "most friendly and helpful than anywhere we have been" staff. Also very sorry to read about your bites and the resulting outcome. .Applying good bug repellent is very important anywhere in...

180 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (164)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gravenhurst
5.2 km away
Residence Inn Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
31.1 km away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
27.0 km away
Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Carling
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.4 km away
Windermere House Resort & Hotel
32.7 km away
Rawley Resort
Rawley Resort
#3 of 4 in Port Severn
163 reviews
8.6 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 10 in Bracebridge
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Taboo Muskoka Resort is located right on beautiful Lake Muskoka, only 90 minutes north of Toronto. A year-round retreat, Taboo is known for its personalized service, sleek modern accommodations and championship golf. This Muskoka gem is an ideal place to relax and have fun while enjoying dozens of activities ranging from tennis and golf to hiking and biking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Taboo Muskoka Resort

Address: 1209 Muskoka Beach Rd | RR 1, Gravenhurst, Ontario P1P 1R1, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Gravenhurst
Price Range: ₹ 7,677 - ₹ 20,472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Taboo Muskoka Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Taboo Muskoka Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Taboo
Taboo Hotel Gravenhurst
Taboo Resort Gravenhurst
Taboo Muskoka Resort Muskoka District/Gravenhurst
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Taboo Muskoka Resort staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Taboo Muskoka Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lake view rooms are beautiful”
 of 5 bubbles LynneKnowlts, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 433 - lake view with an L-shaped balcony. Beautiful views.”
 of 5 bubbles Fluff533, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Lake view rooms on third and fourth floor give great views.”
 of 5 bubbles guglil, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Recommend Lake view rooms on third or fourth floor”
 of 5 bubbles amink155, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“4th floor, corner room, looking out into lake Muskoka is beautiful. I think it was Rm 433”
 of 5 bubbles 57Priscilla, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay