We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Smugglers Cove Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Smugglers Cove Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

283 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Smugglers Cove Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 268: English reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2016

Great spot to get away to. Highly recommend it. Lunenburg is a wonderful charming postcard place to visit, and this hotel fits right in.Of course not much happening in the winter but its still a nice place to go for a getaway.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John W
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 12 December 2015

Eva is kind and understanding. She makes you feel like a part of her family. It is centrally located near the downtown core on King Street. You can walk almost everywhere from this location. I frequently stay here because both the service and value are excellent. Keep up the great job

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott S
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 25 November 2015

Thank you Eva for your warm hospitality during my stay in Lunenberg. With so many places closed for the season, arriving late in the afternoon, the Inn was open you offered me a beautiful sunny room overlooking the harbour. The location of the Inn is excellent as I was able to walk to everything including restaurants and cafes (those that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carol T
YOURCOICE, Owner at Smugglers Cove Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are here to make our customers happy. All the best for you and greetings to beautiful Australia, Eva Ziegler

Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewed 11 November 2015

Reasonable, clean and great location in Lunenburg. Walking distance to harbor, restaurants, Fishery Museum and bars. Good Breakfast next door to the hotel. Parking right on the street in front of the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frank T
East Bay, Canada
Reviewed 13 October 2015

Room, staff, and location downtown next to everything was exactly what we wanted, you can walk to most services, shops and restaurants from the inn. Heat pump / AC worked great, king bed was very comfortable and (Skuttlebutt)restaurant next door for breakfast was excellent-- also Inn provied $3.00 discount for breakfast each day we were there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DBTraveller0727
YOURCOICE, Front Office Manager at Smugglers Cove Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest. Thank you for your positive comments. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! I hope your next stay is just around the corner. Call us if there is anything we can help you with.

Reviewed 11 October 2015

Smugglers Inn is a small hotel, with very comfortable rooms, and a very nice staff. The Inn is central to everything in Lunenberg (but then what isn't). There is a small restaurant next door that serves a very nice breakfast. In a word, Sugglers Inn is "Sweet". We enjoyed our stay and recommend it for anyone visiting the wonderful town...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mark U
Merrimack, New Hampshire
Reviewed 30 September 2015

This inn is a nice place to stay when in Lunenburg, Nova Scotia. The outside of the building may not seem too attractive but the rooms are very clean and well appointed. The check-in person was polite and helpful in suggesting places to visit in town. A restaurant is also located in the building.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George H
Gainesville, Florida
Reviewed 22 September 2015

The room was nice, actually rather good, modern and clean. But there was zero privacy. Anyone walking by we could hear (and they could here us)!!!!! For that reason alone I would not return. The location was good in the midst of this little town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dave1960fromyork
YOURCOICE, Front Desk at Smugglers Cove Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments and I am pleased that you had a good stay overall.However, I apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay. This is very disappointing to hear, but we hope you give us another chance to make it up to you. Please let me know if you want to discuss this personally.

Reviewed 16 September 2015 via mobile

Staff was very friendly, and accommodated us for free parking in the area. Rooms were spacious and clean. We had nice balconies both nights to sit out on. They gave us coupons for bfast next door, which was absolutely delicious. Definitely recommend this hotel if traveling in the area. Was a beautiful area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natbois
YOURCOICE, Front Desk at Smugglers Cove Inn, responded to this review

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would recommend us to a friend. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Waterloo, Canada
Reviewed 15 September 2015 via mobile

We weren't sure what to expect but we were pleasantly surprised. The young gentleman at the front desk was very helpful and friendly. The room was a fair size and very clean. Lovely atmosphere in the hotel. There was a sitting room in the foyer outside the section where our room was.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cathy D
YOURCOICE, Front Desk at Smugglers Cove Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review our property. we are very happy to hear that our staff and service met your needs and expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

68 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lunenburg
0.3 km away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
207 reviews
0.2 km away
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lunenburg
292 reviews
0.1 km away
Mariner King Inn
Mariner King Inn
#7 of 25 in Lunenburg
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Topmast Motel
Topmast Motel
#6 of 6 in Lunenburg
89 reviews
0.8 km away
Ashlea House
Ashlea House
#3 of 25 in Lunenburg
318 reviews
16.0 km away
Atlantica Oak Island Resort & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Conveniently located on Lunenburg's colourful waterfront, we offer our guests a great variety of rooms. You can choose from queen size beds to king size beds or you might stay in a spacious apartment with a kitchenette overlooking the water. In any case, our elevator provides easy access to all our individually appointed rooms.The moment you arrive, you will surrender to the warm ambiance and friendly service and style. Our hotel is the perfect choice for any traveller to Lunenburg. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Smugglers Cove Inn

Address: 139 Montague Street, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Price Range: ₹ 5,653 - ₹ 11,614 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Smugglers Cove Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Smugglers Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smugglers Cove Hotel
Smugglers Cove Inn Lunenburg, Nova Scotia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Smugglers Cove Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
4 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Smugglers Cove Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for waterfront view rooms”
 of 5 bubbles , 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Front room had a view of the harbour and main street”
 of 5 bubbles Jplusg, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“do not eat the breakfast next door, there are other places to go”
 of 5 bubbles alexmac131, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms have views, others have balconies.”
 of 5 bubbles Ldepath, 3 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Water view for an extra charge”
 of 5 bubbles vidtrans, 2 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay