We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
901 Rue Principale, Granby, Quebec J2G 2Z5 Canada
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Tripadvisor$104
Hotels.com
Booking.com$109
Travelocity$104
Priceline
Agoda.com$113
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (66)
Room & Suite (72)
Pool & Beach (15)

About

#1 of 8 hotels in Granby
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Hotel Castel, located at the heart of the dynamic city of Granby, is rated 4 stars and offers 136 rooms and suites on 5 floors. Whether for a family vacation, a romantic getaway or a trip with friends, choose the package that suits you among a large variety. L'Émulsion restaurant has a memorable and affordable culinary experience to offer in a refined décor. The Chef Frédéric Michon and his team elaborate with passion delicious recipes featuring local products. To go along with your meal, pick from our wine list through a selection of specialty wines and imports. Halta spa is located on the last floor of the Hotel. With whirlpool baths, treat yourself to relaxation with one of our treatments. The hotel also propose the Resto Café, offering full breakfast with a quick service, the Pub Le Parloir to have a drink and play free pool, a heated outdoor pool with a wading pool (in season), a playground for children and a gym room.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Bar / lounge
Game room
Skiing
Children's playground
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Pool / beach towels
Heated pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Billiards
Patio
Table tennis
Water park offsite
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
City view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, French

Location

Full view
45Car recommended
Grade: 45 out of 100
44Restaurantswithin 1 km
3Attractionswithin 1 km
257Reviews7Q+A23Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 65
  • 108
  • 47
  • 20
  • 17
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Ft_Garry wrote a review Sep 2022
Winnipeg, Canada70 contributions26 helpful votes
Was only here for one night so I didn't get to try out the pool or spa services - I was going to and instead went to bed early. Thought I would be there longer, but plans changed. Very friendly staff, and they were quite accommodating of the change in my stay length. Conveniently located. Lots of restaurants and shopping nearby. The hotel has done a great job of renovating. It would appear to be an old hotel that has been re-branded and updated. It does seem to be a bit thinwalled, with hallway noise being heard while in room. This didn't affect my sleep though, I slept great in a comfy bed. The weirdest part for me was the hallways. These were narrow, and poorly lit. For a hotel like this, it really didn't fit the theme or atmosphere they seemed to project.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mylene Morissette, Autre at Hotel Castel
Responded 19 Sep 2022
Thank you Garry for staying with us and sharing your review of our facility. We are pleased that your experience was positive and that you enjoyed the location of the Hotel. As a customer service oriented company, we are delighted to see that you appreciated the kindness of our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next stay in Granby.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kayla C wrote a review Aug 2022
Gatineau, Canada11 contributions19 helpful votes
This hotel is perfect for families! Our kids are 6 and 2 and they loved it. There's a park with sand and sand toys. I don't know why every hotel doesn't have a park? The pool is nice, there's tables and chairs and you can bring your own drinks it. You can eat food outside the pool area, which jas a few picnic tables. The grounds are super clean and well landscaped. There's also a hot tub and a propane fit pit. Breakfast at the hotel is a little pricey, but we also brought cereal for the room. The balconies are nice, especially when you have kids. We will definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mylene Morissette, Autre at Hotel Castel
Responded 22 Aug 2022
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience with us by giving us this perfect rating. We are delighted that you enjoyed our outdoor facilities and that you were able to enjoy them with your children. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Granby!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ellie R wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
Needed a place to stop when it got dark & rainy on hwy. The kitchen was closing but they quickly made us delicious fish & chips. The waiter was friendly with a great sense of humour. Breakfast reminded me of a school cafeteria, loved it! All the staff are amazing. We will definitely stop here on our next trip to Granby area.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mylene Morissette, Autre at Hotel Castel
Responded 8 Aug 2022
Thank you for choosing our Hôtel for your stay and for taking a moment to share your experience by giving us this perfect rating. We are simply delighted to read that you enjoyed your experience at our Pub Le Parloir and your breakfast at our Resto-Café. We will pass on your kind words to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Terry E wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
The quality of this hotel is very poor. The hallways are poorly lit and very narrow. The rooms are "renovated but the furniture, and mattresses are of very poor quality. My son who is very slim complained about the mattress springs digging into his side. My wife and I both found the mattress terribly uncomfortable. We were to stay for two nights but due to all of us having a terrible sleep we checked out early. The manager at the front desk agreed that the terms of our stay did not indicate that we have to stay two nights. Despite this the hotel charged us for a second night and are refusing to refund the unused stay! Terrible customer service!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mylene Morissette, Autre at Hotel Castel
Responded 29 Jun 2022
We are sorry to hear that your last stay did not meet your expectations. We thank you for taking the time to share your opinion with us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Isabel H wrote a review Oct 2021
White Rock, Canada224 contributions105 helpful votes
Our first impression walking into our room was that the wallpaper was coming off the walls. Then we tried to open the sliding door but it was difficult as it did not seem to be maintained. The cleaners had left the room and bathroom spotless. We had a nice bright room and everything we needed. Staff were friendly and helpful. It was not the fault of the hotel but the traffic was very noisy. We had fine dining in the Emulsion Restaurant, a meal in the Le Parloir Pub and breakfasts in the Cafe. All were excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mylene Morissette, Autre at Hotel Castel
Responded 7 Oct 2021
Thank you very much Isabel for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience. We are pleased to see that you have appreciated your stay, as well as the room, the staff and the restaurants. We thank you for bringing to our attention the problems with the wallpaper and the sliding door, we will check everything and correct the problem. We hope to welcome you again during your next stay in Granby.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karen B wrote a review Nov 2020
Welland, Canada228 contributions104 helpful votes
We arrived expecting to get take out/room service at one of the 3 restaurants and booked in part for that reason. So after a long drive we could eat on site. We were disappointed that all of them are closed on Sunday evenings- wish it had said that on the website. The room was clean and staff very friendly and try very hard to please. We had an issue with the shower spraying water from the wall but they quickly came to take a look and moved us to another room. Most staff do speak English.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mylene Morissette, Autre at Hotel Castel
Responded 30 Nov 2020
Thank you very much Karen for staying with us and for sharing your experience. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We are sorry that we had to restrict our restaurant opening hours due to COVID-19. Usually 2 of our restaurants are open on Sunday evening. We would be happy to welcome you again during your next trip in Granby!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rana wrote a review Sep 2020
Montreal, Canada19 contributions4 helpful votes
It was a last minute reservation for two nights. Reception was kind enough to call me back three times before arrival trying to fit me in their fully booked weekend. Finally Dominique at reception offered me a room with a closet bed assuring me that the mattress is a regular hotel comfortable one and breakfast was included. I said okay. The mattress was firm and comfortable. It’s just the damned box hurt every time I climbed in and twice I rammed my toes into the foot of the bed. However seeing they went out of their way to make room for me I’m not holding it against them. The room was a little outdated but clean and comfortable. Everything worked as it should. The hotel also has fun features for kids. My baby girl had a blast. So that is definitely a plus in my book. The only down part is breakfast... four star hotels serving Kraft jam makes me mad... I can get that at any Inn that offers breakfast. Also the breakfast sausage and potatoes were awful.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mylene Morissette, Autre at Hotel Castel
Responded 11 Sep 2020
Thank you very much for staying with us and for sharing your experience. We are glad that you and your daughter enjoyed your stay. As for the breakfast (adapted due to preventive measures against COVID-19), we are sincerely sorry that it did not meet your expectations. We hope to welcome you again during your next stay in Granby.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
cfuture73 wrote a review Aug 2020
Gatineau, Canada14 contributions22 helpful votes
Fantastic service. Room was comfortable and quaint. Great shower. We had the dining package at the L'Émulsion restaurant, 4 course dinner. The food was excellent and frankly, our waitress, Suzanne M., made the experience perfect with her professionalism, knowledge and all around sweetness. She is a definite asset to the establishment. Breakfast was delivered to the room (due to Covid19) and that was a treat. Would definitely come back, perhaps with the kids as the outdoor pool is open and there's a lifeguard on duty.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mylene Morissette, Autre at Hotel Castel
Responded 24 Aug 2020
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We pay special attention to a lot of details in order to enhance the stay of our customers and we are delighted that you have appreciated them. We will share your appreciation with Suzanne and we will be happy to welcome you again on your next visit to Granby.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Go24111932069 wrote a review Aug 2020
Laval, Canada1 contribution
Fantastic service. Room was super clean, comfortable and quaint. We had the dinner package at l'Émulsion and our waitress, Suzanne M., was frankly adorable. Knowledgable, professional and all around warm and friendly, she made the experience fantastic. Kudos to her! Would come back, perhaps with the kids as the pool was open (covid19 times) and had a lifeguard on site.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mylene Morissette, Autre at Hotel Castel
Responded 24 Aug 2020
Thank you very much, it is a real pleasure for us to read your comment and to see that your stay was up to your expectations. We pay a special attention to many details in order to enhance the experience of our customers and we are delighted that you enjoyed them. We look forward to welcoming you again during your next stay in Granby.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rc_landry wrote a review Aug 2020
Gatineau, Canada6 contributions6 helpful votes
You would think in Covid time they would double the effort to make sure the rooms are clean but not for us. When we arrived the floor was dirty. We had to call the front desk and they send someone to vacuum. This did not made me feel safe since if they didn't vaccum then what else they forgot to do? The hotel is old, doesn't smell good. I wasn't impressed at all and will not go back. Hotel not worth the price at all. Pillows are really cheap and not confortable. The only positive thing was the location for the zoo and restaurant.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jonathan St-Laurent, Autre at Hotel Castel
Responded 5 Aug 2020
We first want to confirm we always pay a special attention to the cleanliness of our entire establishment, and that daily highly disinfectant procedures has been implemanted since the beginning of the pandemic. We are sincerely sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. Our goal is the complete satisfaction of our customers, our efforts are always going in this direction. When, rarely, happens a disappointing experience, we regret that we have not succeeded in bringing your experience to the positive experience that the vast majority of our visitors have when they stay at our establishment. We do hope to welcome you again so that next time you leave with pleasant memories.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$111 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel castel and spa confort, hotel castel confort
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Le Castel De L'estrie
LOCATION
CanadaQuebecGranby
NUMBER OF ROOMS
136
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL CASTEL (Granby, Quebec) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Castel
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Castel?
Nearby attractions include Motion (0.1 km), Cinema Elysee (0.7 km), and Quillorama Granby (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Castel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Castel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Castel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Castel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Castel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cantine Ben La Bédaine, Casa Grecque, and Cantine O Max.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Castel?
Yes, guests have access to a heated pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Castel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Castel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Castel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Castel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Round Barn (7.6 km).