We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Watson's Pine Portage Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wawa
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Watson\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

13 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 13: English reviews
Brighton
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

I just got back today from the 4 day American plan package at pine portage, and I will absolutely, enthusiastically recommend this trip to anyone who cares to hear me tell fishing stories. We were met with some crummy wind and rain for a few of the days, but the fishing remained fantastic and the personality of any of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
Oakville, Ontario
Reviewed 4 August 2016

We found the accommodation as comfortable as described in their ads. Food was good for a fishing lodge with a well thought out variety. Service was attentive and friendly. Guide was knowledgeable and put us onto lots of pickerel and pike every day . Only disappointment was that no larger fish were found. Some guys staying at the lodge were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank garkar
United States
Reviewed 1 August 2016

The rustic setting and amenities are to be expected -- but the warm and hard-working staff exceed our expectations. The food is good and served with a smile. The gear is well maintained and clean. We will be back! The only imperfection was the entirely unreliable WiFi.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pro698
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 21 June 2016 via mobile

If you are wondering why there are so few reviews of this fine establishment here is the answer… Everyone sees that it has high ratings and realizes that the word is already out! This place is fantastic! Don't expect to lose much weight because you are out in the wild however because they feed you incredible food from herring to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FineWine58
Granville, Ohio
Reviewed 10 February 2016

My family and I have made multiple trips to Pine Portage Lodge and Lake Kabinakagami over the years, and we have never had a bad experience. In fact, the Watson family has bent over backwards to make our stay even better than we had expected on multiple occasions. One trip in particular, Whiskey Jack was unavailable so my family was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bky21
Coopersville, Michigan, United States
Reviewed 15 September 2015

This was my 4th trip and I have never been disappointed. I travel a lot and my trips to Pine Portage are always my favorite. The accommodations are exactly what I want at a fishing lodge. The staff are all very attentive, friendly, and helpful. The views are unmatched, the fishing is some of the best, the service is exceptional,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank John S
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Reviewed 9 August 2015

Our second trip here and even knowing what to expect we were blown away AGAIN. Fishing was super--plenty of fish. Food and hospitality amazing. I have been to 15-18 different places in Canada to fish, this is at the very top of list. Guides Pat and Luke were pros!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Randy N
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 5 July 2015 via mobile

This is our groups second trip to the lodge and it was amazing. Betty, Bill, supported by Mary Ellen, Violet and the lodge staff run an exceptional lodge. The fishing was fantastic with several personal bests recorded. It's a walleye factory!! We had the housekeeping plan and stayed in Wolfs Den. It was first class. The boat ran perfectly, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
New Washington, Ohio
Reviewed 14 June 2015

This was my 5th trip over the past 35 years. Once again, nothing but first class!! They had a recipe for chowder to use on our shore lunch, so we asked if we could try it. No problem- they supplied us with everything we needed. The boats were nice, the food was great, the hospitality outstanding. I wish there was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank OhioYote
St. George, Utah
Reviewed 16 September 2014

Had a 3 day, 2X1 guided duck hunting/fishing trip arranged. Couldn't get in first day as weather too bad to fly..it happens and not their fault. Arrived next day to be told they didn't have a guide arranged but they'd find one. Got a great guide named Dan but he only guided us for fishing. The duck hunting we were...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Kenneth H
PinePortageLodge, Owner at Watson's Pine Portage Lodge, responded to this review

I am sorry that you felt they did not get the services you had paid for on this fishing/hunting trip. This package was a "donation" our company made for FREE to another organization from which you purchased in a raffle. All of our lodge guests, who book directly with our company, are always credited for lost time/services caused by weather....

47 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wawa hotels
0.5 km away
Sportsman's Motel
Sportsman's Motel
#11 of 12 in Wawa
21 reviews
7.4 km away
Best Northern Motel and Restaurant
0.0 km away
Mystic Isle Motel
Mystic Isle Motel
#6 of 12 in Wawa
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 km away
Makiebares Waterfront Accommodations
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Watson's Pine Portage Lodge is a Fly-In Fishing/Hunting Lodge north of Wawa, Ontario. We are well-known for our "Northern Hospitality and Cuisine." Pine Portage is a family-owned and operated business since 1946. We pride ourselves in providing great service to all our guests and friends. Pine Portage is located on Kabinakagami Lake which is also well known for its phenominal Northern Pike and Walleye fishing. We offer American Plan and Housekeeping Package. References provided upon request. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Watson's Pine Portage Lodge

Address: 195 Mission Rd | P.O. Box 1129, Wawa, Ontario P0S 1K0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Wawa
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Watson's Pine Portage Lodge Wawa, Ontario
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Watson's Pine Portage Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Campbellford, Ontario, Canada

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Watson's Pine Portage Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a cabin with a view.”
 of 5 bubbles Pro698, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Check out their website to see what they offer and book early enough to get it.”
 of 5 bubbles johnsO8820WD, 15 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Cabins are all clean and comfortable”
  • View from shore lunch
  • Sunset from the Lodge
 of 5 bubbles RandyN_12, 9 Aug 2015 | Read review
3 of 3