Royal Hotel

Royal Hotel

5620 44 St, Lloydminster, Alberta T9V 0B6 Canada
Traveller (16)
Jacuzzi Suite
Room & Suite (2)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#7 of 16 hotels in Lloydminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Located in the heart of Lloydminster, Alberta, the Royal Hotel is known for providing high-quality accommodations accompanied by friendly service and exceptional value. Featuring a wide range of in-room amenities like free WI-Fi, and a 24-hour fitness centre, when you stay at the Royal Hotel Lloydminster, you'll understand why it's one of the regions popular hotels.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Vending machine
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Parking
Wifi
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Sofa
Telephone
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Family

Location

5620 44 St, Lloydminster, Alberta T9V 0B6 Canada
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 67 out of 100
67
Lloydminster Airport
77Reviews1Q+A20Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 36
  • 27
  • 9
  • 4
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Hussain110 wrote a review Apr 2021
Edmonton, Canada
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We were stuck in the terrible winter storm and this hotel offered us a King room without charging anything extra for early check in (we checked in at 11am). Angela at the front desk was very kind and helpful. Beds were clean and comfortable. Bathroom had a nice hot shower. Rooms have access from outside as well. Nice location, with lots of things closeby. Would definitely recommend this place.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kristine Bruce, General Manager at Royal Hotel
Responded 9 Jun 2021
Thank you Hussain110 for your amazing review ! We are glad we were able to provide you with a clean, comfortable place to stay while trying to get out of a terrible winter storm. Our staff members try their best to exceed guests expectations and we look forward to your next stay with us at the Royal Hotel !
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Travelbug wrote a review Apr 2024
Regina
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We were passing through Lloydminster on our way to Edmonton. The Royal hotel is a nice place to stay. It’s an older hotel but in very good condition and clean rooms. The staff were very friendly. We found our stay nice and quite. They provided a bag breakfast where you could select 4 items which was a little disappointing for a continental breakfast. Overall, we recommend the Royal Hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kristine Bruce, General Manager at Royal Hotel
Responded 17 Jun 2024
Hi Nicole, Thank you for your wonderful review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our clean rooms and friendly customer service. Our grab and go bags are just a little treat we offer with your stay :) We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to your next stay with us. Have a fabulous day !
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
IzzyWh wrote a review Jul 2015
Saskatchewan, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had our Wedding Dance here on July 25th. I cannot praise this hotel and Deenie and her staff in particular for accommodating us. There is so quite a few delicious options for catering when you have your function in their ballroom, and the ballroom itself is quite beautiful, with just enough character to make it unique! Deenie herself works hard to make sure you have the day of your dreams! She will bend over backwards to accommodate you! My sister and her fiancé were so impressed they have already decided to host their wedding here next summer! Bobbi Jo & Sarah were the bartenders, they worked very hard to keep our thirsty guests happy. Marlene & Kristine gave us a competive rate for our out of town guests. The kitchen did a phenomenal job for supper. Everyone was talking about what a great time they had.

I cannot say enough about how great the Royal Hotel was for us, and how much easier they made it for us to have our vision come to reality. Thank you so much to all the staff that made our day incredible.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marlene365, General Manager at Royal Hotel
Responded 30 Jul 2015
Dear carainlloyd, Thank you for the great review and choosing the Royal Hotel to host your wedding reception. We are glad you enjoyed the ambiance of the Yellowhead Ballroom and that our staff helped to make your day incredible. We wish you many years of happiness!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MissieMolly wrote a review Feb 2006
Alberta, Canada
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel itself was decent in that the rooms were clean, the staff was pleasant but not overly friendly, etc. However, I accidentally left my wallet behind when we checked out. I noticed when I got back to Calgary and immediatly phoned them to see if they had it. They said no. I called later in the week to see if it turned up and again they said no. I called a third time the following week and still no sign of it. So I replaced all of my cards, my drivers license, etc (and it's quite expensive to replace all of your cards). Then, about 6 months after my stay, I get a package in the mail with the return address of the hotel, and of course my wallet is inside, minus the money I had in it (not that I would have expected the money back). I know it was stupid of me to leave it behind but couldn't they have at least told me they had it? Or have been sneaky enough to leave off the return address?
Read more
Date of stay: August 1999
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LloydHotelmanager, Manager at Royal Hotel
Responded 16 Jan 2007
I can assure you that we handle lost and found with the utmost care.Unfortunately, I don't recall the details or guest in this situation as it is being reported years later. Guest satisfaction is very important to us before, during and after their stay. It is our goal to accommodate them again in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
meadmanor wrote a review Dec 2012
Prince George, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at the West Harvest Inn for a conference I was attending.
I'd reccomend this hotel as I found it clean and the staff very friendly and professional.
The hotel room was quiet and i had an excellent rest while staying here.
Continental breakfast included was an added plus.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RoxanneT726 wrote a review May 2014
Winnipeg, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I found this property while on a business trip 2 years ago. I am a brand loyal consumer so it wasn't my first choice. The hotel I usually stay at was full so I decided to try this property. The staff was friendly and very welcoming. The rooms extremely clean and the house keeping staff was warm.
On one of my many stays I got sick and had to be taken to the hospital. Just before my surgery one of the staff at the Royal Hotel came to see me. She brought me my luggage and made sure I was okay and let me know to call if I needed anything. I have been there several times since and have never had a negative experience. They have a reward (loyalty) program which I use. If you're in Lloydminster and have an opportunity to stay at the Royal I know your experience will be positive!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marlene365, General Manager at Royal Hotel
Responded 29 May 2014
Dear Roxanne, Thank you for the positive review! We appreciate your loyalty and are honored to have you as a valued customer. We look forward to your next stay with us!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Peter M wrote a review Apr 2013
Barrhead, Canada
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at this hotel because I stayed here 10 years ago and liked it. It hasn't changed much although at the moment it is undergoing some renovations (not sure to what extent). It is quiet and the rooms are clean with some upgraded fixtures. The staff is friendly and there is a good workout facility although it could use some more regular maintenance as one treadmills is o/s and a cable is fraying on the weight machine. The halls and rooms could use some brightening up as they are fairly dark in my opinion but all-in-all it is a good place to stay and I have re-booked for the coming week.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2013
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Bottom rooms have doors out to the parking lot as well as interior exits and the upper floor has...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marlene365, General Manager at Royal Hotel
Responded 28 Apr 2013
Dear Peter, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel - your feedback is greatly appreciated. Some existing fitness equipment is scheduled to be replaced soon in order to improve the facility. A plan to increase the guest room lighting is also in the works. We are very pleased to know that you will be staying with us again and look forward to welcoming you back!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kris B wrote a review Nov 2012
Red Deer, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I had the pleasure of staying at the West Harvest Inn a number of time over the last year. I have yet to be disappointed after any of the stays. The staff are always helpful, Angela was at the front desk on my last stay and she was wonderful, very smooth check and she was very helpful. The restaurant food was outstanding, they make old fashion homemade buns that are to die for. Overall this is one of my favourite places to stay while in Lloydminster. I will be back!!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2012Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
kipper76 wrote a review Aug 2021
Calgary, Canada
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here twice now while driving through Lloydminster. Both times I arrived after midnight and had booked the room ahead of time. When I arrived, the staff were very accommodating, friendly & helpful. The room is clean & super quiet with blackout curtains and a mini fridge. The wifi is good, beds are very comfortable. The first time I stayed while driving through I chose the best western plus & had the worst sleep ever. I decided to try out a different hotel on my way back through lloydminster and I’m so happy I did. The Royal Hotel is going to be my choice from now on because it’s so quiet, comfortable, clean and staff are welcoming and friendly - that’s more than good enough for me!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Quiet rooms are the king bed main floor rooms.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kristine Bruce, General Manager at Royal Hotel
Responded 31 Aug 2021
Thank you kipper76 for the great review. Everyone here at the Royal Hotel works very hard and it's awesome when their efforts result in such praise. Your business and satisfaction is very important to us and we are happy to know that the Royal Hotel will be your hotel of choice on your next visit to Canada's Border City.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Josee H wrote a review Nov 2017
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stay here weekly for business. Very clean. Comfortable beds. Staff is amazing.
Recommend to anyone. I love the fact that I can eat at Steels Cafe and Grill at the hotel, no need to drive around looking for a meal. WiFi is great, as well as all their amenities .
Read more
Date of stay: November 2017Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marlene365, General Manager at Royal Hotel
Responded 10 Nov 2017
Dear Josee H, Thank you for the fabulous review! We appreciate your feedback very much - comfy beds, amazing staff, clean, on site restaurant, great wifi, recommendation to others - we love to hear that from a valued, regular guest like you. It is always a pleasure to welcome you back for your business stays in Lloydminster. Thank you for your loyalty to Royal Hotel and Steels Café & Grill! Best Regards, Marlene Neumann
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Marlene365
Alberta14 contributions3 helpful votes
Rooms have convenient inside and direct outside access. There is a common balcony on the second floor that is shared by all rooms located on that level.
kipper76 wrote a tip Aug 2021
Calgary, Canada173 contributions44 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Quiet rooms are the king bed main floor rooms."
Read full review
Lee D wrote a tip Sept 2019
Winnipeg, Canada240 contributions86 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Choose one with a King size bed"
Read full review
wannaberight wrote a tip Dec 2016
Martensville, Canada113 contributions28 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Choose Ground floor for outside access to room, Choose back of hotel for quieter."
Read full review
Kelly P wrote a tip Jul 2016
Sherwood Park, Canada3 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Further back away from the busy road is always a good idea."
Read full review
Brent M wrote a tip Jun 2016
Wetaskiwin, Canada460 contributions184 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try to get a room away from the hiway for a quieter stay."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Lloydminster area.
PRICE RANGE
₹7,614 - ₹8,367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
west harvest inn lloydminster
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Lloydminster
LOCATION
CanadaAlbertaLloydminster
NUMBER OF ROOMS
96
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ROYAL HOTEL (Lloydminster, Alberta) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Royal Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Royal Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Cold Lake Provincial Park (0.3 km), Border Markers (0.08 km), and RCMP Hope Monument (0.08 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Royal Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a fitness centre, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Royal Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and blackout curtains.
Is parking available at Royal Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Royal Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Canadian Brewhouse, Mr Bill's Family Restaurant, and Tasty K's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Royal Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Royal Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Lloydminster HotelsLloydminster Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in LloydminsterHotels near Royal Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire