We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fern Resort

Save
Share
4432 Fern Resort Rd, Orillia, Ontario L3V 0Z1 Canada
Lowest prices for your stay
US$ 537
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Expedia.comUS$ 537
Booking.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (193)
360
Panoramas (17)
Room & Suite (356)

About

#4 of 14 hotels in Orillia
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Fern Resort and the Conference Centre at Fern are located along the shores of Lake Couchiching in the city of Orillia. We offer all inclusive packages for both family vacation stays as well as meeting and conference stays. All meals, use of facilities and at specific times of the year, we offer activity programs for all ages, children supervision and nightly entertainment. Established in 1895, Fern has a long tradition of offering our guests with good olde fashion hospitality in a professional and friendly manner. Whether it's the traditional family vacation, a little getaway weekend or a sales meeting or corporate seminar, Fern Resort and the Conference Centre at Fern should be your venue of choice.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Canoeing
Diving
Game room
Hiking
Mini golf
Tennis court
Billiards
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Table tennis
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
379Reviews12Q+A76Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 171
  • 121
  • 49
  • 30
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
CorrinasTravels wrote a review Sep 2020
Toronto, Canada24 contributions20 helpful votes
We recently held a corporate dinner at Fern Resort with incredible success. The staff have instituted thoughtful COVID protocol and we felt very safe. The food, the location and the view were wonderful but it was really the staff that made everything go so well. Huge thanks to Jennifer Demuth.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Scott Collens, Owner at Fern Resort
Responded 20 Nov 2020
Thank you for your review and thank you for visiting us recently for your corporate dinner. Safety, comfort, friendly staff and atmosphere have always topped the values list here at Fern. We look forward to seeing your group again soon. Cordially, Scott Collens General Manager Fern Resort
Read more
Marisol A wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution
Stayed at edge water cottage labour day weekend. First off, check in was a breeze, efficient and friendly staff. Covid safety measures are in place, hand sanitizers all over the place, staff are all wearing mask- appreciate that a lot. Place needs a little updating but clean and comfortable enough. Loved that the deck is right on the lake. Meal service is a bit hectic but no complains as our server is very attentive and made sure we have everything we needed and more. Lots of activities to do and plenty of relaxing time as well. Overall- a great weekend to end the summer.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Scott Collens, Owner at Fern Resort
Responded 28 Sep 2020
Thank you for your review and thank you for staying with us this summer. I am glad you and your family enjoyed yourselves and felt safe and comfortable with our safety protocols and processes. There are some amazing sunsets that you can see from the Edgewater Cottages decks as the sun goes down over Bird island. Thank you for your wonderful comments about your server. Our staff truly want our guests to have a memorable getaway experience that has an emphasis on quality service. Take care and I hope to see you and your family again soon. Cordially, Scott Collens General Manager Fern Resort
Read more
Sandra wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution
The first night was good. The second night was a gongshow. The resort lost power after a wicked rainstorm and didn't have power go back on for 12+ hours. You would think a resort of this magnitude (+ the major costs to actually stay here) would facilitate them having generators in the cottages. Nope, they have antiquated systems in place and thus, the patrons suffer. Not to mention their wifi is shoddy at best. The entire resort is rundown (arcade games are either working or not), food is at best lukewarm, again for the amount of money people pay to stay here, its an abomination. Absolutely terrible. Now this was not even the BIGGEST problem. The BIGGEST problem is as follows: they let out my two boys aged 7 and 8 out of kids club WITHOUT a parent present. I got the whole "this is how we've been doing things for decades, blah blah blah and it's a closed resort so no biggie." I was also told that they model their kids club according to Disney cruise lines. That's the biggest joke of them all, Disney Cruise Lines would NEVER let out children without the parent's permission. So I found one of my boys running into a parking lot and the other crying hysterically that "they let us go" and "we couldn't find you!" Did I mention this resort is surrounded by a lake?? Safety is not their concern which is shocking considering it's a family resort. I was basically told this was my problem (and my opinion) and no one complains. They never EVER apologized or accepted any sort of responsibility for what transpired. I sent a message to the president who never wrote me back, which is another indication that all they're interested in is the bottom line. There's no care or concern at the resort. I will never stay at this resort again, that's a guarantee.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Honestly, don't come until they do a full renovation and put in generators throughout the...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Scott Collens, Owner at Fern Resort
Responded 6 Sep 2020
Thank you MomRant (Sandra) for giving us a try this summer. We do our best in difficult situations and I can appreciate you did not enjoy your experience. We hope that every family has positive, memorable experience with us and for the most part, that is exactly what happens. We did have power outage that affected the resort from the early hours Saturday morning until the power was restored shortly after 1:00pm. During the outage we were able to operate the dining room and kitchen for regular meals and activities programs went ahead as scheduled. Our kids programs are second to none in the industry. Our safety protocols and procedures in the programs promote a fun, safe and caring environment with great flexibility. Kids ages 7 and 8 can join the Junior program with two directors that take them through a program of activities and social events around the grounds of the resort or they can sign in to the Playvillage program that runs out of a specific area. The Playvillage program is great option for families that prefer a more structured sign in and sign out process. Thank you again for giving us a try and I hope you and your family continue to opt for vacation experiences here in Ontario. Ontario has great resorts with different advantages and options that can accommodate all families and all expectations. Cordially, Scott Collens General Manager Fern Resort
Read more
Tania Mitic wrote a review Aug 2020
Kirkland Lake, Canada1 contribution
My daughters and I visited Fern Resort on August 16-20, and had an excellent vacation. There are so many activities planned throughout the day for any age, and it helps that there is free wi fi all over the resort to stay updated on activities and locations. We loved our accommodation ( Edgeview cottage I believe); it was literally right on the water and had a lounger on the back deck to take in the sunset and read! The staff were soo friendly and accommodating! Leigh from the front desk and Tyler from maintenance were a tremendous help to us when I had car troubles and was stuck on the middle of the road! The food was plenty that’s for sure and the online menu helped us decide what to eat each meal. The only drawback was wait time to get your food, but we understood that since Covid, they had to switch to a new system.. But they had their AMAZING FERN ROLLS at dinner to help you with the wait. My only regret is that I should have orders more than 2 dozen to take home, since they barely lasted the car ride home, lol.. plenty of water activities and we loved relaxing on the hammocks. Also the feeling of having a family bonfire was the perfect way to cap off the summer! We can’t wait to go back when it is back to “normal”
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Scott Collens, Owner at Fern Resort
Responded 30 Aug 2020
Thank you for staying with us this summer and thank you for your review. It sounds like you and your daughter had a Ferntastic Mom and Daughter getaway and enjoyed so many things that makes Fern Resort a truly, amazing experience for all ages. I am glad that both Leigh and Tyler were standouts and thank you for your positive comments regarding all the staff. Two dozen Fern Rolls wouldn't have a chance in the car from here to Kirkland Lake for many of us. On the bright side, you shouldn't have had to stop to eat on the way home. I look forward to seeing you and your daughter again next summer. Cordially Scott Collens General Manager Fern Resort
Read more
Jerry F wrote a review Jul 2020
1 contribution
Just got back from a few days at Fern Resort. It’s their 125th year and you can see the traditions in so much of the feel of the resort. Super safe to just let the kids have fun, met some great people while we were there and the kids both got up waterskiing on their first try! Can only say, kids are not the only ones looking forward to a return stay.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Scott Collens, Owner at Fern Resort
Responded 9 Aug 2020
Thank you Jerry for staying with us. Glad to hear the kids accomplished their waterskiing goals on their first try! Please come back and visit us again soon. Cordially, Scott Collens General Manager Fern Resort
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$384 - US$679 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
fern hotel orillia, fern orillia, fern resort orillia
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioOrillia
NUMBER OF ROOMS
103
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Fern Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Fern Resort?
Nearby attractions include Tudhope Park (7.2 km), Couchiching Beach Park (4.4 km), and Orillia Opera House (5.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Fern Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Fern Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Fern Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Fern Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Fern Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mariposa Market Stores, Apple Annie's Cafe, and Era 67 Restaurant & Lounge.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Fern Resort?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Fern Resort?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does Fern Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Fern Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Mnjikaning Fish Weirs (2.4 km).
Does Fern Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.