We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Trading Post Motel Ignace - Motel 1

11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Trading Post Motel Ignace - Motel 1
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

112 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 111: English reviews
Start your review of Trading Post Motel Ignace - Motel 1
 Click to rate
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

longtime customer of the Trading Post Motel. I call and they recognize me by voice. I am always satisfied with management here and the rooms given to me. They always smell fresh, are clean and the bed is always comfortable and clean. I get a good nights rest every time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chris-tronto
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Due to a snow storm and road closures, we found this motel in Ignace. We got the spongebob room. Staff was nice and accomodating. The room was what you would expect of a motel in the middle of nowhere. The deadbolt on the door didn't work and the cleanliness of the room was questionnable. However, it was the best case...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AniParsons
tradingpostmotel17, Manager at Trading Post Motel Ignace - Motel 1, responded to this review

Thank you for the review

Forest
Reviewed 6 April 2017

Stayed at the motel on return home from BC as we wanted to get east as far as we could bsfore dark. I read the the reveiws on trip adviser and as they looked pretty good I called and booked. We arrived around 5pm April 1. We did check the room before taking it and thought it would be just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bluejforest
tradingpostmotel17, Manager at Trading Post Motel Ignace - Motel 1, responded to this review

Thank you for the review

Toronto
Reviewed 2 December 2016

We were travelling across northern Ontario with a need to pack it in at darkness. The Trading Post staff were tremendous in welcoming us and giving lots of options on the room choices. It is an older facility but the people have put their heart and soul into the place. You will love the quirky "super hero" and "celebrity" themes...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Leasiders
tradingpostmotel17, Owner at Trading Post Motel Ignace - Motel 1, responded to this review

Hello. Thank you for leaving such a lovely review. I do remember you and I am so glad that you were pleased with the service and enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to seeing you again! You were a wonderful customer. Have a lovely day! :)

Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

Traveling back to Thunder Bay from shopping trip in Winnipeg we got stranded in Ignace due to snow storm closed down highway. Lucky to get the last rm in the town. Bed was comfortable free wifi in room. Average room with decent price.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank seed02
tradingpostmotel17, Manager at Trading Post Motel Ignace - Motel 1, responded to this review

Hello. Thank you for leaving us positive feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again!

Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed 30 October 2016

I have stayed at Trading Post Motel numerous times over the past four years. The owner Wahid has been making improvements every year, for instance a BBQ area ,gas heat and soon will have laundry available to customers, it is not the Ritz hotel but if you want a clean family run motel this is a good choice. I stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank DarwinD445
tradingpostmotel17, Owner at Trading Post Motel Ignace - Motel 1, responded to this review

Hello. Thank you for your positive review. You and your company have been coming here for over four years now and we always do the best to accommodate you and your crew. Please remember that you cannot satisfy people 100%. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and you are happy with our service. Your company...

Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

I just did an 8 night stay at the Trading Post that my company booked for us. The staff was friendly if you didn't have a problem and told them the hotel was great but if you had a problem the attitude changes, my room was cold so like any other human being I turned the heat and went out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JokerX
tradingpostmotel17, Owner at Trading Post Motel Ignace - Motel 1, responded to this review

Hello, M.R. We rent out 22 rooms to your company. From your review, we satisfied 20 rooms. That is 94% satisfaction for our customers. From your review, it seems that you are mostly angry about your friend's review because I do not think that its an issue about the crawling space, if the door is opened or closed to you....

Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

my kids and i stayed in the family room. it was roomy enough. it had a bunk bed and two double beds in it. there were more than enough towels for us all in the room! the bathroom was clean and the room was cozy when we got in. very impressed with this little motel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liveloveshare1
tradingpostmotel17, Manager at Trading Post Motel Ignace - Motel 1, responded to this review

Hey there. Thank you so much for leaving us a review. We are very glad to hear that you found your stay comfortable. We love to hear back from our satisfied customers. We hope to see you again!

British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Came through ignace for a job with a buddie of mine and we decided to bunk in a double room. it was large and clean. The TV had an hdmi option for me to hook up my PS4 which was sweet. The staff was very friendly too! Def coming back here

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alwaysonthemove90
tradingpostmotel17, Manager at Trading Post Motel Ignace - Motel 1, responded to this review

Hello. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We try our best to make sure our technology is up to date with the latest electronics. We look forward to seeing you!

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Came to ignace for work and stayed a few nights. Was charged 65 a night which is fair. Free continental breakfast is available but I didnt get a chance to try it. Coffee and a coffee maker was available in the room so I'd be ready to go in the morning. Satellite and flat screen TV was a really nice...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank alltompson
tradingpostmotel17, Manager at Trading Post Motel Ignace - Motel 1, responded to this review

Hi! Thank you for leaving us a review. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon!

114 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (49)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
1:56
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (65)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (17)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Trading Post Motel Ignace - Motel 1 Welcomes You to Ignace Ontario! It's a great holiday vacation spot for the whole family. If you're looking for lodging in Township of Ignace Ontario that is clean, comfortable and affordable with a friendly family atmosphere, then you'll feel right at home at the Trading Post Motel. You will be very impressed with our cleanliness and hospitality. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Trading Post Motel Ignace - Motel 1

Address: 1001 Main St Highway 17 | Ignace Ontario , Kenora District, Ignace, Ontario P0T 1T0 , Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Kenora District > Ignace
Price Range: ₹ 3,360 - ₹ 4,201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Trading Post Motel Ignace - Motel 1 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Trading Post Motel Ignace - Motel 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trading Post Motel Ignace - Motel 1 Ontario
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Trading Post Motel Ignace - Motel 1 staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
ignace ontario
6 months ago
ignace ontario
6 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Trading Post Motel Ignace - Motel 1 staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“This was room # 1”
bluejforest, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“far from the highway”
  • scenery on the wall hand painted
  • themed art work had painted
  • themed art work hand painted
Leasiders, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We had room 8”
paulieprecious, 30 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Ask for the rooms at the east side of the property facing the highway; they are newer and larger.”
lemieuxg, 6 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Check your room before agreeing to pay.”
Skmomof4, 7 Sep 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Travelocity
* /night
View Deal
Expedia.com
Orbitz.com
Hotels.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates