We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

SunSquare Montecasino

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
SunSquare Montecasino
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

721 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for SunSquare Montecasino
See the most recent reviews
Showing 701: English reviews
Kimberley
Reviewed 24 October 2016

As usual I have always found it delightful to stay at Sun Square at Monti Casino. Mostly I attend shows whilst there, and it is just so convenient to just walk across to the area where the shows are being held.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 558lesleyn
Bernie H, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review

Dear 558lesleyn, I am please that you to hear that you find our location to your liking.We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 24 October 2016

What an amazing experience for myself and my girlfriend! It was her birthday and just walking into the hotel room and seeing balloons and a cake on behalf of the hotel was heart warming! It was a night to remember.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 124tevind
Bernie H, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review

Dear 124tevind, Belated Happy Birthday to you! I am glad to hear that our hotel and our staff were instrumental to make your celebration memorable. Hopefully, we can celebrate your birthday with you again next year. All the best.

Roodepoort, South Africa
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Overall experience was excellent, rooms comfortable and friendly staff .We have no specific complaints and we enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was a standard buffet . Wifi was non existent and we could not connect from any of three devices. Best was the location to a huge variety of dining restaurants and general food court diners and casino. Kids enjoyed the...

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank johansZ4401FC
Bernie H, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review

Dear JohansZ4401FC, Thank you for your positive comments and I am pleased that you had a good stay overall. However, I do apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced with the WI-FI. This has been communicated to our IT Department.

Gaborone, Botswana
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

The hotel is clean, modern and has extremely helpful staff at the front desk. The location is perfect for Montecasino, with its restaurants and entertainment. It was a perfect stopover for us and we will definitely be returning.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank garychequer
Bernie H, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review

Dear Garychequer, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay at our hotel.I'm glad that you found our location convenient. Hope to see you soon.

Reviewed 17 October 2016

We took a package deal consisting of watching the Shaolin Monks,one night stay with dinner and breakfast.The show was excellent,the room on the 5th floor had an amazing view of the courtyard.The dinner and breakfast was more than adequate.Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandra p
Bernie H, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review

Dear Sandra P, Thank you for giving us the perfect rating and for recommending our hotel to other travelers.Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 17 October 2016

For a last minute plan for a getaway I found the whole experience very pleasant. The online booking at short notice was very user friendly. From the welcome to the check out and everything around our stay we found all the staff very friendly and helpful which made our stay enjoyable and would recommend it to anyone looking for a...

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mohamedreiaazr
Bernie H, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review

Dear Mohamedreiaazr, Thank you for your positive comments. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Toulouse, France
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

I stayed at the SunSquare for 10 nights and I am happy my local office recommended this place. The rooms are spacious and clean and are certainly kept that way. The beds are comfy with soft pillows and I had a good nights sleep each evening. Breakfast has a lot of variety and with the smiley faces of Lerato, John...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tameeka
Bernie H, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review

Dear Tameeka, Thank you for your kind review! We truly appreciate your kind words about our staff. It's definitely a boost for us every time we hear positive reviews such as this. We will be sure to let Lerato, John and team know that they made an impact during your stay. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel...

gauteng
Reviewed 14 October 2016

Additional cooks and use of full kitchen facility especially when your establishment is fully booked, as guest cannot wait for 20 minutes just to get an omelette. Staff welcoming guest to the breakfast, dinner area is to have peoples skills.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 640charmainef
Bernie H, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review

Dear 640charmainef, Thank you for your review. I am disappointed to hear that our breakfast staff didn't meet your expectations. This critical feedback will be used in training our staff. Thank you and look forward to seeing you soon.

Kimberley, South Africa
Reviewed 13 October 2016

It has been more then a decade that the three of us has had the opportunity to go away together - needless to say we were super excited. We booked two rooms at the Sun Square Hotel as we decided to enjoy everything that Montecasino had to offer without having the stress of travelling. Parking was a bit of a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AngVoul
Bernie H, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review

Dear AngVoul, Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that overall experience was positive.I am sorry to hear that several things throughout your stay did not meet your expectations. Thank you and look forward to seeing you soon.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 10 October 2016

I made a special request for a square view when I booked, I arrived slightly early and the check in staff confirmed it was a square view but that the room was not available yet. When I cam back later the room number on the door entry card was scratched out and a new room number was written in by...

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1205Richard
Bernie H, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review

Dear 1205Richard, We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such candid feedback of your stay. I am very sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. Please email us with a phone number so I can discuss your issues personally.

77 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (69)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fourways
0.3 km away
The Palazzo Montecasino
The Palazzo Montecasino
#1 of 7 in Fourways
893 reviews
0.2 km away
City Lodge Hotel Fourways
0.8 km away
Indaba Hotel
Indaba Hotel
#4 of 7 in Fourways
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 km away
Faircity Quatermain Hotel
Faircity Quatermain Hotel
#17 of 49 in Sandton
234 reviews
9.9 km away
Garden Court Sandton City
2.7 km away
Gooderson Fabz Garden Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Fourways, north of Johannesburg and only 20 minutes from Sandton, is home to the famous Montecasino Entertainment Complex offering a variety of entertainment options including theatres, movies, shopping, restaurants, ten-pin bowling and a world class casino. Integral to this entertainment mecca is the contemporary SunSquare hotel. Each of the 179 rooms sports a funky design and all the modern conveniences that today’s travellers could possibly need. An Italian-style piazza and restaurant adds that extra something special to the hotel which is the only place to stay for those wanting to be at the centre of all the action. ... more   less 

Additional Information about SunSquare Montecasino

Address: Montecasino Boulevard | Sandton, Fourways 2055, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Fourways
Price Range: ₹ 11,810 - ₹ 13,926 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SunSquare Montecasino 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your SunSquare Montecasino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunsquare Montecasino Hotel Fourways
Sunsquare Montecasino Johannesburg
Sunsquare Montecasino Hotel Johannesburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from SunSquare Montecasino staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Springfield, Ohio
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from SunSquare Montecasino staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid the second floor.”
 of 5 bubbles Baggywrinkle75, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Dont get a room near to Aarya restaurant. Very noisy in that area.”
 of 5 bubbles wendyb4146, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“rooms on the third floor”
 of 5 bubbles 921patg, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“High Up Floors don't have food smells from restaurant and square facing has nice view of Montecasino Piazza”
 of 5 bubbles SinclairNVanessaL, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“higher floor are nicer”
 of 5 bubbles Pieter62_15, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay