We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Southern Sun Montecasino

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Southern Sun Montecasino
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

693 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Southern Sun Montecasino
See the most recent reviews
Showing 663: English reviews
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 14 July 2016

Fantastic stay at The Pivot at Montecasino. The luxurious room and excellent staff were most appreciated after a long day of travel and meetings. The breakfast options were endless, with friendly staff, coffee at the ready, and a chef who makes perfect omelettes! I will be back very soon.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank BerniBrain
Andrew R, Manager at Southern Sun Montecasino, responded to this review

Dear BerniBrain Thank you for taking the time to review Southern Sun Montecasino We are thrilled you had a fantastic stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future Kind Regards Andrew Richard

Reviewed 13 July 2016

Staff was friendly. Hotel room clean and comfortable. Unfortunately had to complain twice that the basin water do not drain adequately which never got resolved. I had to complain 4 times in one night for not receiving a facecloth for 2 nights in a row, did receive any soap and neither received any coffee / tea / milk for two...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jaconiemand
Andrew R, Manager at Southern Sun Montecasino, responded to this review

Dear Mr Niemand Thank you for taking the time to review Southern Sun Montecasino Our sincerest apologies for your stay not meeting your expectations The issues you have raised have been remedied , which still does not detract from the fact that they were not to standard in the first place , another aspect that we have taken up with...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 12 July 2016 via mobile

We, 2 adults & a 9yr old, attended a show at Montecasino & chose the Southern Sun Montecasino as our base - the location was perfect, close to all amenities. The food superb - breakfast was crazy busy which was disconcerting, with people constantly bumping your chair walking back & forth. The room was excessively cramped, even though we booked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DeimosMom
Andrew R, Manager at Southern Sun Montecasino, responded to this review

Dear DeimosMom Than you for taking the time to review Southern Sun Montecasino We appreciate the constructive feedback , breakfast is busy especially over the weekends but that should not detract from your experience and will put steps in place to avoid such congestion in the future once , again , thank you for the feedback Kind regards Andrew Richard

Reviewed 12 July 2016 via mobile

The check in process was pleasurable thanks to Yvonne, she is so friendly and efficient. The room was so clean and smelled fresh. Breakfast was lovely. We enjoyed our stay. Yvonne checked us out with a friendly smile.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suvesha R
Andrew R, Manager at Southern Sun Montecasino, responded to this review

Dear Suvesha R Thank you for taking the time to review Southern Sun Montecasino We are very pleased you had a great stay and that Yvonne was able to make your stay that much more pleasurable Warm Regards Andrew Richard

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 9 July 2016

Loved every minute of our time spent here, it was only two days but we will definitely be back. Staff were extremely friendly and there wasn't any of the mechanical just going through the motions that you sometimes get with larger establishments. The breakfast buffet was delicious with a wider variety than is generally offered in similar hotels. If you...

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank loreng684
Andrew R, Manager at Southern Sun Montecasino, responded to this review

Dear loreng684 Thank you for taking the time to review Southern Sun Montecasino We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our breakfast offering blew you away ! Please contact me directly on your next stay so we can accommodate you on a quieter side of the property , andrew.richard@tsogosun.com Kind Regards Andrew Richard

Durban
Reviewed 8 July 2016

Stayed here many times and will go back. Service is always fantastic from check in to restaurants and check out, staff always have a smile and are very willing and accommodating. The only downside is those shutters between the bathroom and room especially when staying with kids, they do not close properly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank logann176
Andrew R, Manager at Southern Sun Montecasino, responded to this review

Dear logann176 Thank you for reviewing Southern sun Montecasino We really appreciate the feedback from our regular guests , the note regarding the shutters has been forwarded onto our maintenance team to check in all the rooms Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future Kind Regards Andrew Richard

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 3 July 2016

Southern Sun Monte Casino exceeded our expectations once again. Excellent service, the friendliest staff, comfortable rooms, scrumptious breakfasts - thank you for lovely stay! You will be seeing us again soon

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 326carlcheryl
Andrew R, Manager at Southern Sun Montecasino, responded to this review

Dear 326carlcheryl Thank you very much for your fantastic review Service plays a major part in any establishment and we are thrilled the team delivered and made your stay a memorable one Warm Regards Andrew Richard

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 30 June 2016

We checked in here 3 times on our 17 day stay in South Africa as a family. The 1st and 2nd stays were pretty smooth but the 3rd stay could have been much better. We arrived in the evening and had a traffic filled drive to the hotel which was about 1.5 hours. We were greeted at the hotel by...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Punit S
Andrew R, Manager at Southern Sun Montecasino, responded to this review

Dear Punit S Thank you for taking the time to review Southern Sun Montecasino We are very grateful for the detailed feedback and special mention of Mousa at Concierge Our deluxe property , The Palazzo , do have room which are large enough to cater for families travelling with cots with enough room to move around without feeling cramped Kind...

Maputo, Mozambique
Reviewed 27 June 2016

Montecasino complex is luxury and surrounded of very nice places such as restaurants, bars and theatres. The surrounded area is quite of Montecasino is quite and secure so that guest might walk nearby and go out at night for some fun

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank flaviof413
Andrew R, Manager at Southern Sun Montecasino, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Southern Sun Montecasino

Reviewed 25 June 2016 via mobile

Awesome weekend away friendly staff, lots to do and huge amount of choice for breakfast it is amazing. All amenities are walking distance. Bird park, Mangwanani, Cassino, Parkers comedy lounge, movies 10 pin bowling. You will be spoilt for choice when it comes to food and lots more to offer

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pratiksha M
Andrew R, Manager at Southern Sun Montecasino, responded to this review

Dear Pratiksha M Thank you for reviewing Southern Sun Montecasino We really appreciate the positive comments regarding the staff , the most important element of our business, and our breakfast offering Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future Kind Regards Andrew Richard Deputy General Manager

127 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (112)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fourways
0.3 km away
The Palazzo Montecasino
The Palazzo Montecasino
#1 of 7 in Fourways
897 reviews
0.9 km away
Indaba Hotel
Indaba Hotel
#4 of 7 in Fourways
442 reviews
0.2 km away
City Lodge Hotel Fourways
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
SunSquare Montecasino
SunSquare Montecasino
#3 of 7 in Fourways
723 reviews
9.8 km away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#3 of 49 in Sandton
741 reviews
9.9 km away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#4 of 49 in Sandton
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Casino and Gambling
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Southern Sun Montecasino, Johannesburg Bold, glamorous and undeniably spectacular, Southern Sun Montecasino brings together modern convenience and old-world Venetian elegance with ease. This Tsogo Sun hotel was inspired by the 15th-century villa of Palazzo Corsini that lies on the slopes between Gianicolo and Tiber River in Italy. With a host of modern facilities and a convenient location within the Montecasino Entertainment & Gaming Complex, you are sure to be swept away from the moment you step inside the impressive lobby of this memorable hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Southern Sun Montecasino

Address: cnr Witkoppen Road & Montecasino Boulevard, Fourways 2055, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Fourways
Price Range: ₹ 12,357 - ₹ 17,273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Montecasino 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Montecasino Hotel Fourways
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Southern Sun Montecasino staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Southern Sun Montecasino staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“top floors”
 of 5 bubbles HOPEKISTAN, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Level 6 was a really good room with a view of the pond with ducks”
 of 5 bubbles dorism777, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“all rooms are outstanding”
 of 5 bubbles lecalabash, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the Pool are quiet”
 of 5 bubbles jlangley503912, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room facing the stream passing through the poolside”
 of 5 bubbles VASUDEVAN1532344, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5