We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The New 401 Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The New 401 Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

82 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The New 401 Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 77: English reviews
Kelowna, Canada
Reviewed 22 September 2015

This place is the worst I have ever stayed at. The pillow case had blood stains, the bedding was paper thin. The comforter had cigarette burn. No carpeting. Wouldn't stay here again if I had to sleep in my car.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank fancynancy28
TheNew401Hotel, Manager at The New 401 Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. With respect to your comment about "No carpeting" - many of our rooms have been upgraded with hardwood floors. This is for cleanliness and to avoid dust being trapped in the room. With regard to your experience, I am really sorry to read this. If your experience is less than satisfactory, please reach out to...

Reviewed 20 September 2015 via mobile

None of the outlets work, there was only one light bulb in all of the the 2 bulb lamps. The hand towels were DIRTY. The cracks and crevices in the corners are filthy and the room smelt like a damp garage... Also we stayed for a week, Sunday to Sunday.... our room was cleaned 3 times of the 6 nights...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shasta T
TheNew401Hotel, Manager at The New 401 Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. I totally appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. I'd like to address several of your comments. We will certainly be checking out the outlets in the room you stayed in - if you ever have an issue, please visit the Front Desk. We have an on-site caretaker who would be...

Saanichton
Reviewed 10 September 2015

Wasn't expecting much, but at $155 a night, what a rip off. Place is small and old. Nice little court yard to hang out in. Rooms were said to be remodelled, would hate to have seen what they looked like before! They didn't bother replacing the bed spreads because there were burn holes in them, and this is a nonsmoking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nikole24
TheNew401Hotel, Manager at The New 401 Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I truly apologize about the noise from any remodeling we were doing. We are updating more of our rooms, and you should have been advised of this. Thank you for noticing the Green Court Yard, it is a pleasant place as you mention. We also have a gym on site as well. With respect to...

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2015

After traveling for over 15 hours all we wanted was to get something to eat and relax. We were not sure after actually seeing reception but we went to our room only to find to keep the door shut we had to lock it, my granddaughter went to the toilet it wouldn't flush, the air conditioning wouldn't go on. All...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LindaM130849
TheNew401Hotel, Manager at The New 401 Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments about the Maintenance Person / Caretaker and also about of Front Desk Staff - these individuals are are all incredible. We are glad the issues you spotted in your room were resolved quickly by the Caretaker, Brian. While we are definitely not the fanciest or newest hotel, our staff always get recognized as being above...

Red Deer, Canada
Reviewed 21 August 2015

My husband and I stayed at the 401 for 3 nights starting Aug 14,2015. We walked in the door and were hit with an awful stench, the curtains were falling off the curtain rod, the upholstered chair and ottoman had rips in them, we rented a single king room and got 2 double beds (very old spring mattresses) TV and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GrantKaren
Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 20 August 2015 via mobile

My family and I went for a quick stay at the 401 inn and the price was pretty solid so we expected a decent room. The room was unsecured, it didn't have a latch on the door, in fact we put a chair up by the door because we were so scared. The room we asked for was "non-smoking" but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sambuckingham123
Kamloops, Canada
Reviewed 9 August 2015

We stayed 3 nights at the "New" 401 Inn - although we seriously wanted to leave a few hours after checking in. The first room we stayed in was absolutely filthy!! We wouldn't let any of our baggage touch the carpet. The toilet was also broken - we let the office staff know but it was not fixed. We literally...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cashewtoe
Reviewed 3 July 2015 via mobile

This place looks beautiful from its picture but on closer view it's a filthy little overpriced hole. The staff were genuinely useless and messed up our 3 rooms and only gave us 2... And still charged us for the 3! What a joke. No to mention the state of the rooms themselves... Just imagine every crime scene you've ever watched...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Alycia M
Port Moody BC
Reviewed 29 June 2015

My cousin flew in late evening from Regina and exhausted went to book into this hotel. Supposed to be a non smoking room but obviously was not.Underwear left hanging in the shower! A complete dive!!!! Will trash this place forever. And they say it is renovated???

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DawnPortMoodyBC
Seattle, WA
Reviewed 14 June 2015 via mobile

I stayed here a few years back, and had the chance to revisit while checking out a concert in Vancouver. Feels like they have made some improvements to the rooms. Don't get me wrong, it's definitely a budget place, but a friendly and relatively convenient budget hotel. Kudos to front desk and for Brian for finding me a spot for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dwight_At_PikePlace

86 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (77)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This Burnaby hotel is within 5 minutes' drive from the Pacific National Exhibition and Playland amusement park. Free parking is included. A balcony is featured in each room. Guest rooms at the 401 feature cable TV and free local calls. Free Wi-Fi is provided. Some rooms boast views of the North Shore Mountains and downtown Vancouver. Downtown Vancouver is within 15 minutes' drive from the hotel. The Skytrain Station is less than 5 minutes' drive from the property. BCIT campus is 2 km away. Metrotown Shopping Mall and Deer Lake State Park are 5 km away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The New 401 Hotel

Address: 2950 Boundary Rd, Burnaby, British Columbia V5M 3Z9, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Burnaby
Price Range: ₹ 4,659 - ₹ 11,000 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The New 401 Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your The New 401 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
401 Motor Hotel Burnaby
401 Motor Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The New 401 Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The New 401 Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“main room 3”
lorne28, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room in another hotel.”
heathercoaster, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Try to book on the side with no traffic otherwise you'll be more sorry than the usual 'sorry'....either way....you'll be sorry.”
  • Delightful walls and cable
  • The floors...so unique with characteristic markings.
  • Kitchenette.
  • Vintage TV that was working 'most' of the time.
  • The walls. Basically all the same. Holes, patches.
  • Rooms were always patched with some bad work.
  • Bathroom.
  • Room.
Biggerstaff, 9 Apr 2016 | Read review
“the road noise was loud. Rooms were not soundproof”
tracya471, 8 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from traffic if you are sensitive to noise.”
jwR4455ZA, 9 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5