We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

569 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 559: English reviews
calgary
Reviewed 29 October 2015

very accommodating staff. Disappointing that pool and spa was not available. some compensation should have been offered as there was little to do in the neighbourhood. Flying canoe had best clam chowder ever tasted

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jillybeansCalgary
Managing O, Managing O at BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jillybeansCalgary Thank you for staying with us. We always appreciate compliments to our staff as they are definitely one of our best assets. They always go out of their way to make people feel at home and are ready to help assist with all kinds of requests. I would like to apologize for the pool and spa being serviced...

Reviewed 26 October 2015

Good conference rate. Ask for a room without noise from nearby steel deck bridge which announces loudly every vehicle. Buffet food is regular fare, nothing fancy or varied. An older property. Did not use the spa or pool. Friendly staff.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ianf809
Managing O, Managing O at BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ianf809 Thank you for choosing to stay at our property for your conference. We do try and be competitive with our pricing so I am glad we made you expectation on cost. We are conservative with our buffets so that it can accommodate many diets and fussy eaters. Hopefully next time you come you will try our pub food....

Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 18 October 2015

We stayed here last weekend. October 2015. The room was nice, a king bed corner room away from the noisy bridge. The housekeeper was very good...she is a new employee and did a great job! We often forget about those who take care of us. The hotel has a pool, pool tables (I think a pool hall is not needed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lynnwilltravel
Managing O, Managing O at BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear lynnwilltravel Thank you for staying with us and taking time to write up a review on TripAdvisor. It was a very positive review and covered all aspects of a stay with us.As you mentioned their are several places on the property to spend time so you don't have to stay in just your room. I hope you come back...

Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 13 October 2015

The Westerly has been around for a long time and is one of the few Full service hotels in the Valley. The rooms were clean and the service was good. The in house restaurant serves good meals at a fair price. The Breakfast Buffet is a good value and the food vouchers that come with the room make it a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Blackduck59
Managing O, Managing O at BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Blackduck59 Thank you for taking your time to write about us on TripAdvisor. Your review was good but I wish we could have wowed you. Our team works so hard to make you feel at home. All in all it was a good review so thank you and we hope you stay with us again.

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 30 September 2015 via mobile

There were 3 adults and 1 child, so we booked a one bedroom, 2 queen bedded suite. It was extremely spacious and having the extra bathroom off the living room, was so handy when my daughter went to sleep first. We used room service for lunch, which was good value and delicious. The indoor pool and hot tub were great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LottieH10
Managing O, Managing O at BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review

Hi LottieH10 The suite you stayed is perfect for you and your family. We are so glad you liked it and it worked for you. As well as the pool we also have a games room for the kids. There are a lot of sports teams that stay with us so we are always thinking of ways to keep kids...

West Kelowna, Canada
Reviewed 28 September 2015

The hotel is a bit older but very clean with friendly staff. My Mom and I shared a suite but wanted the beds in separate rooms so two nice young men came and did some furniture moving for us. The restaurants are good but I wouldn't recommend the Pub after 9pm as it gets rowdy with bad service. We received...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah2315
Managing O, Managing O at BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sarah2315 We are so glad you were pleased with the hotel. Our staff always go the extra mile to make our customer's experience great. The staff is our best asset! I hope you took advantage of our great location on the river with the river walk out to the bird watching platforms. We always like to hear that the...

Arlington, Virginia
Reviewed 26 September 2015

I stayed at this Best Western for 1 night on a road trip up to North Vancouver. It's located in a small shopping mall with a couple of brew pubs within the complex, one of which turns into a nightclub (but I did not see any disturbance from this). Room was clean, quiet, had a good rest. Pizza in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ringspa
Managing O, Managing O at BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ringspa Thank you so much for choosing our hotel and convention centre to stay at on your way through. We are glad you enjoyed your room and had a great experience. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your wood fired pizza in the pub. Next time through your should consider staying a bit longer in Courtenay and exploring...

Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 26 September 2015

The hotel is easy to find. Rooms are large and quiet with very comfortable beds with duvets. Lovely foyer with comfortable sofas and very inviting fireplace. Also has nice pool, workout room and well outfitted games room for teens, plus a bar with pool tables.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Doris N
Managing O, Managing O at BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Doris N We are glad you were able to take advantage of all our hotel has to offer. We have put in a games room and sports gear storage room for all the teams that stay with us. That makes for a much more enjoyable stay for families with children and teens. Much better than having to spend all...

Isle of Palms, South Carolina
Reviewed 25 September 2015

This hotel offers great value for the money. It is located in a great location with easy access to everything. The room was well appointed and a good size and the bed was very comfortable. We were very happy with the bathroom which was very modern with good water pressure. We only ate breakfast there ,and that was a buffet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donnapine
Managing O, Managing O at BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Donnapine Thank you for that outstanding write up about us! I am so glad you liked everything we had to offer. Please come again and enjoy the beautiful Courtney/Comox area and try some of our delicious food in the pub.

Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 23 September 2015

Renovated and updated hotel in central location of Courtenay convenient to downtown shopping and restaurants with nice rooms and service oriented staff. Nice indoor pool & hot tub with an adjacent exercise room.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ken H
Managing O, Managing O at BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ken H Thank you for taking time to write about us on TripAdvisor. We really appreciate hearing how we are doing from our customers. Our hard working staff also appreciates recognition as they always go out of their way to make guest comfortable and feel at home. We are glad you liked the rooms and the facilities as well...

87 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (69)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Courtenay
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW
0.1 km away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Courtenay
749 reviews
3.9 km away
Port Augusta Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet
BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet
#4 of 16 in Campbell River
481 reviews
8.0 km away
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
1.2 km away
Travelodge Courtenay BC
Travelodge Courtenay BC
#6 of 9 in Courtenay
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Flying Canoe West Coast Pub
Flying Canoe West Coast Pub
Cuisines: International, American, Bar, Pub, Canadian
Westerly Restaurant
Westerly Restaurant
Cuisines: International, Canadian
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Courtenay's Only Full-Service Hotel Centrally Located in the Heart of the Comox Valley our location offers convenient access to all that Comox Valley has to offer. Our property features 139 guestrooms and suites, inclusive of our newer 36 room Mountainside wing. We are pleased to provide high-speed wireless Internet, local phone calls and parking. We have three on-site food & beverage outlets including a restaurant, lounge and pub and Specialty Liquor Store. Additional hotel facilities include a heated in-door pool, hot tub, sauna, fitness facilities, business centre, ski & bike storage, guest coin laundry, games room, sports team locker rooms and meeting facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel

Address: 1590 Cliffe Ave, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 2K4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Courtenay
Price Range: ₹ 5,116 - ₹ 10,299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Westerly Hotel And Convention Centre
Best Western Courtenay
Courtenay Best Western
BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel Courtenay, Vancouver Island
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Courtenay
#1 Green Hotel in Courtenay
#4 Family Hotel in Courtenay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try Kingfisher Resort or Old House Hotel for a relaxing experience”
 of 5 bubbles Y8221QQkims, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“we enjoyed looking at the nightlights from our 4th floor window.”
 of 5 bubbles poad59, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The inside rooms of the annex are quieter above or below the 3rd level”
 of 5 bubbles Bruce_Raynor, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the north side are away from the main street.”
 of 5 bubbles notdex, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Try to get them to give you a room away from the Bridge.”
 of 5 bubbles Tripadviser15, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay