We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sandman Inn Cranbrook

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Sandman Inn Cranbrook
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

89 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Sandman Inn Cranbrook
See the most recent reviews
Showing 89: English reviews
BC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I stay at the Cranbrook Sandman often and it is definitely the property of choice in Cranbrook for me. Business, overnight trips with my husband, and girlfriend getaways - this is where I stay. I am one of those guests, you know the one - always asking for more coffee, help with the TV, and late check-outs. Staff and management...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SimplyGourmetBc
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review

We are happy that you have chosen the Sandman as your accommodation of choice, while staying in Cranbrook. One of our main goals is extending excellence in service to our guests. We believe friendliness and helpfulness are two of the essential ingredients in hospitality. See you next time. Regards, Dan Schellenberg General Manager

Calgary
Reviewed 19 September 2013

The hotel is getting a bit tired and is located right beside the main railroad tracks and next to an empty lot used by truckers to park their rigs .. both provide lots of noise all night long! We had a pet room but the lack of cleanliness went beyond pets. The ladies on the front desk were pleasant and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DWBCalgary
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Some of our rooms are located by the railroad tracks. Often those familiar with our property and who do not want to hear the sound of the trains will request a room away from the tracks, so that their comfort is not compromised. I am happy to hear that you found our front desk staff...

Okotoks, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed 24 August 2013

This hotel was okay, very average. The rooms were clean but on the smaller side. The location was good because it was on the highway and we were just driving through. We were charged $10 for a "cot" that was no more than an air mattress. The pool though...!!...was disgusting! The water was a yellow/green. There is no way any...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rossana D
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. There were definitely two oversights on our part concerning your stay. One was being charged $10.00 for an air mattress and the other was not being told of the condition of the pool. We realize how important a good looking pool can be to our guests. Our pool has now been closed for extensive renovations...

Seattle, Washington, United States
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I have been staying here once a month for two years now, so I have noticed a big change in two years. The manager that used to hold things together has had health issues, and is not always working, so that could be one factor, but other things are becoming noticeable. The coffee pot in my usual room was chipped...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Franklin N
Sandmandan, Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and thank you for being such a faithful guest for the past two years. The manager did have health issues for several months and is now back on a regular basis. It certainly sounds like we have overlooked a few things, such as the fallen mirror and chipped coffee pot. From you comments, it is...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 26 July 2013

This property used to be a preferred choice in Cranbrook but it has really lost its lustre.Our room had an old air conditioner that was held together with duct tape. It worked rather poorly. The wall paper on either side was peeling. The property has become old and outdated in feel. Given the price ($114) this is not good value.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank OldFart06
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We always appreciate guest reviews whether positive or negative. Our property is an older property and we are always endeavouring to make things look better, which can be a challenge at times insofar as constant upkeep. Regarding air conditioners, we are in the process of replacing the older ones. Sometimes, we do overlook the appearance...

Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewed 24 June 2013

we stayed here as a middle destination for our trip. It was just a night. We found the hotel staff very friendly and easy to work with. The hotel room was so small, that it felt like even for two of us we were tripping over each other. Any more time here and claustrophobia would have set in, that being...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Prairiegirls16
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Regarding the size of the room which you occupied, it sounds like it was a room with one queen bed, which are quite small. We encourage you to request a room with two beds or a king size bed. These rooms are much larger and would probably better suit your accommodation needs. Regards, General Manager...

Spokane
Reviewed 21 April 2013

On arrival I was informed that my reservation rate ($79.00 per night) had not been confirmed with the reserving organization but they were pleased to offer me a Queen room with breakfast for $94.00 plus taxes. I accepted that but, after consideration; requested the original rate. The room was the smallest I have experienced in a national chain. The bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. The room you stayed in was one with one queen bed. We do have larger rooms and if you decide to stay with us again, I would encourage you to ask for one. Regarding the quote for the room, it is definitely good practice to honour the quote we originally extend to you. This is normal...

Calgary
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Room was converted from a double to a king, had ruts in the floor, holes in the wall and some kind of bug or worm hanging all over the ceiling. Staff didn't care about how our stay was, were rude on check-in and check-out. Train noise is terrible and they run all night long. It took us 45 minutes to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KenandBeth
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We do have certain rooms that are not as attractive as others due to the settling of the building. As a manager, I do not encourage rudeness on our staff's part on any occasion. We do strive to be professional and polite to our guests at all times. There are times that housekeeping situations are...

Salmo, Canada
Reviewed 21 March 2013

My husband and I stayed here on Friday March 15th,2013. We were driving through to Calgary. We have stayed in many Sandman's over the years and we were content with this one. On the Monday, March 18th, we sent our son to stay here as he was also heading through to Calgary. I called ahead for pricing and was told...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colleen02091966
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Quoting one price and then offering a higher price is not good practice and I am happy that a refund was given in your case. We hope to see you again and trust that you will have a favourable impression of us in the event you decide to stay with us on another occasion. Regards,...

Reviewed 19 March 2013

We recently stayed at the Sandman and have to say it was one of the best hotels we've stayed in in Cranbrook. The rooms were clean, the 24hr Denny's was a bonus, the pool had the clearest water ever, and the staff was just the icing on the cake. We will definitely be staying there again!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TheFoodCritic101
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. It is especially gratifying to hear a guest extoll the virtues of our staff's excellence in service, as this is a goal we are constantly striving to attain. We hope to see you again. Regards, Dan Schellenberg General Manager

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cranbrook hotels
0.3 km away
Days Inn Cranbrook
Days Inn Cranbrook
#7 of 17 in Cranbrook
167 reviews
0.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Cranbrook Hotel
7.8 km away
St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Model A Inn
Model A Inn
#10 of 17 in Cranbrook
62 reviews
1.4 km away
Prestige Rocky Mountain Resort and Convention Centre
2.6 km away
Super 8 Cranbrook
Super 8 Cranbrook
#5 of 17 in Cranbrook
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Boasting more sunshine hours annually than any other city in BC, Cranbrook is surrounded by miles of lush forest and many glacier-fed lakes. Comfortable guest rooms, a relaxing indoor pool in addition to modern conveniences like high-speed Internet access, a business centre and on-site dining, make this Sandman property the perfect destination for business or pleasure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sandman Inn Cranbrook

Address: 405 Cranbrook St N, Cranbrook, British Columbia V1C 3R5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Cranbrook
Price Range: ₹ 5,581 - ₹ 7,833 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sandman Inn Cranbrook 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Sandman Inn Cranbrook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Inn Cranbrook British Columbia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sandman Inn Cranbrook staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't stay here”
  • Mold in shower
  • Screw about to fall out adn obvious dirt from many many days.
 of 5 bubbles O8324LDjanetc, 17 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the front. The back is around 70 feet from a very active rail line.”
 of 5 bubbles SteamRestoration, 17 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Don't pick ones on the side of the train tracks. Don't choose Room 289.”
 of 5 bubbles LorneInKelowna, 28 Aug 2015 | Read review
“No elevator for those who have difficulty with stairs”
 of 5 bubbles agchristie, 12 Jul 2015 | Read review
“avoid this hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 334greg, 14 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay