We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sandman Inn Cranbrook

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Sandman Inn Cranbrook
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

89 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 89: English reviews
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2016

I stayed here for work the staff were very friendly and are great ambassadors for the community. The rooms were comfortable and it was great having a Denny's on site. The hotel was conveniently located on the main drag making it easy to find.

Helpful?
Thank TravelBCGirl
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

Beds were old, kept rolling into the middle. The bathroom smelled like dirty feet. The in room coffee was disgusting. The trains that kept going by were keeping everyone up. Everything was old and lots of little damage. See photos. We paid $150 for 2 double beds. Also the light in the bathroom is fluorescent and did the blinding flicker... More 

Helpful?
Thank kimwolcott

Travellers are raving about these Cranbrook hotels

Escalon, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

We arrived into Canada a bit late and found this hotel coming into Cranbrook. The gentleman at the front desk was very pleasant and welcomed us to Canada. This was a bit pricey though it was during the height of the summer season so much expected. The room and bathroom were very clean and spacious. Must i say the bed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lori H
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review

I am happy we could enhance your "welcome to Canada" experience. We strive to offer the guest excellent customer service and we are happy this happened for you. Cleanliness and comfortable beds are also part of our goals here at Sandman Inn Cranbrook. We hope you enjoy the rest of your trip in Canada and hope to see you again.... More 

1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2016

This was a filty dirty place to stay. My husband and I have stayed had Sandman hotels before and found them to be very nice. This location had a bathroom fan that was falling out of the ceiling. There was human pubic hair and mold in the shower/tub. the window had in the past had a repair. There was still... More 

Helpful?
Thank Janet C
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. According to your review, you had a very negative experience. I would welcome you to contact me personally and let me know the room number of which room you stayed in so that we can see if all of the items you refer to have been addressed. My apologies for your unpleasant experience. Regards, Dan... More 

1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2016

The facility is run down and not maintained. There is no elevator. The staff were rude and seemed inconvenienced to check us in. We only stayed one of the three nights reserved. The rooms were sub-standard - we could barely get into the bathroom to use the toilet. We checked out early the next morning and the staff did not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wendy C
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Being that we only have two floors, we do not have an elevator. We welcome guests to request the main floor if they have difficulty negotiating the stairs. Admittedly, the bathrooms are small and that is why we have the sink area outside of the bathroom. Also, I am sorry you found our staff and... More 

Edmonton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2016

I don't know what all the bad reviews are about. This is a nicely renovated hotel with a clean, comfortable bed. It was a good stopover for the night. I also appreciate that they allow pets. A continently breakfast would be good for the price, but this was a good place to stay overall.

Helpful?
Thank Tara S
Sandmandan, Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review

Thank you for your statement: "I don't know what all the bad reviews are about." We strive to run a property that offers excellence in service and cleanliness in rooms and common areas. Of course, there are negative reviews that are legitimate, however, others appear to be downright personal and malicious which can lead to misleading information. Once again, thank... More 

1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2016 via mobile

Wonderful stay front desk staff very welcoming and saved me money by booking direct. Excellent weekend rate. Walking distance to everything we live in our semi truck up to 8 weeks at a time room was clean and tidy beds lovely and great to be able to park truck there so we could see it. Pet friendly as well. Thank... More 

Helpful?
Thank Garren P
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review

Now this is the type of review that makes all the time and effort put into excellent service, rewarding. We are thrilled that you found your stay to be so enjoyable. We have pet rooms set aside as we know that most travellers who have a pet, love to take that pet with them on their trip. We hope to... More 

Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2016 via mobile

It's an older 2 level hotel. Stayed for 3 nights in a one queen bed room. Room size was good for myself. I think it would also be sufficient for 2 people. It had a mini fridge, microwave, and modern flat screen TV. Also equipped with a desk big enough for working with laptop and paperwork. Although the room looked... More 

Helpful?
Thank VV20070518
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review

Thanks for your reply. I know what you mean about those railway tracks. We prefer to put people away from the tracks, however, sometimes high occupancy prevents this from happening. Thank you for all of your kind words and we sure hope you will pay us a return visit and we can give you a room further from the railroad... More 

Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2016

This was by far the worst hotel stay I have ever had, but at least it has made for a good story to tell our friends. My fiancée and I checked in on a road trip/business trip. We booked a queen room. Check in was nothing out of the ordinary. When we got our room keys we proceeded to our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We definitely apologize for checking you into an occupied room. This can be disconcerting to both the guest residing in the room and the person checking in. The beds are not actually twin beds, they are oversized doubles, which are only slightly less spacious than a queen bed. We are sorry for your unpleasant experience and... More 

Creston, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2015

The wind whistled into our room the whole time (could see outside right next to the air conditioner). The mattress sagged towards the middle quite badly. The sign outside the motel said "Bed and Breakfast Special". We inquired about breakfast and were told by the night clerk as well as the clerk the next morning that there was no breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank gmkenny
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. It sounds like we missed insulating the area around your air conditioner. Thanks for the heads up. Regarding the mattress, we do take special care to replace our mattresses in a timely manner, so sagging does not happen. I believe there was some miscommunication around the Bed and Breakfast situation. It sounds like you were not... More 

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cranbrook hotels
0.3 km away
Days Inn Cranbrook
Days Inn Cranbrook
#7 of 17 in Cranbrook
167 reviews
0.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Cranbrook Hotel
7.8 km away
St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Model A Inn
Model A Inn
#10 of 17 in Cranbrook
62 reviews
1.4 km away
Prestige Rocky Mountain Resort and Convention Centre
2.6 km away
Super 8 Cranbrook
Super 8 Cranbrook
#5 of 17 in Cranbrook
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Boasting more sunshine hours annually than any other city in BC, Cranbrook is surrounded by miles of lush forest and many glacier-fed lakes. Comfortable guest rooms, a relaxing indoor pool in addition to modern conveniences like high-speed Internet access, a business centre and on-site dining, make this Sandman property the perfect destination for business or pleasure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sandman Inn Cranbrook

Address: 405 Cranbrook St N, Cranbrook, British Columbia V1C 3R5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Cranbrook
Price Range: ₹ 5,619 - ₹ 7,815 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sandman Inn Cranbrook 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sandman Inn Cranbrook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Inn Cranbrook British Columbia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sandman Inn Cranbrook staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't stay here”
  • Mold in shower
  • Screw about to fall out adn obvious dirt from many many days.
 of 5 bubbles O8324LDjanetc, 17 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the front. The back is around 70 feet from a very active rail line.”
 of 5 bubbles SteamRestoration, 17 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Don't pick ones on the side of the train tracks. Don't choose Room 289.”
 of 5 bubbles LorneInKelowna, 28 Aug 2015 | Read review
“No elevator for those who have difficulty with stairs”
 of 5 bubbles agchristie, 12 Jul 2015 | Read review
“avoid this hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 334greg, 14 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay