We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN Glengarry Hotel

Show Prices
#5 of 8 Hotels in Truro
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Glengarry Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

253 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Glengarry Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 244: English reviews
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 1 August 2016

PLUSES - free 'goodie' bags upon arrival - nice outdoor pool - Blueberry muffins! MINUSES - get to the buffet BEFORE 8:30 or you could be out of luck. A little bland as well. - 'secondary' set of rooms behind the main building perhaps not as nice, but not bad at all either. - a little pricey but you could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jason W
Judy N, Owner at BEST WESTERN Glengarry Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jason W Thank you for your comments on our property from your recent visit. Glad you enjoyed our outdoor pool - too bad the weather in NS didn't allow us to keep it open longer but that's why we have the indoor pool! We are starting on renos very soon on our 2 storey building by the outdoor pool...

Marlborough
Reviewed 30 July 2016

A solid "4" in my book. Spacious room, friendly and helpful staff, excellent hot breakfast with lots of options. Bathroom is a bit small but there are shelves under the short counter. Make sure you go see the Tidal Bore which is close by. Also recommend Parrsboro to view the horizontal tide and Hall's Harbor for the vertical tide.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gofredo
Judy N, Owner at BEST WESTERN Glengarry Hotel, responded to this review

Dear gofredo Thank you for your great review of our property. We try really hard to accommodate our guests wishes and needs and glad we satisfied yours. Glad you got to see the Tidal Bore and our area does have the "highest tides in the world" so glad you got to experience that. Hoping that you will stay with us...

Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

I stayed here door family event. The beds are comfortable and clean. The hotel is looking tired and needs to be updated. The staff was pleasant and helpful with the exception of the Front Desk Manager. Watch out for her as she has a nasty demeanor. The conference food was ok but fairly outdated with tuna casserole, basic salads and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
Judy N, Owner at BEST WESTERN Glengarry Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jennifer D Thank you for your review of our property on your recent stay. Sorry some of your stay wasn't the best but we use all comments to improve and learn from our guests. Glad you liked our location and all our amenities. Hoping you will give us another try if in Truro again. Regards, Judy N

Chocowinity NC, United States
Reviewed 27 July 2016

This hotel was one of the best in our 14 day visit to Nova Scotia, great service and very clean and comfortable. Would stay there again on our next visit to Nova Scotia. My only concern, for a Best Western Plus, the bath towels did not have the softness I would expect from a Best Western Plus Hotel. Otherwise a...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rodney H
Judy N, Owner at BEST WESTERN Glengarry Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rodney H Thank you so much for the great review of our property. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay. We are starting renos quite soon on parts of the property so next year when you come we hope you will enjoy what we have done. Thank you again and look forward to seeing you next year. Regards,...

Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

Spent one night here with our family of four. We stayed in the main part of the hotel and had a nice room on the ground floor. The door to the grassy court yard and outdoor pool was handy. The beds were super comfy as well as the couch chair with the foot stool. The indoor pool and hot tub...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ShutterBuggz
Judy N, Owner at BEST WESTERN Glengarry Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Shutterbuggz: Thank you for sending us a review of your recent stay with us. We are glad that you found our property to be comfortable and relaxing. Sorry a couple of things disappointed you and we have spoken to the kitchen regarding your breakfast. Hoping you will give us another try if you are in the Truro area again....

Yorkshire
Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

We visited this hotel for two nights during a tour of Nova Scotia. Check in was efficient. Not sure why we were placed in one of the outside rooms which could have been a problem had the weather been bad. They did not bother to get the soya milk we had requested and in fact the waitress was very offhand...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MickyYorkshire
Judy N, Owner at BEST WESTERN Glengarry Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MickyYorkshire Thank you for your review of our property. When booking online a guest has the option to book in the main building or in the exterior building and I have to assume you booked the latter. I hope that you were given the option at the time of check in, if possible, that you could have moved to...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 30 June 2016

but overall a not bad stay. when we first arrived the room smelled musty, as if it hadn't been opened for some time. Which surprised us since the hotel was mostly empty and I wasn't sure why they'd have put us in an outside room with rooms available in the main building. However running the air on high for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RoxxLarry B
Judy N, Owner at BEST WESTERN Glengarry Hotel, responded to this review

Dear RoxxLarry B Thank you for your review of our property. I am sorry that you experienced a guest room that was less than adequate. We went through a couple of weeks this summer where the humidity was extremely high and unfortunately, unless the AC was left on in the outside building rooms, they did have a bit of a...

Halifax, Canada
Reviewed 29 June 2016

Extremely clean, comfortable, friendly. They always make me feel like I'm coming home. The property boasts both an indoor & outdoor pool, jacuzzi. Rooms are spacious, clean & tastefully decorated. Although the property is very well kept, it is the staff that keep me coming back,always happy, always caring, always friendly and a lot of fun. Victoria Park is within...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ricky H
Judy N, Owner at BEST WESTERN Glengarry Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 874rickyh: Thank you for your great assessment of our property. We are glad you are a return customer and always find us to the expectation you deserve. Our staff are great and they are always pleased to hear that our customers are happy with their service. We are very central to a lot of amenities and we're glad you...

Halifax, Canada
Reviewed 26 June 2016

We got the room with the pillow top mattress and I have to say, it was wonderful. Our room was clean and tidy. The staff was friendly and helpful. There is an outdoors pool as well as an indoors pool. A lot of parking. It is an older hotel but has been updated amazingly. You would never know the age...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sherry B
Judy N, Owner at BEST WESTERN Glengarry Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sherry B I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at our property recently. All our guest rooms have pillow top mattresses and we get a lot of compliments on them. We have a great staff and also get a lot of compliments on their friendliness and expertise. Yes, we do have an older property but...

Calgary
Reviewed 22 June 2016 via mobile

Rusting bathtub that did not drain. You can hear your neighbors, anyone in the hallway, and the noisy bar across the street. Beds & towels were great but the rest of the room subpar. Staff was friendly and efficient. Overall the room is way too expensive for what you get.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 60marilynl
Judy N, Owner at BEST WESTERN Glengarry Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 60marilyn/ Thank you for your review of our property. I am sorry that we didn't meet your expectations but we take all responses to use as a learning tool to be better in the future. I am glad that you found our staff to be friendly and efficient. Regards, Judy N

113 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (98)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (28)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truro
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Truro
Holiday Inn Truro
#2 of 8 in Truro
279 reviews
3.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Truro
2.2 km away
Comfort Inn - Truro
Comfort Inn - Truro
#3 of 8 in Truro
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Willow Bend Motel
Willow Bend Motel
#1 of 8 in Truro
267 reviews
3.6 km away
Super 8 Truro NS
Super 8 Truro NS
#4 of 8 in Truro
236 reviews
2.1 km away
Berry's Motel
Berry's Motel
#7 of 8 in Truro
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a 92-room property centrally located in the Hub of Nova Scotia, 40 miles north of the Robert L. Stanfield International Airport. We offer 12,000 sq.ft.of meeting room space - complimentary high speed internet in all guest rooms - King and Queen size beds and 2 room executive suites with private balconies. Indoor/Outdoor Pools. Coffee Shop, Dining Room with daily luncheon buffets/Sherlocks Piano Bar. Close to many major businesses. Friendly helpful staff. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Glengarry Hotel

Address: 150 Willow St, Truro, Nova Scotia B2N 4Z6, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Glengarry Hotel)
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Truro
Price Range: ₹ 6,358 - ₹ 8,852 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Glengarry Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Best Western and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Glengarry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Truro Best Western
Best Western Truro
BEST WESTERN Glengarry Hotel Truro, Nova Scotia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Glengarry Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Tempe, Arizona
Calgary, Canada

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Glengarry Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“we had a room with the door that opened to the parking lot..room 106 was great”
 of 5 bubbles spaceylee1, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“we were on the 3rd floor, there were LOTS of children around and I am sure they were jumping on the beds above us.”
 of 5 bubbles 813sandyp, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Very big pool at the Hotel !”
 of 5 bubbles carls115, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Separate Building has no elevator but nicer rooms”
 of 5 bubbles busguy121, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Second or third floor overlooking Willow Street are best.”
 of 5 bubbles Bob81944, 19 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5