We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Retro Suites Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Management photos
Retro Suites Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

324 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Retro Suites Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 322: English reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2015 via mobile

Stay at this place! It's unlike any other. U won't be disappointed! So many different styles of rooms to choose from. Right downtown, close to some good restaurants and a few bars, or better yet go downstairs and eat at the delicious chilled cork.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Martin H
RetroSuitesTeam, Manager at Retro Suites Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Martin H, Thank you for your fantastic review and for selecting the Retro Suites Hotel! We appreciate your support and are so pleased to hear that you had such a positive experience at the Retro Suites and Chilled Cork! We look forward to welcoming you back to both hotel and restaurant in the near future. Cheers!

Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 27 April 2015

We stayed this little gem of Chatham,Ontario on the weekend. The owners went out of their way to bring a retrospective of the past to all their themed rooms. You have rare pieces of furniture decorating every room that goes with the theme that room. You have a navy room,cowboy room,disco room and many more.Every room will transport you back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Macloow
London, Canada
Reviewed 18 April 2015

I recently spent a few days in Chatham,Ontario and had the privilege of staying at this very unique hotel. From the friendly and courteous service to the fantastic rooms , Chatham has a very special hotel to brag about . I look forward to a return visit !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terry G
RetroSuitesTeam, Manager at Retro Suites Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Terry G, Thank you for your review! We look forward to welcoming you back to the Retro Suites Hotel and are delighted to learn of your fantastic experience! Kindest Regards,

Springfield, Illinois
Reviewed 6 April 2015

This is a great little boutique hotel. We really enjoyed the themed room (The Midtown) with the exposed brick walls and the high ceilings. The lobby and rooms are very newly remodeled and everything feels fresh and clean. The front desk employees were very knowledgeable about the area for attractions, dining, etc. The complimentary hot (eggs, hashbrowns, toast) or continental...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Popcorn84
RetroSuitesTeam, Manager at Retro Suites Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Popcorn84, Thank you for reviewing the Retro Suites Hotel on Trip Advisor, we certainly value your continued support and very much appreciate your feedback. Please accept our apologies in regards to your early morning awakening due to the construction on the King William Block. At this time, the outside construction is close to completion and as a result, construction...

Chatham, Canada
Reviewed 17 March 2015

I recently had the opportunity to once again stay at Retro Suites. This time I chose the Easy Rider room, which is a Harley Davidson themed room. It was awesome. I had several guests in my room as we were at a wedding and all were in awe of the room. The staff at the hotel couldn't have been nicer....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J k
RetroSuitesTeam, Manager at Retro Suites Hotel, responded to this review

Dear J k, Thank you for returning to the Retro Suites Hotel and posting such a wonderful 5 star review! We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful time with us and that you enjoyed the Easy Rider Suite. Our staff also appreciate the kind words and were happy to assist in creating a memorable weekend for you....

Chatham, Canada
Reviewed 23 February 2015

What a treat this was! My husband and I stayed in The Study for one night thanks to family members who gave us a gift certificate to try it out (as they loved staying here for a family wedding). We live in Chatham, so probably would never have stayed here. It was like experiencing a special retreat. Staff were friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie L
RetroSuitesTeam, Manager at Retro Suites Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Julie L, Thank you for such a touching review. All of our associates felt an overwhelming sense of pride after reading your review and we really appreciate your kind words. We love to hear that your "stay-cation" brought you comfort and relaxation. Thank you for making a little place in your heart for us and we hope to see...

Reviewed 19 February 2015

I have stayed in several hotels over the years and none have compared to this hotel. It is amazing how much attention was taken to detail from all the art work right down to the staff's uniforms The staff were extremely friendly and the hotel it's self was very clean and staff were constantly cleaning the hotel. The restaurant is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chantalle S
RetroSuitesTeam, Manager at Retro Suites Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chantalle S, Thank you for sharing your experience, we are glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. The owners have spent a lot of time searching for the right pieces to go into the hotel and we are happy to hear that you appreciate the finer things. Also, thank you for recommending the Chilled Cork...

Harrow, Canada
Reviewed 13 February 2015

We stayed at the RetroSuites for a business weekend and found the rooms cozy and comfortable. From the business aspect, the conference room was conveniently located and service was very good. The online views allow you to choose your room in advance if it is available which is a bonus. Being within walking distance from the downtown was convenient as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wixxON
Reviewed 5 February 2015 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Retro Suites for a family members wedding. Our whole family had taken up the hotel rooms, so we ended up with having the whole hotel to ourselves. Not to mention the wedding reception. What a spectacular & breathtaking hotel to say the least. Very friendly, cheerful & helpful staff throughout the hotel. Very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rhonda S
London, Canada
Reviewed 28 January 2015

We had our wedding at the Retro Suites last year, and we thought it'd be a great idea to celebrate our first anniversary at the hotel. Of course we weren't disappointed. Myla at the front desk was incredibly outgoing and friendly when we checked in. Our room, Sail Inn, was fantastic! Part of the fun in staying here is checking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Panayese

178 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (132)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
1:51
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chatham hotels
2.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South
4.0 km away
Travelodge Chatham
Travelodge Chatham
#3 of 10 in Chatham
202 reviews
4.0 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 10 in Chatham
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Super 8 Chatham
Super 8 Chatham
#8 of 10 in Chatham
246 reviews
1.8 km away
Saxony Motel & Restaurant
2.6 km away
Colonial Motel
Colonial Motel
#2 of 2 in Chatham
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Artfully nestled in historic downtown Chatham, The Retro Suites is a first class hotel with comfort, elegance and style that will surpass all your expectations. Being the only hotel downtown, guests are always a short walk from fine dining, shopping and live theatre. Our 35 guest suites are all individually appointed and create a one of a kind experience that is uniquely yours. With over 2,500 square feet of event space our venue is ideal for any corporate event, wedding ceremony or reception. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Retro Suites Hotel

Address: 2 King St W, Chatham, Chatham-Kent, Ontario N7M 1C6, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Chatham-Kent > Chatham
Price Range: ₹ 6,475 - ₹ 11,931 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Retro Suites Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Retro Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Retro Hotel Chatham
Retro Suites Hotel Chatham, Ontario
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Retro Suites Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Retro Suites Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are beautiful. You can see them all on line and choose the one you would like to book if available.”
 of 5 bubbles rdrunner2016, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I always request not to be near the elevator in any hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles 122joannew, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I stayed in the Town and Country suite. It was spacious, 2 levels and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles erinlF1609BJ, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We toured all rooms and they were all above expectations”
 of 5 bubbles lmoreau2016, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Treat yourself for a night and enjoy the luxury of Hotel and decor of the rooms, it is truly a memorable experience!”
 of 5 bubbles clajeunesse, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay