We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Retro Suites Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Retro Suites Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

341 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Retro Suites Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 339: English reviews
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 1 July 2015 via mobile

This was my second stay at the retro. It is a wonderful hotel with great decor and ambience. The owners have done a nice job of curating a wonderful experience complete with physical artifacts including bikes in rooms. Overall the stay was good food is local in cases. The service was hit and miss as often the chef is delayed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank P P
Reviewed 1 July 2015 via mobile

The hotel was amazing! The suite had a unique layout & was very spacious. It was absolutely immaculate! The hotel itself had lots of unique, quirky & fun decorations!! The Chilled Cork within the hotel had fabulous food!😀

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jessiegirl1973
North Bay, Canada
Reviewed 29 June 2015

Had the opportunity to stay in the Easy Rider room, and as a Harley Rider myself, it certainly exceeded my expectations. Nicely decorated with HD furniture and accents including a rotating sign, HD ceiling fan and a suspended vintage motorcycle. The distinct smell of leather, high ceilings and a walk in shower with dual heads. The room was clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BKal50
Vienna, Virginia
Reviewed 26 June 2015

Colleagues had been telling me about this boutique hotel for a long time. They were right! It is a different experience. Every room is totally different in shape and decor, all themed. I had the Chardonnay Room and booked it again for my return visit next month. It was clean and spacious with comfortable bed, well-appointed bathroom, convenient kitchenette sink...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank voyager075
RetroSuitesHotelTeam, Front Office Manager at Retro Suites Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Voyager075, Thank you for your kind review. We certainly appreciate your time and are delighted to learn of your pleasant experience. The ‘Cowboy suite’ is one of the newest suites and features a large, glass walk in shower, balcony and king bed and motorcycle motif, Easy Rider, is a suite that is sure to thrill with a 1907 Hudson...

Reviewed 1 June 2015 via mobile

This is one of the greatest theme hotels I have stayed at. The room we had ( the study ) was very large with a huge bathroom and was very clean. Everything was up to date including the TV which has a picture I have never seen in a hd TV. The staff were very friendly and helpful with all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
Nathan B, Front Office Manager at Retro Suites Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Steve, Thank you for taking the time to share your review of the Retro Suites Hotel on Trip Advisor. The Study is one of our most beloved suites. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the comfortable ambiance of this timeless suite. We truly look forward to welcoming you back to the Retro Suites Hotel and thank...

Annandale, New Jersey
Reviewed 27 May 2015

This is my favorite hotel in North America and I travel extensively for business and pleasure. The staff is polite, efficient, friendly and informative. The rooms are incredibly unique and spotlessly clean. there is a restaurant on site called the Chilled Cork, which is a delightful place to have pre-dinner drinks. If there is one problem with this hotel, it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jack E
Nathan B, Front Office Manager at Retro Suites Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jack E, Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments in regards to the Retro Suites Hotel on Trip Advisor. We are flattered to learn of your review and honoured to have been chosen as your preferred accommodation destination when traveling to Chatham-Kent, Ontario. It is our wish to provide each guest with elevated service, beautiful, clean and comfortable accommodations...

Van Wert, Ohio
Reviewed 18 May 2015

My family recently stayed here on the way to Niagara Falls. This was one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. The staff was helpful, and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Each room has a particular style with many to choose from. Also, located next to a small shopping mall the stay provided...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Smoke6219
Reviewed 16 May 2015 via mobile

My husband and I just recently had our wedding at The Retro Suites Hotel and wouldn't change a single thing. The hotel is so unique and special for Chatham. I am so happy this was our number 1 location!! This hotel has hands down, the absolute BEST customer service I have ever experienced. They are so accommodating , understanding and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JLB1987
Nathan B, Front Office Manager at Retro Suites Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Jessica and Ken for your comments in regards to the Retro Suites Hotel on Trip Advisor! We are delighted to read your review and want you to know that we genuinely appreciate you taking the time to share in your experience. It was an honour to host your special day and it was a sincere pleasure to assist...

Reviewed 28 April 2015 via mobile

Stay at this place! It's unlike any other. U won't be disappointed! So many different styles of rooms to choose from. Right downtown, close to some good restaurants and a few bars, or better yet go downstairs and eat at the delicious chilled cork.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Martin H
RetroSuitesTeam, Manager at Retro Suites Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Martin H, Thank you for your fantastic review and for selecting the Retro Suites Hotel! We appreciate your support and are so pleased to hear that you had such a positive experience at the Retro Suites and Chilled Cork! We look forward to welcoming you back to both hotel and restaurant in the near future. Cheers!

Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 27 April 2015

We stayed this little gem of Chatham,Ontario on the weekend. The owners went out of their way to bring a retrospective of the past to all their themed rooms. You have rare pieces of furniture decorating every room that goes with the theme that room. You have a navy room,cowboy room,disco room and many more.Every room will transport you back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Macloow

184 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (139)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
1:51
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chatham hotels
2.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South
4.0 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 10 in Chatham
110 reviews
4.0 km away
Travelodge Chatham
Travelodge Chatham
#3 of 10 in Chatham
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Super 8 Chatham
Super 8 Chatham
#8 of 10 in Chatham
251 reviews
1.8 km away
Saxony Motel & Restaurant
1.5 km away
Kent Motel
Kent Motel
#6 of 10 in Chatham
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Artfully nestled in historic downtown Chatham, The Retro Suites is a first class hotel with comfort, elegance and style that will surpass all your expectations. Being the only hotel downtown, guests are always a short walk from fine dining, shopping and live theatre. Our 35 guest suites are all individually appointed and create a one of a kind experience that is uniquely yours. With over 2,500 square feet of event space our venue is ideal for any corporate event, wedding ceremony or reception. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Retro Suites Hotel

Address: 2 King St W, Chatham, Chatham-Kent, Ontario N7M 1C6, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Chatham-Kent > Chatham
Price Range: ₹ 7,874 - ₹ 12,520 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Retro Suites Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Retro Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Retro Hotel Chatham
Retro Suites Hotel Chatham, Ontario
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Retro Suites Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Retro Suites Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pick any that suit your occupancy needs. They are all fantastic.”
 of 5 bubbles chriswU6730ON, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Check out the rooms online. Each is very unique.”
 of 5 bubbles Antilles_Travelers, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The Paris room and Santa Fe room would all be good choices.”
 of 5 bubbles Amos1073, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are beautiful. You can see them all on line and choose the one you would like to book if available.”
 of 5 bubbles rdrunner2016, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I always request not to be near the elevator in any hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles 122joannew, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5