We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Briars

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expert photos
The Briars
The Briars
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

455 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 454: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stopped in one night just to check it out and decided to get a room and stay the night. Absolutely beautiful!!! Perfect Cozy, clean and classy with a great staff in the lounge that made us up a nice tray of appetizers to bring back to the room where we sat in front of the fire and had a glass... More 

Helpful?
Thank D S
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend reunion with my university friends. The cottage we had was quaint, clean and had what we needed to relax and catch up. The package included all meals in the dining room and we were not disappointed with the food. The spa experience was also fantastic. Our therapists were professional and courteous. I would love... More 

Helpful?
Thank anniemb55
HughatTheBriars, Owner at The Briars, responded to this review

Thank you so much anniemb55. We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your reunion. Summer by the lake is gorgeous - we hope we can welcome you back! Hugh Sibbald More 

Bowmanville, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Fantastic staff, room, food....all around super awesome! Don't even want to tell too many people about it we had such an awesome time here! This was bought for us as a wedding gift we were not sure what to expect but we were both so impressed! We can't wait to go back!

Helpful?
Thank Sharra40
HughatTheBriars, Owner at The Briars, responded to this review

Dear Sharra40, Thanks so much sharing your great honeymoon experience. We really appreciate it and hope that we can welcome you back for your anniversary. Best wishes, Hugh Sibbald More 

Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Dear Alexis We would like to take this opportunity to express our gratitude to both you and the entire staff at The Briar’s for making our wedding day a day to remember. We spent many months prior to our wedding looking for the perfect venue to celebrate this very special occasion. As a same sex couple we were made to... More 

Helpful?
Thank GPottage
HughatTheBriars, Owner at The Briars, responded to this review

Thank you so much GPottage for your kind words. It was such a pleasure hosting your beautiful wedding. Best wishes from Alexis and all of us, and we look forward to welcoming you back. Hugh Sibbald More 

Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Breakfast, lunch and dinner menus have good variety and are well prepared and presented. Desserts are not to be missed, date sticky toffee pudding and Creme Brûlée were particular favorites. Rooms in one wing are in serious need of updating, others appear to have been refreshed. With a bit of renovating this could be a truly great country inn.

Helpful?
Thank Pauline W
HughatTheBriars, Owner at The Briars, responded to this review

Thank you Pauline W. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the meals and our fabulous desserts. We appreciate the room suggestions very much. We look forward to welcoming you back, Hugh Sibbald More 

Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My sister in law picked The Briars so she could visit with family in the area( and I was lucky enough to stay and enjoy her company for a night) Food, room, service over all location was wonderfully relaxing! I'll be back for some R&R !

Helpful?
Thank Donna K
HughatTheBriars, Owner at The Briars, responded to this review

Thank you Donna K. I'm so pleased to enjoyed your R&R, and the food, room, service and location. We look forward to welcoming you and your sister back. Best wishes, Hugh Sibbald More 

Oshawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2016

I took my daughter her for here birthday as a special treat, The information given about times we could arrive and check in and activities we could attend were confused and given to us wrong. So at least we could go to the pool while we waited - that was a mistake; most disgusting pool and Jacuzzi I have ever... More 

Helpful?
Thank rayvenotter
BriarsResort, Owner at The Briars, responded to this review

Thanks rayvenotter. I can say I have never seen the pool or whirlpool as you describe. They are so well maintained. And if you were here in January 2016 we had just completed our pool renovation. Very strange indeed. Hugh Sibbald More 

Innisfil, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

I just returned from my 45th nursing class graduation reunion held at The Briars. There were 36 of us at the resort for the weekend. We arrived on Friday before dinner and sadly went home on Sunday after breakfast. It was a fantastic weekend enjoyed by all. The accommodations were perfect. We were in cottages and lodges along the waterfront... More 

Helpful?
Thank meb3009
BriarsResort, Owner at The Briars, responded to this review

Dear meb3009: We are so pleased that you had a fantastic weekend despite the windy, cool late October weather. Thank you for noting the special features of Mayfair Lodge - which is so great for reunions - and also for your kind words about the food, service and Jessica's attention to detail. We look forward to welcoming you back. Hugh... More 

Port Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Stayed here at one of their cottages for my sister in laws wedding I was in. Pros: Beautiful place, lots of character, great places for pictures, (unfortunately the dock was under construction so we werent able to go to the water, but off season so you get what you get). The food was amazing. Breakfast buffet was outstanding, and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank TravelNut87
HughatTheBriars, Owner at The Briars, responded to this review

Thank you TravelNut87. We are pleased that you enjoyed the room, the character of the property for photos and the incredible wedding dinner. I'm sorry that you feel disappointed in the the Planner. She did a fabulous job that day juggling all the changes and assuring that the event went off without a hitch, and we appreciated everyone working together... More 

Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2016

This is a lovely lodge, over a century old, with lots of character. Excellent amenities, food, and service. It is perfect as a getaway close to Toronto. My husband and I went there twice, once for a family reunion, and the second time as part of Barbara Seagram's Bridge weekend. Both experiences were most satisfying.

Helpful?
Thank CelineToronto
HughatTheBriars, Owner at The Briars, responded to this review

Thank you Celine. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the lodge, excellent amenities, food and service and the proximity to Toronto. We look forward to welcoming you back. Hugh Sibbald More 

388 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (184)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (55)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Other (49)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (187)
Viewed
Amenities (39)
Viewed
Manor Room (30)
Viewed
Petit Point (29)
Viewed
Pool (7)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
The Hotel (72)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson's Point
35.6 km away
Horseshoe Resort
Horseshoe Resort
#12 of 19 in Barrie
702 reviews
34.3 km away
Stone Gate Inn
Stone Gate Inn
#1 of 14 in Orillia
470 reviews
28.0 km away
Knights Inn Harbour Resort Lagoon City Brechin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.7 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Couchiching Inn
0.4 km away
Whispering Pines Cottages and Vacation Rentals
Whispering Pines Cottages and Va...
#1 of 1 in Jackson's Point
37 reviews
33.7 km away
Fern Resort
Fern Resort
#4 of 14 in Orillia
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about The Briars

Address: 55 Hedge Rd, Jackson's Point, Georgina, Ontario L0E 1L0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Georgina > Jackson's Point
Price Range: ₹ 12,270 - ₹ 13,229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Briars 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Briars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Briars Hotel Jackson`s Point
Briars Jacksons Point
Briars Hotel Jacksons Point
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Briars staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from The Briars staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The manor house is vintage and beautifully kept but we love the Leacock wing best with it's fireplace and balcony:)”
 of 5 bubbles dsG8559NI, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“ask for the garden, or lake view ,really relaxing”
 of 5 bubbles donnak474, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room in the newer part of the resort. The rooms in the manor house are full of a must smell.”
 of 5 bubbles douglass482, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms not super modern and fancy, but we did not want that.We enjoy the old world charm and comfort.”
 of 5 bubbles Ontariotraveller315, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Definitely don't pick the Guest Rooms in the B Wing”
  • Stained fiberfill pillow
  • Moldy curtain
  • Moldy sink
  • Cold and uncomfortable bed
  • Stained pillow
 of 5 bubbles KRHobo, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay