We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Canal Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Canal Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

135 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Canal Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 129: English reviews
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 13 November 2012

My job requires a lot of travel so I've stayed at a lot of hotels and honestly, this one's gotta be one of the worst. As a young woman, I didn't feel safe at all. There was a terrible fight that went on in the middle of the night and when I called the front desk to ask them to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Smashley050
Hotel M, Manager at Canal Inn, responded to this review

Good Morning, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a comment on our trip advisor site. I am truly sorry to hear that your stay with us was unpleasant. Unfortunately on occasion some guests turn out to be complete different people than they were when they checked in. We would like to assure you than not only were...

Ontario
Reviewed 22 October 2012

I stayed at this Comfort Inn last week in a king bed room with a microwave, fridge, samsung flat-screen tv and ergonomically correct chair. Yes, the furnishings (other than the desk chair) were dated, but the room and the bathroom were very clean and I am a stickler about that. I need a non-smoking room due to allergies and that's...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank HerIndoorsOntario
London, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 13 September 2012

I wouldn't even suggest this hotel to people passing through or truckers. The place was disgusting. My son crawled around on the floor of the room and his hands, feet, and knees were black within minutes. The carpet was stained, the fridge was broken, everything is massively outdated, and they told us it was a non-smoking room when the room...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Julie G
Hotel M, Manager at Canal Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. I would like to personally apologize for your less than satisfactory stay with us. We are currently in the midst of renovations, most importantly our carpets. We are also doing a deep and detailed cleaning of the entire building. We hope to have the opportunity in the future to share...

Kitchener, Canada
Reviewed 5 September 2012

This hotel seemed to be alot nicer on the outside. As I do stay in many hotels working out of town looking for a good hotel isn't usually that hard. This place was absolutly gut wrenching the amount of flys and ants in some of the rooms is horrible, but that seems easy to over come once you uncover the...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank James L
Hotel M, Manager at Canal Inn, responded to this review

I would like to take this time to personally apologize to you and your co workers for the situation which has led you to post your reviews here on Trip Advisor. Bed bugs have become a problem for not only us, but for all hotels in the past few years. With us having such a high ratio of corporate clients...

Reviewed 3 September 2012

Hello, I have stayed at the Comfort Inn's all over Ontario & the US...this is one is by far the dirtiest and bug infested places ever. The assistant manager was very nice, she checked me into a room..I went to the room and it was still strip of bedding. (it was 3:45pm). I went back and she gave me another...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Karen S
kansas city
Reviewed 7 August 2012

My husband was rowing in St Catherine's and couldn't find rooms at any hotel but this one. Once he got there he knew why. Although we usually stay in 3.5 to 4 star hotels, he figured how bad could this be? He is easy going but had a hard time with this one. When he checked in he was told...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mnckc
Cheswick, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 7 August 2012

My husband and I just returned from a weekend staying at the Comfort Inn in Welland. We were visiting family in St. Catharines. The hotel is is bad need of updating first of all. The worst part though was the enormous amount of flies throughout the hotel in the hallway, in our room and in the breakfast area. The rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nancy P
Petawawa, Canada
Reviewed 31 July 2012

This hotel is in desparate need of updates! Our door did not lock - and I was given another room so they could fix the door. When I entered the new room - someone else was in there! How embarrassing! We wsent back to the first room and waited for the door to be fixed before we could begin our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MARTINAT01
Tillsonburg, Canada
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We paid $169 for a 1 night stay. For that price we expected an above average room but we were disappointed with the run of the mill, tired and drab room which smelled bad and was worse when we turned on the AC. However the bed was comfortable, the shower was good and the breakfast was above average, offering some...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank nani54
Hotel M, Front Office Manager at Canal Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us, and felt the price was unreasonable. We are in the midst of many rennovations, and hope to have the opportunity in the future to share with you all the exciting changes and improvements we are currently working...

Niagara Falls, Canada
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Cleaning staff interred room while I was in bed. Manager Leanne told me and choice privelages they were refunding my nights stay. They still took money for night from my credit card . I just called hated about issue, same ladie who checked me in told me my girlfriend should keep her mouth shut and that I had anger issues...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank StewShan M

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welland
4.3 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rose City Suites
11.0 km away
Four Points by Sheraton St. Catharines Niagara Suites
11.6 km away
The Peninsula Inn
The Peninsula Inn
#14 of 129 in Niagara Falls
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cairn Croft Hotel
3.3 km away
At Home Bed & Breakfast - Rose Manor
1.1 km away
Residence & Conference Centre - Welland at Niagara College
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a newly renovated hotel under new ownership and management. We are 100% NON smoking, and your comfort is our #1 priority. We offer luxurious beds, cable TV, free high speed wi-fi in all the rooms and main lobby, free continental breakfast every day as well as a complimentary newspaper. We are conveniently located just minutes from downtown Niagara Falls, our state of the art Flatwater Centre (home of the Dragon Boat Championships and Pan Am Games). We are also mere minutes away from stunning hiking/cycling trails, world renowned wineries and beautiful beaches along the lake. We offer very competitive rates, and can accommodate groups as well. Our friendly and courteous staff look forward to making your next trip to Niagara a great one!!! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Canal Inn

Address: 870 Niagara Street, Welland, Ontario L3C 1M3, Canada (Formerly Canal Inn)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Welland
Price Range: ₹ 2,328 - ₹ 2,803 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Canal Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Canal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Niagara Falls/Welland Hotel Welland
Comfort Inn Welland
Welland Comfort Inn
Canal Inn Welland, Ontario
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Canal Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a different hotel.”
267th_r_seg, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Go to Best Western in Welland. Superior rooms, I mean suites for basically same rates. Great breakfast as well.”
sandra_l_golden, 30 Dec 2015 | Read review
“For a good room choose a different hotel.”
Follows58, 11 Aug 2015 | Read review
“View room before check in.”
LascellesS_13, 7 Jul 2015 | Read review
“No elevator so if mobility impaired be sure to ask for main floor.”
JanetDP, 25 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5