We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Express Whitby Oshawa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Whitby Oshawa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

138 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Whitby Oshawa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 133: English reviews
Middle Village, New York
Reviewed 28 June 2016

I returned to this hotel after 2 years to find it still a good place to stay when in Toronto. Staff was courteous and helpful, (special shout out to caretaker of breakfast room! Sorry I didn't get your name, but you were the happiest employee I have ever met) rooms were clean and comfortable, and at least this time they...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Toni N
Mississauga
Reviewed 13 June 2016

Decent stay - average, relatively clean hotel room. Nothing special. Microwave and fridge in room. Free wi-fi and decent wi-fi speed. Close to 401 but far enough away to avoid highway noise. Air conditioning unit in room very loud. Close to a host of restaurants. Average HI-express breakfast. Only one elevator so can be a bit of a wait during...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank spud0018
Meg B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Whitby Oshawa, responded to this review

Hi Spud0018, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your review. We appreciate any and all feedback to help contnuously improve on a consistent basis. If you are ever back in the area, please feel free to contact me directly and I would be happy to arrange your room. Hope to welcome you back again soon....

Montreal
Reviewed 3 June 2016

There is a great selection of eating options a stone's throw from the hotel. Kelsey's is a good choice. The hotel continental breakfast is tasty and the room they gave us was very comfy. It was a king suite and we felt pampered. Staff is friendly and helpful. Always a cheery good morning from the staff wherever you encounter them....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
Meg B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Whitby Oshawa, responded to this review

Hi Peter, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your review. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to welcome you back again soon! Happy Travels. Meg Brooke Room Division Manager

stigs17
Reviewed 1 June 2016

Stayed for a Jays series. Overall, a very good experience. Pros: + Friendly staff eager to please + Pleasant exterior & public areas, more upscale than a typical HIX + Heavenly bed, slept great + New fridge & microwave in room + Spacious bathroom, ample counter space + Good shower pressure, ergonomic showerhead, plush towels + 3-minute drive or 15-minute...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stigs17
Meg B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Whitby Oshawa, responded to this review

Hi Stigs17, First, I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. I am very pleased that overall, you enjoyed your stay with us! Great to hear. (And I agree, I love the water pressure and beds here) :) I am very sorry to hear we did not have any upgrades available for you,...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2016 via mobile

Got a fantastic price on a jacuzzi room. It was beside the elevator so a fairly busy area and noisy, but the staff made that known before we took the room so it wasn't a surprise. We thoroughly enjoyed the tub and King bed. Breakfast was decent and the coffee was good. We were lucky to get just what we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Meg B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Whitby Oshawa, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. I am so very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, in our Jacuzzi room. We hope to see you again soon. Warmest regards, Meg Brooke Room Division Manager rdm@expresswhitby.com

Deep River, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 1 May 2016 via mobile

Great hotel extremely clean. Came in on the Friday to check in and had my children with me when I called an reserved we had requested a adjoining room. After driving five hours and getting to the hotel it was made aware to me there was a mix up in regards to the reservation and the adjoining room would not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JillandJames B
Aprile M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Whitby Oshawa, responded to this review

Dear Jill and James, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Amr El Guindy General Manager

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 23 April 2016

I check into Holiday Inn Express. I am given room 101 –it is first room to the right of the reception, across room is the ice -machine, clunking away and the window of room opens to the drive-in/drop off of the hotel. I am quite horrified that such a room even exist in a hotel. I go back out and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Devan N
Meg B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Whitby Oshawa, responded to this review

Good morning Devan, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your review. We do have many guests that are surprised that quiet little, Whitby Ontario can sell out. However, with all the companies in the immediate area, we do in fact sell out most nights, whether weekday or weekend. That being said, I am sorry you...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 18 April 2016

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for a wedding, The staff was friendly, the breakfast is the standard breakfast for a holiday inn express (is always good) The Internet worked well, overall a good stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 88Love_to_travel88
Meg B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Whitby Oshawa, responded to this review

Good morning 88Love_to_travel88, Thank you very much for your review. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Hope to welcome you back again soon. Happy Travels! Meg Brooke Room Division Manager rdm@expresswhitby.com

Mendon, New York
Reviewed 16 March 2016

We visited Toronto last year at the same time of year, and stayed at the Best Western, which is a terrible experience. This time we stayed at the Holiday Inn, and it was like night and day. This hotel was quiet, no door slamming, noisy hallways or other sleep-disrupting features. The room was spacious and comfortable, and all questions answered...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank twosleepy
Meg B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Whitby Oshawa, responded to this review

Hi twosleepy, Thank you so very much for leaving us your review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay so thoroughly with us! Hope to welcome you back again soon. Meg Brooke Room Division Manager rdm@expresswhitby.com

Hamilton, Canada
Reviewed 3 March 2016 via mobile

We stayed one night while in town for a basketball tournament. Just a basic, clean hotel. The staff were decent. There is no indoor pool and the fitness area is tiny. There is only a treadmill, an elliptical and a recumbent bike. The pictures showed Dumbbells but they are no longer there. The breakfast was good enough. Nothing fancy but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bc805
Meg B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Whitby Oshawa, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your review. I am happy to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us, and that the maintenance issue you had in your room was promptly taken care of. I am sorry you missed out on the barbells in our Fitness area. We had one go...

70 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitby
Residence Inn Whitby
#1 of 7 in Whitby
241 reviews
Quality Suites
#2 of 7 in Whitby
148 reviews
Downtown Oshawa
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Oshawa Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vanier
Travelodge Oshawa Whitby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to an Award-Winning Whitby Hotel near Toronto You're invited to stay at the Holiday Inn Express Whitby Hotel. We're the closest IHG brand hotel to the General Motors plant in Oshawa, and our location offers easy access to Hwy 401 and area attractions. Are you a leisure traveler looking for hotels near Toronto? Our Whitby hotel's location is near many attractions, including the Class Act Dinner Theatre, Iroquois Park and Lynde Shores Conservation Area. Visit the nearby Whitby History Museum & Children's Centre to explore artifacts and exhibitions, or explore the R. S. McLaughlin Estate, which is just 12 km away.If you're a savvy business traveler, our Whitby hotel near Toronto is the place for you. Not only are we the closest IHG hotel to General Motors headquarters and plant, but we're also close to BMW Canada and only 10 km from the Oshawa airport. As one of the best Whitby hotels, we offer our guests a 100% smoke-free hotel with excellent amenities like free high-speed Internet access and we're the only hotel in the region with suites with a Jacuzzi. You'll enjoy the added value of a complimentary hot breakfast buffet to start your day. You can relieve stress with a workout in the well-equipped Fitness Centre. Few Whitby hotels can match our rooms with large flat screen TVs, a microwave and a fridge. For the finest in hospitality, let our outstanding staff make your next stay memorable by choosing the Holiday Inn Express. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Whitby Oshawa

Address: 180 Consumers Drive, Whitby, Ontario L1N 9S3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Whitby
Price Range: ₹ 6,151 - ₹ 9,275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Whitby Oshawa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Whitby Oshawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Whitby Oshawa Hotel Whitby
Holiday Inn Whitby
Whitby Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Whitby Oshawa Ontario
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Whitby Oshawa staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Whitby Oshawa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Good accessibility. Good location for travelling on 401.”
northeast84, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“away from elevator and vending machines. If in summer a ground level room would be near pool. even number rooms are quieter.”
clarkdiane98, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I believe the rooms on the back of the building would be quieter.”
beachy026, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“another hotel.”
132MichelleC132, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the 'back' are super quiet - no highway noise at all.”
ChapelHill10, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5