We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

HI-Canmore/Alpine Club of Canada

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canmore
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
HI-Canmore\/Alpine Club of Canada
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

27 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 23: English reviews
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2016

This is a lovely hostel a bit outside of Canmore, a car is needed to get around the valley. The views are stunning. Great kitchen facilities. Clean and inviting. There are a number of public spaces indoors and on decks outside. We had planned a 3 day stay, but extended it to 7. We will definitely return.

Helpful?
Thank JZS50
rshears, General Manager at HI-Canmore/Alpine Club of Canada, responded to this review

Thank you for such a great review, and I am glad you liked the cabin so much that you decided to stay for a week. We look forward to having you stay again soon, and I appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Rob Shears Facilities Manager More 

Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2016

this is a good hostel in a good location but u need wheels or else its a 45 min walk to town its not a party hostel if your looking for that u will have to go to banff lol but if u like to getaway from the city and relax and kick it in the mountians this is the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Derick B
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2016 via mobile

When I stayed there were only a few guests so it felt like an oasis after the hustle and bustle of the hostel in Banff. As it's part of the Alpine Club of Canada, there are lots of climbing memorabilia displayed and photos. The communal areas are wonderful and the view from the balcony, outstanding. On the negative side if... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rachael M
rshears, General Manager at HI-Canmore/Alpine Club of Canada, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving such a great review of HI Canmore, and I am glad you enjoyed the views and serenity during your stay. We know our dormitory rooms are quite small, but we do have private room in the Boswell cabin which are much larger. Hopefully most of the time is spent exploring the outdoors and hanging out in our... More 

Banff, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

Incredible Valley. The place has to be the best and most scenic Valley in all of the Canadian Rockies. I've been there close to 40 times in the Summer, Fall and Winter months. The best time to visit in the Summer is late July to the end of September. In the winter you can ski the 12kms up the road... More 

Helpful?
Thank BMphotoTours
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
246 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2016 via mobile

This hostel is run by the Alpine Club of Canada so it is heavily oriented towards mountaineers and other outdoor people. It is on a hill outside town, so you really need a car to get there. Apart from that, it's a great place. The professionally equipped kitchen is a joy for self catering. The sitting room is elegant and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pittsburgh_cyclist
rshears, General Manager at HI-Canmore/Alpine Club of Canada, responded to this review

Thanks for a great review of the HI Canmore, and I am glad you liked the atmosphere and views. Our apologies for the over zealous staff member that was bugging you about the dishes in the kitchen. We want the guests to feel comfortable (like it is their home) and I hope you get the opportunity to stay again. Thank... More 

Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2015

I was surprised and disappointed after reading good reviews on this hostel. First I must say if you are looking for a young social feel this is not so much a young crowd. Majority of the occupants were retirement age. Additionally The rooms are incredibly small, not enough room to do anything but come in and get into your bunk.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ellyznavida
rshears, Manager at HI-Canmore/Alpine Club of Canada, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, and I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at HI Canmore. I do understand that some of our dorm rooms are quite small, however our common areas are very roomy and we try to make sure that everyone has space to socialize on the main floor. It... More 

Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2015

The staff is friendly, the kitchen is really equipped and has an amazing view overlooking the mountains. Because it was still low season when we went, they could offer us a 4-bedroom accommodation all to ourselves. It's really quiet there, and if you're lucky you can might get to see some coyotes around the house. If you're visiting Banff, this... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Nathalie S
rshears, General Manager at HI-Canmore/Alpine Club of Canada, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review Nathalie, it is nice to hear that you loved the views and even got see some wildlife during your stay. Thank you, Rob Shears More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2015

My husband and I stayed 4 nights here in the Boswell cabin. It has 2 bedrooms and we shared the cabin with another couple. Each bedroom door has a lock and the living/kitchen area and bathroom facilities are shared. It is a good lower cost option for accommodation that is within easy reach by car of all Banff National park... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Nan90
Saratoga NSW
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2015

My husband and I are staying at The ACC for 4 nights in a Boswell Cabin. It is a bit of a trek up the hill but well worth the effort. In this cabin there are 2 separate bedrooms with a share kitchen, eating area and bathroom. The living space is large and has great views. In the main hostel... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy S
Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2015 via mobile

Stay with like minded individuals who are more excited about reaching the summit in the morning then staying and drinking all night long- don't get me wrong at the end of the day their is a great social room to sit down and share stories over a cold beer or glass of wine. Which are both for sale at a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kla030

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
2.4 km away
Falcon Crest Lodge
Falcon Crest Lodge
#2 of 29 in Canmore
1,253 reviews
2.3 km away
StoneRidge Mountain Resort
5.3 km away
Copperstone Resort
Copperstone Resort
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Coast Canmore Hotel & Conference Centre
4.1 km away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
3.7 km away
Ramada Canmore
Ramada Canmore
#15 of 29 in Canmore
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
HI-Canmore is spacious, warm and inviting with exceptionally clean facilities! We have two gas fireplaces, plenty of space to spread out and a relaxed atmosphere. The kitchen is very clean, well stocked and has commercial-quality appliances. The dorm rooms are low-capacity, sleeping 4 to 6 people per room and are very comfortable. ... more   less 

Additional Information about HI-Canmore/Alpine Club of Canada

Address: 201 Indian Flats Road | PO Box 8040, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2T8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Price Range: ₹ 1,277 - ₹ 4,393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 54
Also Known As:
HI-Canmore/Alpine Club Of Canada Alberta
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from HI-Canmore/Alpine Club of Canada staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Seattle, Washington
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from HI-Canmore/Alpine Club of Canada staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“book the separate private cabin if you have a group!”
 of 5 bubbles Ellyznavida, 27 Aug 2015 | Read review
“All rooms are the same.”
 of 5 bubbles Nan90, 17 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Detached wooden homes better :)”
  • View from the balcony!
 of 5 bubbles Carole_Anne123, 4 Nov 2014 | Read review
“Wifi isn't great at the Bell cabin. Try and sleep in one of the rooms, not the loft because it gets very hot up there.”
 of 5 bubbles UK101010, 22 Oct 2014 | Read review
“If you stay in the Boswell Cabin, request one of the bedrooms with a mountain view.”
 of 5 bubbles erino2013, 1 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5