We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Queens Head Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
The Queens Head Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

96 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for The Queens Head Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 95: English reviews
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 April 2015

Went up to a friends wedding and stayed at the Queens Head, the room was nice and clean Eileen and her staff were very helpful and couldn't do enough for us. We practically took over the pub and there was good banter with the staff and the locals. The Breakfast was a life saver and although I didn't eat at...

3Thank Nick D
Reviewed 7 April 2015

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for a friends wedding over the Easter bank holiday weekend. We had an absolutely fantastic time here at the Queens Head. Eileen and John couldn't have done more for us, they were fantastic hostesses. As you can imagine we had a couple of sore heads on the morning after the wedding so Eileen said...

3Thank woollymufc
Reviewed 1 April 2015

Called in for lunch, sat in the bar area where it was nice and warm with an open log fire, which was very nice, however there is an overwhelming smell of wet dogs in the place, not very pleasant when you're eating. I appreciate that country pubs allow dogs but please spray the area with a neutraliser or something to...

3Thank burslembabe
John N, Owner at The Queens Head Inn, responded to this review

Well you can please some of the people some of the time.... We are a very dog friendly pub to well behaved dog's that are kept on a lead, but the pub most certainly does not smell of wet dog, as for the price I think you will find this is one of the cheaper places in The Lake District....

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 January 2015

The people who run The Queens Head Inn are just lovely and we were made to feel very welcome. We had a drink in the bar in the evening and the locals made us feel very welcome indeed, which was nice. Our room was quite small, unfortunately. The owners had no knowledge of our request for a room big enough...

2Thank Rebecca M
John N, Owner at The Queens Head Inn, responded to this review

Hi Rebecca thanks for the review, it was nice having you guys stay with us, it was just unfortunate that we did not know that you were bringing a dog otherwise we would have ensured you had a larger room (it is a 16th century inn so the rooms arent huge) As for the kitchen being closed, we think you...

Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 January 2015

I visited this pub over the New Years period while staying in Brampton. Really excellent welcome by the owners, nothing too much trouble, two bonkers dogs to laugh at, excellent beer, Sky sports, coal fires, great food, friendly locals. What more can you ask for. Will be visiting again when in the area. No negatives. Sean Fennelly

Thank Fenners68
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 December 2014

I stayed there for the purpose of taking part of the ultra marathon around Helvellyn. The hotel was very understanding for the odd time of leaving and coming back and the atmosphere was very welcoming. Good food too. I will go back again very soon.

Thank runhisayorun
Oban, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 November 2014

This friendly family run business has become a favourite with my family. We have stayed there several times over the past couple of years when travelling from Scotland to the south of England. Eileen & John have always given us a very warm welcome and made us feel at home from the minute we arrive. The rooms are well maintained,...

1Thank ObanBP
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 November 2014

As a group of fairly serious hill-walkers on a 41st consecutive annual visit to the Lakes we have visited Askham on several occasions. The welcome and service from the whole extended family team at The Queen's Head last month was first class and much appreciated by the guys. The barside fire and beer were, as always, a welcoming sight after...

1Thank mandj C
Reviewed 12 November 2014

This B&B was a room above a pub, a few rooms available and all of reasonable standard. Clean enough and comfy enough. The bedroom had a really annoying fire light though which meant there was a glow through the room whilst you tried to sleep. The towels were very thin but the shower was warm enough and powerful enough. I...

Thank Gillso
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 November 2014

Askham is a charming village, a few miles from Ullswater yet seemingly remote from the tourist Lake District. Two lovely pubs as well. We could not have had a more enjoyable weekend than the one we have just spent in The Queens Head, friendly and welcoming - nothing too much trouble. Excellent food and drink. Not my last visit for...

Thank Julian C

12 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (10)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Dining (1)
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (2)
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Askham
5.8 km away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#5 of 11 in Penrith
949 reviews
6.0 km away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
335 reviews
6.2 km away
Premier Inn Penrith Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
Roundthorn Country House
6.5 km away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#6 of 11 in Penrith
807 reviews
0.3 km away
Punchbowl Inn
Punchbowl Inn
#2 of 3 in Askham
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Queens Head Inn

Address: Lower Green, Askham CA10 2PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Askham
Price Range: ₹ 5,961 - ₹ 9,629 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queens Head Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your The Queens Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Queens Head Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Family suite had separate double bed room and bunk beds, great if we come back with the grandkids”
 of 5 bubbles franmoranblackpool, 29 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We only got to eat as we live locally”
 of 5 bubbles LowHall1540, 4 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Don't even consider booking a room here”
 of 5 bubbles 1TanyaG, 19 Aug 2015 | Read review
“difficult to help”
 of 5 bubbles 259thereseq, 26 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Avoid 'Tan' room if you have a large dog and want a comfortable night's sleep!”
 of 5 bubbles RebeccaM14, 4 Jan 2015 | Read review
5 of 5