We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Biggin Hall Country House Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Biggin-by-Hartington
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Biggin Hall Country House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

357 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for Biggin Hall Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 356: English reviews
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 August 2015 via mobile

Stayed here in room 3 for two days in the main building, the breakfasts were fresh and hot .The room was very comfortable .The evening meal had a good choice of menu and was well presented . There was complementary pimms before dinner and complementary half Carafe of wine with dinner Leslie&Judith

1Thank Julemar42
Whitby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 August 2015

The hotel is warm, comfortable and staffed by really friendly people. It has an old world charm with modern facilities in the bedrooms. The dinners on an evening are excellent and packed lunches included in the price. We will certainly stay here again.

Thank Michael M
Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 July 2015

This is a lovely old building in a pleasant rural setting half a mile off the A515 Ashbourne to Buxton road. The welcoming arrangements are unusual. Customers are not greeted on arrival in fact their presence goes quite unnoticed by the staff. You walk in to an ancient waiting room and - wait. Our party of four arrived at 12.15....

1Thank PeterPlumtree
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 July 2015 via mobile

I was taken to this establishment by my cousin and her husband. The surroundings were lovely and apparently on a nice day you can sit outside if you like to dine and can see chickens,piglets etc nearby. The waitresses were very pleasant and we enjoyed a jug of pimms in the library before being taken through to the dining area....

Thank jessie999999
Reviewed 20 July 2015

we had a good weekend to celebrate a special occasion.food was very good for dinner.breakfast was poorly served .hardly any staff about , so was constantly looking for things example no spoons on table,and food buffet running low. hotel is an old building with character,and was rather shabby in parts in bedrooms,and dining tables.saturday night service attentive but friday staff...

Thank V6846GCelizabethc
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 July 2015

Came here on our golden wedding anniversary day, we found the service poor, no communication skills with waiting on staff, and no response when mentioning this was a special day. Food was good, but overall was disappointing for us.

1Thank Janice B
West Stockwith, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 July 2015

The hall itself is a very well preserved historic place with big log fire and a nice restaurant. Set in lovely countryside I would stay again. However I would need to be in the main hall, not the alternative. The room we had was ok but I would not give it more than three stars. Due to the quality of...

1Thank lezconnecting
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 July 2015

Food was ok, have had better,would not go back again,service was very poor,needed to ask for tea spoons,didn't see staff one they delivered our food,no servietts,no one asked if the food was to our satisfaction very poor.

3Thank Gaynor H
james84451, Owner at Biggin Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Clearly something went wrong with the service on the day of your visit - this is most certainly not our usual standard. Please let me have your details together with the day of your visit and I will arrange a full refund.

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 July 2015

Unlike a previous reviewer we obviously didn’t “get” this hotel. Unfriendly service, misleading advertising and shabby furnishings aren’t what we’re looking for in a hotel. We booked it from the Signposts Hotel website. After experiencing it we were very surprised that it’s included in Signposts hotels. It doesn’t match their other hotels nor does it come up to its own...

1Thank Ladybentley
james84451, Owner at Biggin Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

I was pleased (and a little surprised to find in the middle of this litany of withering criticism!) that you enjoyed the meal here and, I think, thought the dinner bed and breakfast option good value. I am sorry you did not like the hand made Burgess Balmoral mattresses or the cushions on the settee and easy chair stuffed with...

Reviewed 24 June 2015

A wonderful weekend, spent in a lovely location in the Peak District. Excellent food, excellent service, packed lunch included in the package a nice touch. Hotel arranged a beautiful bouquet of flowers & chocolates in the room for a surprise for my wife :) only criticism, those pine tables in the restaurant need to go or be stripped , getting...

Thank Mel J

95 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (85)
Room/Suite (11)
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Dining (4)
View from Room (3)
Bathroom (5)
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (10)
Room/Suite (5)
Dining (1)
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Biggin-by-Hartington
8.8 km away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
2.5 km away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
842 reviews
11.1 km away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.5 km away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
16.8 km away
Old Hall
Old Hall
#3 of 9 in Buxton
994 reviews
12.6 km away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Biggin Hall Country House Hotel

Address: Biggin-by-Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 0DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Biggin-by-Hartington
Hotel Class:2 star — Biggin Hall Country House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Biggin Hall Country Hotel
Biggin Hall Country Buxton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Biggin Hall Country House Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Biggin Hall Country House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms in the Hall are quite large and full of character - the ones in the courtyard are a bit cheaper”
 of 5 bubbles chrisdC2720BK, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you were underneath someone a bit heavy on their feet it might be annoying as you can hear moving about upstairs. We were in Room 2”
 of 5 bubbles gremlin82, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms were quiet. We've stayed in the main house and the annexes.”
 of 5 bubbles richardX9148ZK, 25 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 1 is stunning!”
 of 5 bubbles , 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in the manor house which made the lounge and dining room very accessible.”
 of 5 bubbles N8526HZjamesf, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5