We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Esplanade Hotel

Save
Traveller (128)
Room & Suite (35)
Dining (28)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent37%
  • Very good41%
  • Average12%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
Free Wifi
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
Suites
Bar/Lounge
Multilingual Staff
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (267)
There are newer reviews for The Esplanade Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
254 results
Traveller rating
93
99
32
18
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
93
99
32
18
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsferry terminalbreakfast was includedauckland citymusselslovely hotelold world charmopen fireshort visitharbour view roomquick drinksun roombreakfast menulounge areavictoria suitenew zealandsconeswaitemata harbour
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
21 - 25 of 254 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

Visited here with my wife a two-year-old in December 2017 for lunch. We ordered the seafood platter for two ($50NZ) and child’s toasted ham-and-pineapple sandwich with chips ($15) along with a beer and a glass of wine. Sitting outside it was nice to get table...More

1  Thank Coompy
Reviewed 24 December 2017

Went to Esplanade for Xmas Breakfast with the family. Unfortunately service and food was terrible,meal took 1.5 hours to arrive. Made to pay before the food which was probably a good move on their part. Broken egg, given crust of the loaf, and pretty sure...More

Thank Matthew M
Response from Front Office M, Manager at The Esplanade HotelResponded 26 December 2017

Many thanks for your review. As advised by the signs outside (very near where you were sitting), we were fully booked Christmas Day for Christmas set menus only. We have been for some months now. We were not accepting customers outside. We didn't organise the...More

Reviewed 21 December 2017

The Esplanade is an older property, but it does have its charm. Our room was clean, the shower was excellent, the bed comfy to go along with a nice view. No complaints here. Can't beat the location and plentiful parking is available. Would certainly stay...More

Thank jimbo889
Response from Front Office M, Manager at The Esplanade HotelResponded 26 December 2017

Many thanks for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. thanks again

Reviewed 7 December 2017

The service was outstanding. We had Devonshire teas and lunch at the Esplanade Hotel on 5 December 2017. The scones were delicious with cream and strawberry jam. Tea was served in bone china cups and saucers and there was plenty for everyone. Lunch was served...More

Thank Bookworm2016
Response from Front Office M, Manager at The Esplanade HotelResponded 15 December 2017

Many thanks for your kind review we at the Esplanade are delighted that you enjoyed your time here.

Reviewed 26 November 2017

The location of this hotel is excellent. Walking distance to cafes and restaurants, and the ferry terminal straight across the road. The harbour view room had lovely views, the bed was super comfortable, and the staff were very helpful.

Thank Jodi N
Response from Front Office M, Owner at The Esplanade HotelResponded 26 December 2017

Many thanks for your kind review. We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay here.

View more reviews
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Room Service
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$ 135 - US$ 225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$ 135 - US$ 225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (128)
Room & Suite (35)
Dining (28)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Tracey M
16 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from DeRiz | Reviewed this property |
There is a bus you can get from the airport to downtown Auckland pier very cheaply - runs 24 hours a day, needs no reservation, fabulous - I have used it, and only 18 NZD. Read about it @ skybus. Then you can take a short... More
1
Vote
Judydub
19 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from Adrienne_sail | Reviewed this property |
Yes it will be fine October can be quite chilly especially in the evening, unlikely you would want a/c at all
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Rooms with a harbor view are nice!"
Read review
"Get a room that faces the rear of the hotel, although the area is generally quiet at night."
Read review
"Rooms with views also have the street noise."
Read review
"Get a room with a view of Auckland."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing