We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Black Spur Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Black Spur Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

79 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 79: English reviews
Start your review of Black Spur Inn
 Click to rate
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Yes - I understand that restaurants (incl. hotels) can charge a surcharge on Public Holidays. Yes - I understand that is due to penalty rates that have to be paid to staff. But to get to the Public Bar and get told that it is an extra 15% AND on top of that, I'm going to get hit with another...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank riteoh
Dianne K, Manager at Black Spur Inn, responded to this review

Dear Riteoh, Many thanks for taking the time to review our business which we appreciate when it is constructive feedback as it allows us to make forward business decisions. I wish to clarify a couple of points you raised in your comments; one there is no credit charge surcharge applied on public holidays as this is absorbed into the public...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On our way to play golf in Marysville so decided to have a counter meal at the Narby Pub, after waiting what seemed like forever our meal arrived chicken parmigiana, what a let down it was dry, hardly any sause, chips were soft not appetizing even to look at, last time we were there the meal was lovely, lets hope...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Woofaandpodge
Dianne K, General Manager at Black Spur Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your meal and also that you did not bring your concerns to our attention at the time of your visit. We take pride in the standard of our meals and would have immediately responded as a matter of priority, to determine and rectify...

Beechworth, Australia
Reviewed 20 February 2017

We are always happy to stay at the Black Spur. Rooms in the Hotel are as you would hope. Even dressing gowns if you are in room 6 or 7 ( shared bathroom). There are many accom options at B.S. Best of all, we know the meals are excellent, and breakfast is included in the room price. Meal prices are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ken D
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 16 January 2017

If anyone is traveling to Healesville it is well worth travelling into the Black Spur, a beautiful drive which is unsurpassed for scenery. The Black Spur Inn is set in bushland. The meals are generous and tasty. Ask for a table with a view .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneCazzie
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 24 December 2016

The staff are all great, and very accommodating - from the owner, to the waiters, bar tenders and cleaners, right through to maintenance people. The facilities are rustic, but very comfortable. The food is excellent, and the chefs take great pride in their work. We stayed for 4 nights, ate breakfast 4 mornings and had 3 dinners at the Inn....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paulhb
Portarlington
Reviewed 18 November 2016

We planned a weekend in the Yarra Valley, based on a 70th birthday in Healesville on Sunday. We tried, without success, to find accommodation in Healesville but no luck. Looking at other options in the area, we lucked upon the Black Spur Inn at Marketing. To use the classic Aussie vernacular, WHAT A BLOODY RIPPER !! The room is palatial...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bigjules53
Dianne K, Manager at Black Spur Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind words which are greatly appreciated and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will ensure that your comments are passed on to our staff. We totally agree that living and operating in rural Victoria has many splendid advantages and we certainly enjoy every day. We hope to welcome again in the...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

We booked 6 rooms as it would have been our dads 100 th birthday, this was his pub all our lives so it was fitting to celebrate here, rooms were awesome and our table at dinner and breakfast was perfect, we sang dad happy birthday in the bar and reminisced the old days, thank you for your hospitality 🙂

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Woofaandpodge
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 23 October 2016

We checked in early due to our golf being washed out. Staff were welcoming, King room toasty and warm on a freezing day. A beautiful dinner with complimentary bubbly for our wedding anniversay, attentive but not over bearing staff. Wagyu Rump and Chicken Parmi both delicious and large serving. I ordered chips as I love chips - they were excellently!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank viv H
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed at the inn after enjoying walk in the cathedral ranges. Room was great and nice dinner and service in the dining room. Only down side was a large group with lots of children running around in one side of the restaurant. Seemed out of character for this location and not quite the quiet getaway hoping for. Nice place though...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lisamc2016
Dianne K, Manager at Black Spur Inn, responded to this review

Hi Lisa, Many thanks for your kind review and comments and are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and meal with us. It is a shame that noisy disruptive children in the restaurant diminished your experience. While we strive to maintain a cosy and relaxing ambience there are some situations that regrettfully we are unable to control. We look...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 7 September 2016

We were a group of 11 for a long lunch in the Restaurant. All the meals were well presented and delicious. We later moved into the Bistro which was kept nice and warm on what was a cool night outside. There was a pool table, dart board and jukebox to keep us entertained. A few of us stayed the night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HAPPYHOLIDAY12315

9 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Narbethong
10.0 km away
Vibe Hotel Marysville
Vibe Hotel Marysville
#1 of 2 in Marysville
1,643 reviews
35.8 km away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
508 reviews
20.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Yarra Valley
BEST WESTERN Yarra Valley
#1 of 3 in Warburton
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.8 km away
Yarra Valley Motel
Yarra Valley Motel
#1 of 2 in Lilydale
127 reviews
1.4 km away
Woodlands Rainforest Retreat
10.0 km away
Marysville Garden Cottages
Marysville Garden Cottages
#1 of 6 in Marysville
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Beautifully appointed and luxurious boutique hotel accommodation offering personal air conditioning, ensuite bathroom with luxury amenities, minibar, large flat screen TV with DVD, free wifi and parking, and access to a relaxing day spa. A la carte restaurant or casual bar dining featuring sumptuous and freshly prepared local produce by a team of highly skilled chefs, offering breakfast, lunch and dinner 7 days per week with log fires, relaxing atmosphere, premium local wines and personal service. Located at the top of the Yarra Valley and just 85kms from the city of Melbourne, set amongst five acres of open gardens surrounded by flowing springs and state forest. Centrally positioned to enjoy the village of Marysville, the natural beauty of Stevenson's Falls, the family friendly snow resort of Lake Mountain cross country skiing or the recreational waterways of Lake Eildon and the Goulburn River. Let us not forget the awe inspiring views from walking the magnificent Cathedral Ranges or riding the Yea Rail Trail or Bicentennial National Trail, all a short drive away when you stay at the Black Spur Inn. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Black Spur Inn

Address: 436 Maroondah Hwy, Narbethong, Victoria 3778, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Narbethong
Price Range: ₹ 8,050 - ₹ 10,471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Black Spur Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Black Spur Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We like rms 6 or 7 even though they share a bathroom. Both are quiet & very comfortable, & look out onto the veranda”
 of 5 bubbles 355kend, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 1 is the best, if you can get it. It is on a corner and has great views.”
 of 5 bubbles paulhb, 23 Dec 2016 | Read review
“No tips; all rooms seem to be well appointed and with nice views.”
 of 5 bubbles TechTraveller, 26 May 2016 | Read review
“we stayed in the Heritage Deluxe room spacious with beautiful bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles frella123, 9 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Breakfast included, great restaurant.”
 of 5 bubbles VivienneH686, 5 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5