We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Bay Horse Inn

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Bay Horse Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

116 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 116: English reviews
Start your review of The Bay Horse Inn
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

wifi only available if you were stood at the bar in the pub, tv / dvd in our room didn't work, landlord said he would replace it the next day, but never did. when we complained...he shrugged his shoulders and smiled. very rude. he is ok at pulling pints but that's all. shower door handle hanging off. damp and musty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stevehsl
TinaBHGH, Guest Relations Manager at The Bay Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review our business. We appreciate the feedback you have given us as we took over the Bay Horse in November 2016. The rooms have all recently been redecorated and we are looking to upgrade all the televisions and Ariel signal to the building in the near future. WIFI is only available in the bar...

Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 April 2017

We have given this 4 stars and would have given 5 only because we feel that some minor improvements need addressing,hopefully this will help The Bay Horse for the future of the running of their B&B which we hope will continue because we would definitely stay here again as the village location was just perfect. John & Tina were very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank markgV9400CT
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 April 2017

Lovely meal at this cosy village pub. Great friendly service from John (Landlord) and good to meet Tina (wife). John makes a great curry, thanks for a welcoming and well priced meal. The rooms are newly decorated and smart. This is a great location for york in a friendly viliage pub

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BeckyIlkley
TinaBHGH, Manager at The Bay Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our business.

West Midlands, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 March 2017

The landlady accused us of keeping the next room up all night - we arrived back at the hotel 30 mins after they apparently checked out - she stole £80 from my account., ended up having to get the police to attend. DO NOT STAY HERE. overpriced, sheets smell and the bathroom has mould in it - vile place, vile...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nic0lagibs0n
TinaBHGH, Manager at The Bay Horse Inn, responded to this review

Hello, Please could you confirm to me your reservation number and date of stay. The Bay Horse Inn was taken over on 1st November 2016 by Mr Jon Clarke and we do not recall any such incident as you have reviewed in December 2016- neither does the oub have a Landlady. We have not had any incidents since taking over...

York
Reviewed 29 March 2017

As a seasoned “Road Warrior” of many years I spend my life travelling the highways of the UK and spend much of my life in McDonalds and Costa Cafes which have their role to play. It means that when I find a gem like the Bay Horse Inn I really appreciate it. I would encourage any business person who find...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan279
TinaBHGH, Manager at The Bay Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our business. We aim to make The Bay Horse Inn welcoming to all.

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2017

The reviews on here reflect the fact that this pub wasn't very good until the new landlord took over in November 2016. He's clearly working hard to improve on what was there and, though improving decor etc will take time, the service, the food and the drinks are now worlds apart from where they used to be. The meals are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank le11975
TinaBHGH, Manager at The Bay Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our business. Your feedback is important to us.

Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 March 2017

Booked this for a weekend for a BDS weekend meeting, on arrival we found a few other members had also book in. The rooms our heated by electric wall heaters in the room & bathroom. As it was March the room felt cold but after the heater was turned on it soon warmed up. The 10 rooms our built on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MickTw
TinaBHGH, Manager at The Bay Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are working on the heaters in the bedrooms as we have recently had all the rooms redecorated. We hope you will return to Green Hammerton in the future.

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 March 2017

Now the A56 by-passes Green Hammerton, it would be easy to forget this lovely village and great pub. The current landlords (John and Tina), I understand, took over in Dec. last year and have set about improving everything. As I hadn't set foot in Green Hammerton for a long time, I can't comment on how the pub was previously. What...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jktraveller73
TinaBHGH, Manager at The Bay Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our business.

Luton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

We found this establishment by chance and what a fabulous find.We have just eaten an excellent dinner and the staff are so friendly.First class service.The dessert of sticky toffee pudding was to die for.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Theresa P
TinaBHGH, General Manager at The Bay Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our business.

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2017

This is a lovely looking pub, and the staff friendly, so all the indications were positive. The menu choices were pretty much the normal range - though £6.50 for a sandwich with chips and salad perhaps being at the top end. However, two slices of ordinary brown bread and a scattering of grated cheese doesn't really fit the bill these...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
TinaBHGH, Manager at The Bay Horse Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry that you found the food disappointing on this occasion.

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Green Hammerton
5.6 km away
The Bridge Hotel and Spa
7.9 km away
Days Inn Wetherby
Days Inn Wetherby
#1 of 3 in Wetherby
1,790 reviews
11.8 km away
Best Western Crown Hotel
Best Western Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boroughbridge
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
11.1 km away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
15.0 km away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about The Bay Horse Inn

Address: York Road, Green Hammerton YO26 8BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Green Hammerton
Price Range: ₹ 6,204 - ₹ 6,721 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bay Horse Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Bay Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bay Horse Hotel Green Hammerton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Bay Horse Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“dont visit here”
Stevehsl, 15 May 2017 | Read review
“HAd a look round the newly decorated rooms. A great stopover near York”
BeckyIlkley, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“there isn't a good room especially if you get charged double to price”
nic0lagibs0n, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms 1 - 5 can hear the extractor fan during opening times for the kitchen”
MickTw, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“all rooms have very good accsess,”
julieroach2015, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
TripAdvisor
* /night
View Deal
Travelocity
Priceline
Expedia.com
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates