We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Whyte Harte Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Whyte Harte Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

150 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 149: English reviews
Start your review of Whyte Harte Hotel
 Click to rate
Horsham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

As with previous reviews this will follow a pattern. We were courteously shown to our room, by a lovely member staff. The room itself was very tired looking. The building itself is beautiful and the RSJ in the corner of the room was understandable due to the age of it. The toilet seat was chipped and loose and this would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gullible D
Redhill, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

Lovely old pub and the service today was good. However the menu is limited if you have special dietary requirements. This was fine today as it was a quick lunch and chat with friends. However, if it was a special evening meal it might be best to phone the restaurant in advance to check what is available.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie_LewSS
wales
Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

On arrival I was checked in promptly and told my room was number 5. At the top of the stairs there was a terrible smell of poo. On inspection of my room it was a single small room with tatty furnishings and a grubby carpet. When I went into the bathroom and examined the shower it was terrible. I went...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hellen73
Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

Lovely breakfast with lovely staff.... very engaging with our 9 month old a lovely and very relaxed experience. Only downside was no baby changing facilities however toilets were very clean and i could change her on the carpeted floor. Nice relaxed atmosphere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sonia J
Reviewed 21 February 2017

Tried this place for Sunday lunch. Decor is pleasant and the staff are very friendly but seem to lack training in 'service'. Glasses on the table were dirty. The real disappointment was the food. The presentation was very good but down hill from there I'm afraid. Pork belly was simply inedible. Very tough, with chewy 'crackling', Roast beef which we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YRallthenamestaken
Whyte-Harte-Hotel, General Manager at Whyte Harte Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our establishment and I apologise that you did not feel that your meal was up to the standards that we always aim for. We have since your visit updated our full menu and re-organised the way that we provide our service. As such I would like to invite you to come back...

Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

Over all this is a cracking little hotel. On the positive side the staff are very friendly, the breakfast is tasty and big, the pub is relaxing and has atmosphere, the bed is very comfortable and the rooms are clean. Also, at one or the lowest prices in the area, it's great value. On the negative side, the corridors and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cprior26
Whyte-Harte-Hotel, General Manager at Whyte Harte Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and give us some feedback on here and hope that we will see you again soon. Also we are gearing up to tidy up the upstairs as soon as we can so hopefully when we see you again you'll notice a difference there as well!

Kemerton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

We had to stay locally for a family party and chose the Whyte Harte. I'd lived locally before so knew it to be an old fashioned place but what we found was quite disappointing. We asked for a room away from the main A25 and were politely shown to room 4. Passing through an upstairs lobby with an appalling smell...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GrahamStradling
Whyte-Harte-Hotel, General Manager at Whyte Harte Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, We apologise that you were disappointed with your recent stay. There are some refurbishment works going on at the moment and that room is being looked at. Upkeep is constant in the hotel and we are very sorry that these problems were missed before your room was let out to you. However as a sign of good faith and...

Redhill, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 December 2016

What a missed opportunity in this lovely setting, that the most important meal of the year was appalling. We were kept waiting for nearly an hour for our pre-booked table. Despite the best endeavours of the lovely waitresses there was no supervision. The meal was thrown on the plate with no separate vegetables and covered in glutinous salty gravy. One...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank teamaria2017
Whyte-Harte-Hotel, General Manager at Whyte Harte Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, I would like to take the opportunity to apologise for your experience on this particular trip to the Whyte Harte Hotel. We take great pride in the entire experience that we offer and are disappointed to see that you did not receive the best experience that you could or should have done, especially as you say on this most...

East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 December 2016

Beautiful place lovely food the hotel felt a little unloved in its paint work and lack of mirrors and plugs we had a twin room that was small and with a good shower but just looked like it needed a new paint work . Female staff were all very friendly. Location was good and village was pretty . Very old...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank blueeyes971
Whyte-Harte-Hotel, General Manager at Whyte Harte Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feed back for us. We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us! We are currently undergoing a little rejuvenation and giving the hotel the love it deserves so hopefully you will be able to see this the next time you stay with us. Many thanks.

Rawtenstall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 December 2016

I stayed at The Whyte Harte for 5 nights, and it wasn't the best experience (but wasn't the worst). I would highly recommend the food - it really was quality food and quite affordable. I ate here almost every night and every morning, the food never failed to please. Unfortunately, the accommodation requires some improvements. I didn't sleep once throughout...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sjconnolly

18 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bletchingley
3.0 km away
Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa
6.1 km away
Premier Inn Redhill Reigate Hotel
7.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Reigate Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Reigate
312 reviews
7.5 km away
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
10.3 km away
Days Inn Sevenoaks Clacket Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Whyte Harte Hotel

Address: 11-21 High Street, Bletchingley RH1 4PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Bletchingley
Price Range: ₹ 3,983 - ₹ 7,131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Whyte Harte Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Book Direct Rooms, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Whyte Harte Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Whyte Harte Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Whyte Harte Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“2 room in the old hotel room”
juliew697, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Choose the dearer double options for space”
JanetB047, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 7 facing the church across the main road ok. Marginal traffic noise. Rooms 1 and 4 twin beds, very small.”
philh350, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Wifi only in bar,”
Sausage19, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask if they have decorated.”
timhubbard1, 8 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5