Whyte Harte Hotel

Whyte Harte Hotel

Traveller (40)
A View of the Restaurant
Dining (13)
Bathroom (7)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#1 of 1 small hotel in Bletchingley
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
We Would Like To Welcome You To The Whyte Harte Hotel, We Pride Ourselves On Your Comfort. So Please Let Us Know There Is Anything We Can Do To Make Your Stay A Truly Relaxing And Enjoyable Experience. Our Story – Since The Reign Of Richard Ii The Whyte Harte Has Orrder Travellers Fine Dining, Rich Real Ales And A Comfortable Place To Rest Their Head. Situated In The Beautifully Historic Village Of Bletchingley, The Hotel Is One Of The Remaining Medieval Inns In Britain. Many Of The Original Features Of The Old Building Are Still Visible Today, Including The Large Wooden Beams, Likely To Have Come From The 1300’s And The Fire Grate Which Dates Back To 1613. We Are A Stones Throw Away From The M25 Junction 6, Convenient For Gatwick Airport, Heathrow Airport And Days Out To The Seaside Town Of Brighton. Alternatively, Why Not Stay Local And Enjoy A Round Of Golf At Bletchingley Golf Club Just A Short Walk Away. Gatwick Airport Is 13.2 Miles And 20 Mins Drive Heathrow Airport 34.6 Miles
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Public wifi
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Room features
Desk
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Charming
Languages Spoken
English

Location

11-21 High Street, Bletchingley RH1 4PB England
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 50 out of 100
50
Heathrow Airport
35.6 km
See all flights
Gatwick Airport
11.4 km
See all flights
194Reviews2Q+A33Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 59
  • 52
  • 36
  • 21
  • 26
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
annanddaveWestSussex wrote a review Jan 2014
west sussex
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Just returned from a nights stay at the Whyte Hart. We went to a function nearby but spent quite a bit of time here before and after. We paid fifty pounds for the accomodation whch included a full(and I mean full)english breakfast.

After we checked in we went to the bar which was quite busy and the service was a bit slow but we were in no hurry. Bar prices were a bit high but choices were good. As we were expecting to eat at the function we decided to just choose from the starters. The food was superb and beautifully presented, again not cheap but you get what you pay for.

There was nothing wrong with the accomodation but it is worth remembering the age of the building(16th century I believe). The room was warm, the bed was really comfortable. The only complaints we had was lack of wardrobe space and the room was poorly lit. But we both slept well.

The crowning glory was the breakfast and the service that went with it it was worth staying there just for this,

All in all a pleasant experience!!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2014
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: As for a well lit room with plenty of wardrobe space.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Matthew Vernon wrote a review May 2017
Cambridge, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This is an old coaching inn, with all the slightly uneven floors and low beams you'd expect. Our room was a good size, with a comfortable bed. The bathroom was a bit tired-looking, and the water pressure a bit variable, but everything worked, and the shower was actually pretty good. Breakfast was good (if not excellent), and the wifi worked.

The down-sides were that our room was quite noisy - I think there was something odd going on acoustically, as it wasn't too loud in the corridor outside our room. I found I could sleep through the noise reasonably well. Also, the shower screen was one of those small fixed ones that mean you can't really shower without covering the bathroom floor in water.

It was, however, very good value for its location.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2017
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
sjconnolly wrote a review Dec 2016
Rawtenstall, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at The Whyte Harte for 5 nights, and it wasn't the best experience (but wasn't the worst).

I would highly recommend the food - it really was quality food and quite affordable. I ate here almost every night and every morning, the food never failed to please.

Unfortunately, the accommodation requires some improvements. I didn't sleep once throughout my stay - the duvet was too small for the bed, the pillows were too firm (needed replacing) and the bedroom was cold. I did ask for another pillow, but was told that they don't have any spare pillows. I would say that the bedrooms/bathrooms require a good deep clean and also renovating - it should be renovated, but in keeping with the character (which is only present downstairs in the restaurant/pub area).

I found all of the staff to be very pleasant - all very friendly.

Overall, I wouldn't stay here again unless improvements are made.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2016
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dan wrote a review Apr 2024
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Recently been refurbished and you can see spent a lot of Money and totally different place to what was. Great choice of drinks and the food spot on. 👌. Friendly staff and the outside space front and back great place to socialise with friends especially when the Suns out. Will be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MargMountford wrote a review Jun 2018
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked this hotel as we were visiting our son for a two night break. We had our small westie with us as we do wherever we stay on our travels. on arrival we were greeted by a lovely young girl and after signing in we were given the keys to room 2. The stairs and landing leading to the room looked tired & well worn but that was nothing compared to the state of the room. The wallpaper was hanging off, the paint work was scuffed and chipped and the curtains were hanging off . The inside of the wardrobe was grim the shower door was black and dreadful, the headboard was propped up on cushions and there was a great big lump of a chip in the toilet seat. It was the absolute pitts. I thought we had been given this room because we had our dog with us and had it not been for our dog being with us we would have walked out. Please do not book a stay at this hotel it is a dump.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don't go, book somewhere else
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gerbra001 wrote a review Oct 2013
London, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is our third stay at this dog friendly hotel. The service is excellent - friendly and welcoming. The rooms are spotlessly clean, comfortable and full of character. Their food is superb! Both dinner and breakfast were bursting with flavour, cooked perfectly and chosen from a well thought out menu. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this pub B&B! Highly recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2013
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Heritage rooms are bigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
arkadina58 wrote a review May 2011
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I stayed for one night on 30th April 2011 in their Heritage 2 room as we were going to a birthday party in the area. The Whyte Hart is everything you'd want in a country pub/hotel - and then some more. Nothing was too much trouble, the food was excellent, the bed comfortable and the shower like standing under a warm waterfall. My American husband was suitably impressed!

Unlike so many independent British hotels, the owners seem genuinely pleased to see you and go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need.

Watch your head if you're tall! The original building dates from 1388 and the height of the interior beams reflects that. One tiny quibble: no sweetener on the premises for my diabetic husband, but soon remedied by a short walk to the local shop.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2011
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Go683887 wrote a review Dec 2018
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed in room 2 for 2 nights, what an absolute dump. The corridor was bad enough but the room was disgusting. The first thing that hits you on opening the door is the overwhelming smell of damp. The handle to flush the toilet was falling out, the wallpaper was peeling away from the walls, it looked like the ceiling was in danger of falling in and it looked like it was being held up by a big metal pole. There were cobwebs everywhere and behind the headboard, there were 2 old pillows, I'm guessing they were there to stop the headboard from banging against the wall!
Needless to say, never again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
teamaria2017 wrote a review Dec 2016
Redhill, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
What a missed opportunity in this lovely setting, that the most important meal of the year was appalling. We were kept waiting for nearly an hour for our pre-booked table. Despite the best endeavours of the lovely waitresses there was no supervision. The meal was thrown on the plate with no separate vegetables and covered in glutinous salty gravy. One item on the beef dish was unrecognisable, perhaps a flat dumpling? The roast potatoes were grey and soggy and were the sprouts meant to be black?No crackers were provided until we requested them. The Christmas pudding was presented as a slab. Starters and cheese were acceptable but no coffee was offered despite being on our printed menu. We were asked to leave at 5.15pm even though we were not the cause of the late running meal. Complaining would have ruined our day further. We will not be returning!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2016
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Whyte-Harte-Hotel, General Manager at Whyte Harte Hotel
Responded 9 Jan 2017
Hi, I would like to take the opportunity to apologise for your experience on this particular trip to the Whyte Harte Hotel. We take great pride in the entire experience that we offer and are disappointed to see that you did not receive the best experience that you could or should have done, especially as you say on this most important of days. Although we can only apologise for the experience that you had on this particular occasion, we would like to invite you to return to us and would like you to have a free meal for 4 on us. We hope that you will be able to see that this event, as unfortunate as it was, was only a one off. We thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback for us and we will always endeavour to make everyone's stay with us as pleasant as we can.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Review207 wrote a review Oct 2014
London
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Very poor food, I can not imagine what has happened this was a great pub that I have eaten in on a regular basis, the service was poor and totally under staffed.
Everything seemed cheap and tasteless, we all left our food it was not great at all.
With a heavy Herat we are not going back, I recommend to all not to either a real waste of money such a shame
Read more
Date of stay: October 2014
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don't go
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from haribo66, Manager at Whyte Harte Hotel
Responded 23 Oct 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your visit on this occasion. We do pride ourselves on our service and quality of all our freshly cooked food but on this occasion we must have fell short. In order to restore your faith in The Whyte Harte please contact me direct on 01883743231 or at info@whytehartehotelbletchingley.co.uk I look forward to hearing from you soon, Simon
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Murzi M asked a question Aug 2017
Croydon, United Kingdom21 contributions4 helpful votes
Can you come in and buy breakfast even if you are not a hotel guest? If so, from what time?
Answer from Debbie_LewSS
Redhill, United Kingdom139 contributions32 helpful votes
Not sure - but it's worth ringing them to check as it is now a little while since I was last there.
Answer from Whyte-Harte-Hotel
Bletchingley
Hi, We are pet friendly and dogs are allowed in the hotel rooms as well as the bar. If you wish to book please give me a ring on 01883743231 regards Simon Unfortunately I dont know anywhere local you can leave your dog during the day.
Christine M wrote a tip Aug 2019
Northampton, United Kingdom15 contributions6 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"book else where"
Read full review
mandyjane1969 wrote a tip Sept 2018
Warrington, United Kingdom10 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Not sure if there is any"
Read full review
MargMountford wrote a tip Jun 2018
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom23 contributions8 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't go, book somewhere else"
Read full review
Alsacienne wrote a tip May 2018
Alsace, France5,269 contributions135 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a portable heater if your room is cold! Breakfast is only served from 8.30 am at weekends."
Read full review
clivec186387 wrote a tip Aug 2017
Woodbridge, United Kingdom155 contributions75 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The Hotel fronts on the A25. Rooms at the back are quieter"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Bletchingley area.
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandSurreyBletchingley
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

WHYTE HARTE HOTEL (Bletchingley) - Hotel Reviews & Photos - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Whyte Harte Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Whyte Harte Hotel?
Nearby attractions include GO Paintball London (6.6 km), Priory Park (7.3 km), and Godstone Farm & Play Barn (2.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Whyte Harte Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Whyte Harte Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Whyte Harte Hotel?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Whyte Harte Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Everest Spice, Lamingtons, and The Old Bell.
Is Whyte Harte Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 km away from the centre of Bletchingley.
Are pets allowed at Whyte Harte Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Whyte Harte Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Old Town Hall (7.6 km).
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire