We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Via Giovanni Pascoli Barga, 55051 Castelvecchio Pascoli Italy
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Renaissance Hotels
Traveluro
Orbitz.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1208)
Room & Suite (423)
Dining (125)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Updated 29/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa
Updated 29/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Discover a blend of Italian elegance and refined comfort at Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa. Situated on 1,700 acres in the heart of the Serchio Valley, our luxury Tuscany hotel in Barga, Italy offers the perfect destination for your Italian getaway. Enjoy ideal access to charming and historic attractions including Pisa.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Wifi
Paid wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Kids club
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Massage
Steam room
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Concierge
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, Italian
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
1506Reviews98Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 865
  • 411
  • 122
  • 63
  • 45
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
AnnieMac wrote a review Jun 2022
Edinburgh, United Kingdom3223 contributions840 helpful votes
Reception check in was very good, recognition of MB status & upgrade given Room was wonderful, great balcony overlooking the valley & the helipad! Huge comfy bed, nice walk-in shower, cool fridge, Wi-Fi that worked, decent air con Pool was good with plenty of beds & water was warm enough to go in! Day 2 we couldn’t use it tho as the bugs were out in force due to very hot temperatures. The thorough cleaning of the pool & beds was a pleasure to watch, wow what a job they made Nice friendly staff throughout Breakfasts were superb Free parking Room service burger wasn’t that good. Dinner in the restaurant was nice enough for 1 night. Unless you drive there’s nowhere else to eat tho Stunning restaurant terrace views over the valley Overall it was a very nice stay & the remote location is interesting. There are prettier areas of Tuscany to visit.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Terry Manuel wrote a review Jun 2022
6 contributions
We stayed here June 10th - 12th, 2022. Our guest relations person was Roxianna. She was fabulous! An asset to your organization! She was very friendly and eager to help. We also loved her sense of humor and ability to connect with guests. Much thanks for making our experience excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Pam M wrote a review Jun 2022
Canada83 contributions99 helpful votes
I have been staying at Il Ciocco for conferences since 2006. The hotel has improved immensely since that time. The disadvantage of this location is that you are stuck on the mountain with no way of leaving if you do not have a car. The venue could improve if they provided shuttles into Barga and Barga Train station. these shuttles could leave and return three times a day.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Nickpat wrote a review Jun 2022
London, United Kingdom23 contributions20 helpful votes
Stayed at the hotel for 4 days as part of a wedding at the resort. Very impressed by the hotel. The hotel is set up high, with absolutely stunning views of the Lucca countryside. Would come back solely for this reason. The hotel has a lot of character yet the rooms are modern and high end. Best of both worlds. Breakfast buffet was okay, should have been a bit better for a hotel of this quality, not enough variety. Great service from all the staff we encountered at the resort.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Michael wrote a review Jun 2022
Southport, United Kingdom19 contributions7 helpful votes
Horrendously noisy. Beautiful location, large deluxe suit room BUT 2 day wedding that took over the hotel including a huge amount of noise from the auditorium until 2am which was so loud it vibrated the windows in our room. Complaints were made and we were simply offered to move rooms to the rear of the hotel. If there's a wedding on then expect the hotel to be noisy and half of the amenities to be unavailable. Unacceptable. For proof see the hotels Instagram page. Like staying above a bar in Benidorm.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid conferences and weddings. Stay above the Red Lion in Benidorm for 200 quid less a night.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from MARIA CRISTINA DA COSTA, Guest Services / Front Office at Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear michaelwolst, Your feedback is of great value to us, as it helps us pinpoint the areas that need our attention in order to guarantee our guests complete satisfaction. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused by the wedding celebrations. Once again thank you very much for having chosen the Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa, we look forward to your return. Warm regards, Cristina Da Costa Room Division Manger
Read more
WildlifeWatcher90 wrote a review May 2022
Leeds, United Kingdom210 contributions96 helpful votes
We were booked here by a travel company for 7 days and the reviews were good. First night (Saturday) was fine, hotel was quiet, restaurant was good. By Monday hotel was full of conferences attendees. Breakfast buffet was hopeless. There were allocated places on terrace for hotel guests but conference attendees ignored the barriers. Evening meals for hotel guests were served in the bar as restaurant fully occupied by conference. Clearly this hotel is one of three in Europe with a contract with Gordon Research Conferences for conferences run throughout the season (see their website) Room was very good (as expected), staff were all very nice and did their best but do not go here for a normal hotel experience. Also, when we arrived we were impressed by the wildflowers meadows under olives at side of long road from entrance up to hotel. We saw orchids. On Monday strimmed bare - orchids dead. So much for environmental credentials. Although guests were asked to wear facemasks many didn't (presumably reflecting international attendees).
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from MARIA CRISTINA DA COSTA, Guest Services / Front Office at Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa
Responded 25 May 2022
Dear WildlifeWatcher90, Before anything else, thank you for your compliments to all members of our Team. We strive to provide our guests with the warmest hospitality and most efficient service, so this is fantastic to hear! Your compliments are not only rewarding but also encouraging. Your feedback is of great value to us, as it helps us pinpoint the areas that need our attention in order to guarantee our guests complete satisfaction. Your feedback is of great value to us, as it helps us pinpoint the areas that need our attention in order to guarantee our guests complete satisfaction. Please accept our sincere apologies if your stay was not completely satisfying. Once again thank you very much for having chosen The Renaissance Tuscany il Ciocco Resort & Spa, we look forward to your return. Warm regards, Cristina Da Costa Room Division Manager
Read more
Rema A wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
If you are thinking about booking a massage at the spa, I would reconsider. Over priced and did a terrible job. I paid 140 euro for a terrible experience. Very disappointed with the service and would not recommend. I selected the European massage for 80 min. I asked for intermediate pressure. I got zero pressure. I was basically tickled for 60 min. Then for the last 20 min she ran out of things to do and played with my hair. So I walked out with greasy hair and no massage. It was so frustrating I wanted to walk out of the massage 20 min in.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from MARIA CRISTINA DA COSTA, Guest Services / Front Office at Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa
Responded 11 May 2022
Dear Rema21196, We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and please accept our most sincere apologies in the disappointing experience that seems you had received. Your feedback is of great value to us, as it helps us pinpoint the areas that need our attention in order to guarantee our guests complete satisfaction. There is nothing more important to us than the complete satisfaction of our guests, and we will be working hard to achieve it. Once again thank you very much for having chosen The renaissance Tuscany il Ciocco Resort & Spa, we look forward to your return. Warm regards, Cristina Da Costa Room Division Manager
Read more
Adrian M wrote a review May 2022
3 contributions
Our rooms were a very long way from the lobby with the need to use two different lifts and navigate poorly signed corridors. The lifts are so small they are restricted to four people but effectively that means only two people with luggage. The rooms were small, quite dark and in need of refurbishment. Breakfast service was slow and chaotic.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from MARIA CRISTINA DA COSTA, Guest Services / Front Office at Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa
Responded 6 May 2022
Dear X5756NHadrianm, Thank you for sharing the details of your experience and we apologize for not meeting your expectations. You may feel assured that we take notes from your observations, in order to provide all of you with unforgettable experiences; we hope you could give us another opportunity to host you at our resort and you could really experience our facilities and service that all our customers deserve. Warm Regards, Cristina Da Costa Room Division Manger
Read more
Daoda2 wrote a review Apr 2022
London, United Kingdom183 contributions179 helpful votes
To start on a positive note, the staff at the hotel was very friendly. Unfortunately the hotel was very poorly managed as if it had just opened, which is certainly not the case as in fact it is quite dated. I called in the afternoon to see if a reservation was necessary for the restaurant and was told it was fully booked until 9:30 p.m. If you have a hotel like this one, that is on top of a hill and 20 minutes from town, one of the most important things has got to be able to feed all your guests (and I don't even think the hotel was full). When I checked in, I was told there were no other dining options except room service, so essentially I had to pay a premium simply because the hotel was poorly managed. I get to the room and then am unable to find a room service menu. Three calls and 15 minutes later the menu finally arrives. To top off the whole fiasco, the food was quite bad. I only ate half of it and that only because I was starving at this point. The room itself and the bed were fine, nice location (though better in the summer than spring I think). Would not return, however.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Eat elsewhere
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from MARIA CRISTINA DA COSTA, Guest Services / Front Office at Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa
Responded 29 Apr 2022
Dear Mr. Daoda2, First of all let us thank you for choosing the Renaissance Tuscany during your visit to our valley. It’s always a great pleasure for us to have you as our guest. We would also like to especially thank you for taking your time to share your comments on the hotel as they are really valuable for us; they help us to maintain and improve the service standards of the hotel and show us how we can do better. We are very sorry to hear that you have experienced inconveniences while staying in the hotel. We always try to provide each guest with excellent service, and unfortunately, we appeared not to have achieved this with you in terms of quality of service and food. We will make sure to forward your comments to the F&B manager l so we can take action to resolve the issues you mentioned. Once again, thank you for staying with us. We are always looking forward to welcoming you again to the Renaissance Tuscany! Sincerely, Cristina Da Costa Room Division Manager
Read more
Hadley wrote a review Nov 2021
Heidelberg, Germany283 contributions152 helpful votes
This is a really lovely resort high in the mountains overlooking a Tuscan valley. Lots of old world charm. To get into the building you stop at the sensor (tablet) mounted outside. It has to scan you and see that your nose and mouth are both covered and you do not have a fever and then the automatic door will open (other local places do the same, including the grocery store). We were upgraded to a lovely suite with a corner room and balconies on both sides. Our room had a mini fridge and a soaking tub with shower, a pull out sofa in its own little living room and a very large bedroom with a comfortable bed. Staff were mostly very friendly and professional. Breakfast was delcious and included a freshly made smoothie each morning as well as a selection of sweet and savory breads/pastries, hot dishes, yogurts, fresh fruit and cereal. The indoor pool was open and very relaxing. There are only two 90 minute time slots per day that kids can use the area, meaning it is nice and quiet otherwise. The teranium is closed due to covid and of course nothing out of doors is open in November. The shops on site were also closed this time of year. There is an ice machine on the fourth floor. The free parking is free, but not at all gaurded or particularly nice. We arrived after dark (around 6:00 pm) and when we asekd where to park were told "the upper lot or lower, whatver you like) but when asking where those were told to "just look". This was the one odd customer service moment...it was so dark and not really clear to us where we were allowed, but we just made a guess that night. Currently there is a barrier blocking access to the normal area to leave the car during check in, meaning you have to drag luggage futher on a very rough surface. Not a huge deal, but not very luxurious either, espeically when you arrive while it is raining. There were some nice touches in the room, including a loofa and mineral salts for the soaking tub. The shower panel was not big enough to cover more than a third of the tub and water went all over the bathroom no matter how hard you tried when showering. And the water pressure was quite low. In our room the thermostat did not work....no matter what we adjusted the temperature to it would heat to 24 (way too hot for us). We wound up turnign it off ocmpletely most of the time. The hotel is located on a priave road with a gaurd at the base. We have a high end intergrated navigational system which was updated less than six months ago, but it sent us on terrible back roads trying to get to the back of the property presumably to avoid this priovate road... so like many others we found finding the hotel to be a bit of an issue. Thankfully Google maps DOES take you the correct way, I would reocmend just following that. It would be really nice if the hotel put a warning online or in their confirmation email and told people that if you do not come to a gaurd shack right after turning off the main road that you are not going the correct way. Reading reviews it seems this a big problem There is a 17 euro per night resort fee. I can't fault the hotel, they are very up front about this when booking, etc...though I have to say with some indoor servies closed and all ourdoor being closed for winter it seems a bit much to still charge the full fee.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$208 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
il ciocco hotel, il ciocco barga
LOCATION
ItalyTuscanyProvince of LuccaCastelvecchio Pascoli
NUMBER OF ROOMS
180
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa?
Nearby attractions include La Cantina del Vino (1.7 km), Duomo di San Cristoforo (2.3 km), and Eremo Di Calomini (3.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pasticceria Fratelli Lucchesi, Theobroma - Capolavori di Dolcezza, and Scacciaguai.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Italian.