We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Avalon Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Avalon Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

173 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Avalon Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 167: English reviews
Scotts Valley, California
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We stayed at Avalon at the end of November with our two Goldens, and it was a great choice. The lodge is walking distance to Heavenly Village's restaurants and shops, and has a nice area behind the hotel for the dogs to run around. The room was very clean, the bed was comfortable, and the fireplace does a great job...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank aurorasd
CleHospitality, Owner at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. Over the past month we have focused on adding even more amenities to our property for you to enjoy during your next stay, including our expanded Market Café with increased breakfast seating and a new bar, an outdoor fire pit and more! We hope to see you soon.

Vacaville, California
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We loved that this hotel was pet friendly! They supplied treats, blanket, towel, and a ball for our dog. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortably filled with plenty of pillows and blankets. We loved that it was in walking distance to Heavenly Village and many eateries.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LRV911
Sacramento, California
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We enjoyed our stay, despite the fact that they had given away all the king size bed rooms on the lower floor. I have a back injury and can't take our pets up and down stairs. We were given two queens in a nicely appointed room. An hour or so later, the manager knocked, and asked if we would be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mystralle
Davis, California
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed this past weekend at the Avalon Lodge. This a pet friendly lodge and we were worried about the room but, we were very surprised to find the room was very clean and there were no smell of dogs. The beds were very comfortable and there were plenty of pillows and extra blankets for each bed. Our room had...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank iamhappy2cu
Concord, California
Reviewed 2 October 2013

My wife and I and our 5month old enjoyed our weekend getaway at Avalon Lodge South Lake Tahoe. We don't have a dog so we were a bit worried about the room but, were pleasantly surprised to find a beautiful clean room without any evidence or smell of dog at all. Location is great we could walk to the casino,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anthony F
Katy D, Owner at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review

It was wonderful having your family stay with us. Thank you for your kind words and review. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed in SLT and Gardnerville at their sister property. Both were great service and fabulously decorated. The owners care - and we will recommend it to everyone! Breakfast was great, too!! Merci to Jasen and Anne

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chef P
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Old and stinky room. Rude staff asking for additional money after check in for even babies 1. Never will stay here again and will consider a franchise option than mom n pop type of hotel like this. Breakfast is nearly non existing and the heater never worked which made all of us sick.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Familyfirstforme
Katy D, Owner at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review

At the Avalon Lodge, we do charge for all additional people over double occupancy in our rooms. Additionally, we have a maximum occupancy of 3 people of any age in a room. These policies were put in place based on guest feedback and to provide a quiet and private retreat for our guests. Due to your upset nature, we made...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I would call my experience with the Avalon Lodge the best hotel experience I have had yet. The staff is excellent and the rooms are very comfortable and nice. When we arrived at the airport we realized we were going to be vary late coming in so we called the hotel to let them know and they were very understanding...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elbell23
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I did a lot of shopping around for a good deal for a 3 night stay midweek near the casinos, This place like it was a great deal- so I took a chance and made reservations, The room as very nicely appointed, and we were very happy to see the microwave and mini fridge, The bathroom is very nice, with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank queuepon
Pacific Palisades, California, United States
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I stayed at this hotel in July. The location is great. It is walking distance from the casinos and a private beach. The staff is welcoming. There is free sangria at 4:00 every day and a nice continental breakfast of oatmeal, fruit, juice, coffee, yogurt. The room was a little dark for me but the beds were comfy. The pictures...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lily R
Katy D, Owner at Avalon Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and feedback. Just this week we have added additional lighting to all downstairs rooms and will be adding additional lighting to the upstairs rooms this fall. While we typically do not need air conditioning in Tahoe, there are a few weeks which can be hot, especially this year with record heat. We are looking...

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
2.2 km away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
817 reviews
0.1 km away
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
#30 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
200 reviews
0.2 km away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#34 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
246 reviews
0.1 km away
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club
#19 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
1,066 reviews
0.1 km away
Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe
Big Pines Mountain House of Taho...
#25 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Escape to a mountain retreat that’s just steps away from South Lake Tahoe’s beaches, Heavenly gondola, and world-famous dining, shopping, recreation, and entertainment. The Avalon Lodge will pamper you with the best beds in Tahoe, luxurious linens, flat screen TVs, in-room fireplaces, gourmet coffee, and spa-quality essentials. You’ll also enjoy fresh continental breakfasts, Free WiFi, Lakeside Beach access and Jacuzzi. We provide activity equipment for your stay - bikes, kayaks and snowshoes. Pets are welcome, too! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Avalon Lodge

Address: 4075 Manzanita Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6919
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: ₹ 6,441 - ₹ 16,439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avalon Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Avalon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Avalon Hotel Lake Tahoe
Avalon Motel Lake Tahoe
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Avalon Lodge staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Beaverton, Oregon, United States
over a year ago
9 months ago
Arundel, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Avalon Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“quiet place, spacious, comfy rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles 753melb, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“don't stay here”
 of 5 bubbles RonnSF, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“DO NOT BOOK THIS MOTEL. There are many other places in the area, for a better price, and better conditions.”
 of 5 bubbles 267fatosm, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Find a different hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles 646jackiea, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
“if possible, stay away from Fri - Sunday. Tahoe in general is a zoo.”
 of 5 bubbles twogordons, 24 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5