We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Gayana Eco Resort

Preferred HotelsUS$ 243*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 361*
US$ 243*
US$ 348*
US$ 361*
US$ 243*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Professional photos
Gayana Eco Resort
Gayana Eco Resort
Panoramas (17)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

444 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Gayana Eco Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 360: English reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Employee dishonesty, leaving the stolen chocolate, and most importantly we have not left the hotel, polluted water, a lot of rubbish, but did not follow up on the complaint until we leave. no Staff to clean the rubbish . Overall feeling bad, HK $ 4000 a night. Worth it ? after returning to Hong Kong. Wrote a letter of complaint...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tigimilk
TomasAndersen, General Manager at Gayana Eco Resort, responded to this review

Dear Tigimilk, We would like to express our sincere apologies to you for the inconvenience experienced while staying at Gayana Eco Resort back in May 2013 (12 months ago). You will be pleased to know that we have now renovated 80% of all our rooms and upgraded the walkways. more soft furnishing upgrades are earmarked for the next few months....

Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Pros: friendly staff everywhere. They are excellent! Decent restaurants. Spacious room. Nice place to relax. A dessert for 2 pax to celebrate my birthday . Cons: The electricity suddenly runs out in the mid night. My mum was so scared and we called number 0 to the guest service assistant but the phone wasnt put through or nobody answer the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank locsyk
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

First of all, if you have much concerns of the water quality (actually, mainly falling leaves, twigs, occasionally food packages near the pillars of the water Bungalow) in the water, don't go! since the water condition really depends on the weather, and the Bangalore were constructed along the mangrove, it is completely natural and make sense to found some trash...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pukpukstay
Newbury, New Hampshire
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I am posting this review since I have been unable to get a response from the owner or management. I am from the state of New Hampshire in the United States. My son and his wife live in Taiwan where they are both teachers. My wife and I recently visited Sabah with them in early February 2014. It was our...

 Report
Helpful?
12Thank SunapeeSam
TomasAndersen, General Manager at Gayana Eco Resort, responded to this review

Dear SunapeeSam, Thank you so much for highlighting the flaws of your stay back in early February, I agree the water was less than attractive during this particular time. I also did read in our reports that we had an issue with our grey water pumps in the phase of rooms you were staying in, hence the smell from the...

Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

This place is unbelievable! Total luxury, with gorgeous surroundings. Everything has been thought about. Waking each morning to your breakfast being delivered by boat to your balcony is special. The staff are so helpful and thoughtful and nothing is to much bother. Before you go you have to remember that Borneo is not the most developed of locations, but this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank P100plr
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Where do I begin ... Arriving on the island my heart sank - the resort looks old and dated, but the worst thing was the brown dirty water and the amount of rubbish floating around the villas and on the beach. It was disgusting and I had decided there and then before I'd even got off the boat that there...

 Report
Helpful?
16Thank PinniTravels
TomasAndersen, General Manager at Gayana Eco Resort, responded to this review

Dear Pinni Travels, I am so sorry for the fact that you were not given the care nor attention you deserved when you stayed back in February. I agree we have had some communication issues but these have thankfully been rectified. I don't want to pass blame elsewhere, certain things such as sea condition and weather we cannot control. However,...

Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This research centre for the conservation of giant clams and corals is located within the resort. The work done to propagate the corals and giant clams is interesting. Its a small centre and would take only an hour to view the video and exhibits.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ibnibatutta
Whyalla, Australia
Reviewed 12 February 2014

My partner and I stayed at this resort for 5 nights- Safe to say with the amount of money we were spending- our expectations were extremely high We arrived at Gayana Eco Resort on the Shuttle Boat around midday- and were immediatley greeted by their lovely staff. We were taken to our room which was not ready yet. A little...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Hayley S
kl
Reviewed 8 February 2014

enjoyed but felt too much commercialism and found some flaws: - checkout time is too early at 11am. pick up for boat going back to BKI is at only 11am and 1pm. is the resort trying to make us eat lunch at the resort? we felt inconvenience and the resort's commercialism. - too many loud nuisance guests. They annoy us...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank klia67
Tainan, Taiwan
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Please look at the photos which have been attached to this review. They speak more than any written description. Why would someone pay a 5-star price to be in a place like this? The resort has been grossly misrepresented. It doesn't matter where the trash comes from. The management doesn't care enough to put up sufficient barriers for it and...

 Report
Helpful?
14Thank Mark B
TomasAndersen, General Manager at Gayana Eco Resort, responded to this review

Dear Mark, Thank you for your contribution ,I don't blame you for being dissapointed, so are we! As i have stated in previous blogs, during the North East Monsoon (Nov-Feb) we can sometimes be overwhelmed with rubbish from mainland Borneo and nearby stilt villages, while we attempt to pick up and clean the sea we will never completely succeed. There...

1,177 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (593)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (98)
Viewed
Room/Suite (87)
Viewed
View from Room (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (47)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (49)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
0:57
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (256)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (510)
Viewed
Amenities (85)
Viewed
Ocean Villa (63)
Viewed
Palm Villa (134)
Viewed
Pool (26)
Viewed
Rainforest Villa (51)
Viewed
Dining (74)
Viewed
The Hotel (77)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (74)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (9)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Gaya
19.0 km away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
5.2 km away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
13.0 km away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#14 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#6 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
2,021 reviews
4.2 km away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,369 reviews
4.4 km away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Gayana Eco Resort rests serenely at the edges of Gaya Island off the coast of Borneo. 52 over water villas designed to enhance the soothing sounds of the surf, while capturing the enduring vistas of Mt. Kinabalu on the distant horizon. At its heart is about protecting and re-generating our precious Marine Ecology, and the only property to feature its own Marine Ecology Research Centre propagating Giant Clams and restoring damaged coral reefs. Striking the perfect balance of forward thinking ecology and indulgent luxury which pampers both the body and the enlightened soul. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gayana Eco Resort

Address: Malohom Bay | Gaya Island, Pulau Gaya 88778, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Pulau Gaya
Price Range: ₹ 13,025 - ₹ 23,199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gayana Eco Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gayana Eco Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gayana Eco Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Gayana Resort
Gayana Eco Resort Kota Kinabalu District, Sabah, Malaysia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gayana Eco Resort staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 month ago
Burnley, United Kingdom
Solihull, United Kingdom
Seria, Brunei Darussalam

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Gayana Eco Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The lagoon, mangrove or ocean view villas have the best access from their decks straight into the water.”
jpramsay680, 30 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Palm Villa”
mohamedhabib2017, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“What ever suits your budget all excellent !”
davidgary8, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Choose the Palm Villa - it is an order of magnitude better than all other accommodation at the resort.”
leaf2468, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The rooms are all fine”
Dicko1947, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Preferred Hotels
US$ 243* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$ 348
TripAdvisorUS$ 243
Ctrip.comUS$ 361
View all 15 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates