We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Gaya Island Resort

Travellers' Choice award winner
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 361*
US$ 242*
Great Deal
US$ 358*
US$ 361*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Gaya Island Resort
Gaya Island Resort
Panoramas (18)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,043 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Gaya Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 897: English reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2016

Hi Thanks all of you who working in Gaya Island Resort. It was short but really enjoyable experience while i was there. Food was nice and service was excellent. I had a dinner in Fisherman's Cove. Well done Chef nice presentation. Good wish for all of you once again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sumedha t
Management response:

Dear sumedha t , Thank you very much for taking the time to share your amazing experience with TripAdvisor community and it is rewarding to see this lovely comment. The culinary team is delighted that you enjoyed your dinner at Fisherman's Cove Restaurant, and I ll personally pass your comment about the food presentation on Chef Leonard. Thank you once...

Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

I spent 4 nights here over xmass 2016 and was blown away but how fantastic the staff where. They really couldn't be more helpful. Stayed in a canopy room and It was the nicest room I've ever stayed in. The breakfast was a treat with more selection than you can take in. I loved the Japanese restaurant too. That was...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank iain c
Management response:

Dear iain c, Allow us to thank you for taking the time to write a review and share it with the TripAdvisor community. I am delighted to hear that you had a memorable holiday with us. I have shared your lovely comments with the entire team who were delighted to hear that their attentive service made a difference to your...

Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

Firstly, I would like to say I have enjoyed myself at this resort very much. Really calm, peaceful and allowing me to mentally and physically relax and very therapeutic. Even though we encountered problem with our tv, luckily we managed to get Yung the front desk manager to solve it after the second day. Yung been very helpful and very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey T
Management response:

Dear Jeffrey T, What a rewarding feedback. We thank you for sharing this with the TripAdvisor community. The Borneo is a unique destination for a holiday and here at Gaya Island Resort, we pride ourselves on being a wild nature-friendly resort with the aim to ensure that guests of all ages feel valued, and at home, during their stay with...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 December 2016

beautiful accomodation in chalets around this hotel resort-this was the only hotel. We stayed in whats called the mid level=a 3/5 minute walk from restaurant. Tropical fish to see if snorkle .monitor lizzards in grounds. Food good but not great for the cost. Drinks very costly. Lovely beach in this high end resort in which a few honeymoon couples.We had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ashley465
Management response:

Dear ashley465 , Thank you for choosing "luxury on beach" Gaya Island Resort as your holiday destination, I’m delighted to hear that you found our accommodation as beautiful ones. We aim to deliver a premium quality of food and beverages offerings to all our guests from numerous outlets available. The cost of food and beverages offerings in Sabah could be...

Reviewed 25 December 2016

Beautiful situation, fabulous accommodation but... Advertised as having twin bedded accommodation, but this is not true, all rooms are double Food in the pool bar is atrocious... Vegetarian options are few, ordered a salad with no cheese and dressing separate, arrived with cheese and smothered in dressing. Sent back asked for egg not cheese with separate dressing, this duly arrived...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue A
Management response:

Daer Sue A , Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor, we take all guest comments very seriously and use them for further training and enhancements to services and facilities. I am glad to hear that you had an overall good experience, but am disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy the dining options , however , rest...

Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Reviewed 25 December 2016

A beautiful resort in a fantastic setting, but They advertise twin bedded rooms, all rooms are double The food in the pool bar area is atrocious, long wait, uneatable Bar staff are too busy chatting up pretty guests and deciding which music should be blaring out This is a great pity, with a bit of tweaking this could be an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sueahmed2016
Management response:

Daer sueahmed2016 , Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor, we take all guest comments very seriously and use them for further training and enhancements to services and facilities. I am glad to hear that you had an overall good experience, but am disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy the dining options , however , rest assured...

A TripAdvisor Member
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2016 via mobile

The resort generally has 3 types of villa, Bayu Villa (pond view), Canopy Villa (nature view),and Kota Kinabalu Villa (sea/mountain), price ascending. I went for the medium one and booked a canopy villa. They gave me one with literally no view, saying that is canopy. That is one messiest bush/trees view I've ever seen. Please. When I asked for room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Management response:

Dear A Tripadvisor Member, Hong Kong, China, I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with Tripadvisor community. I understand your disappointment with our product and the services, and I appreciate your constructive feedback. We are grateful for all feedback, even if it is of a critical nature, as this is the only...

Hong Kong
Reviewed 22 December 2016

Great design. Great Mood. Great Service. Great Relaxation. Many Thanks to so-kind-Jack who is always ready to satisfy any kind of service request.(An example: A monkey stole from our balcony the water bottle of our one-year-old baby and on the next morning a new one from Kota was delivered!) THANKS TO ALL PERSONEL! ____________HAPPY___XMAS___&____YEAR____2017____________

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Francesco S
YungLim, General Manager at Gaya Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Francesco S, Thank you for posting your comment on Gaya Island Resort Tripadvisor. We were very happy to read your review, and are glad that we could contribute to making your trip a great experience. It is very pleasing to read that you enjoyed the service offered by our team member, Jack personalized service is of great importance to...

london
Reviewed 10 December 2016

We stayed here for six nights at the end of our honeymoon. This is a truly luxurious resort. We were upgraded to a kinabalu villa which had amazing views over the bay. We were on the all inclusive package so really benefited from the incredible meals. The restaurants were fist class with our favorite restaurant being fisherman cove. You really...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank langoo
YungLim, General Manager at Gaya Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear langoo, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am very pleased to hear that The hotel is built in between the jungle and the sea so you get to see plenty of wildlife including numerous moneys that were sat on our balcony on our return from the beach. Do checkout our Gaya Island...

everywhere
Reviewed 10 December 2016

Lovely, efficient, and friendly staff. The resort is beautiful with sundecks and umbrellas all around the beach and pool areas. The villas are spread out all across the vast property and can take up to up 5-10 minutes to get to from the main reception, pool and beach. People with walking difficulties should pick the Bayu Villas or Canopy Villas...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FoodTrails_ME
YungLim, General Manager at Gaya Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear FoodTrails_ME, Thank you very much for your constructive feedback. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience in our Gaya Island Resort. Thank you for recognizing the team members from this department for their commitment to our lovely, efficient and friendly staff. I appreciate your comments regarding Housekeeping not replenishing items. I would like to reassure you...

1,978 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1507)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (270)
Viewed
Dining (83)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (279)
Viewed
View from Room (90)
Viewed
Room/Suite (164)
Viewed
Bathroom (40)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Other (570)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (431)
Viewed
Amenities (111)
Viewed
Beach (41)
Viewed
Pool (32)
Viewed
Dining (101)
Viewed
The Hotel (91)
Viewed
Villa Bayu (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (18)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Gaya
0.7 km away
Gayana Eco Resort
Gayana Eco Resort
#3 of 3 in Pulau Gaya
441 reviews
18.7 km away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
5.9 km away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
2,003 reviews
12.6 km away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#14 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,288 reviews
4.9 km away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Gaya Island Resort

Address: | Malohom Bay, Tunku Abdul Rahman Park, Pulau Gaya 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Pulau Gaya
Price Range: ₹ 11,108 - ₹ 24,143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gaya Island Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gaya Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaya Island Resort Kota Kinabalu District, Sabah, Malaysia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gaya Island Resort staff and other travellers.
62 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (62)

Questions? Get answers from Gaya Island Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Canopy rooms have stunning views of the forest and sheltered balconies. Ask for a lower floor villa if you prefer more shade.”
fc1789, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Even numbers are upper level and 802 and 804 are high up on the RHS. Awesome views and a 5+ minute walk . Perfect for peace and quiet.”
lesleyw437, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Book directly with the hotel. Do the mangrove kayaking, nature walk and the snorkeling trip”
Panican_Whyasker, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Suria suite 833- only one that is completely private”
deanj33, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“kinabalu villa for better view”
Thefall, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
AMOMA
US$ 242* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 358
Orbitz.comUS$ 361
Hotels.comUS$ 361
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates