We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mount Backpackers

PricelineUS$ 25*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 39*
US$ 25*
US$ 39*
US$ 25*
US$ 39*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Mount Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

68 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 58: English reviews
Start your review of Mount Backpackers
 Click to rate
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hostel is in a great location (centre of town), it has a good atmosphere with a mix of long term and passers through. The kitchen was very small and ill-equiped accompanied with hundred of flies. the courtyard is a good touch although it could look nicer/cleaner. rooms are standard (no plug sockets, limited storage etc). Maybe look somewhere else.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ConnorC27
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This place is great if you're a solo traveller. The hostel has got all the necessary facilities. The new owner is very friendly and helpful and makes you feel like at home. She's trying to make the place very cosy.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nathalie B
Reviewed 23 February 2017

Kitchen was swarming with bugs first thing in the morning, cooking facilities are poor. really dirty oven and stove top. Dirty floors in the showers and toilets, no loo roll in two of the toilets for the whole time i was there. (staff were advised!) Fairy grim looking area to sit and eat, smell of the cat food and fridges...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlie R
Stavanger, Norway
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

They have a cat! So don't stay here if you are allergic. The kitchen is ok, but all the tables are outside, so it's not so nice when it's raining. The laundry machine is really bad, and there aren't any places to dry the clothes under a roof when it's raining. They don't have lockers. Also there is a bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stacy P
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewed 16 January 2017

Location was the only good thing going for it...Rude greeting, hurried instructions, dirty everywhere, 1 ancient stove for everyone barely worked, stacked in like sardines, tight stairs, nowhere to sit comfortably...Worst backpackers I have ever stayed.Cancelled booking after 1st night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank littlelily37
Stewart F, Manager at Mount Backpackers, responded to this review

You were unhappy when you checked in ! You were unhappy when you stayed here ! You were unhappy when you left ! I can't see how we could have made your stay any better !!! A backpackers is not for you ... better to spend your money somewhere else !!

Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

Location is great, it's just around the corner from the beach. You can rent surf boards, wet suits and bicycles at the reception which was nice. However, the hostel was packed full. The rooms are tiny, there's only one small kitchen and few toilets and showers. All the common areas were pretty much dirty constantly. It's definitely a party hostel,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KaroParo
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 24 November 2016

Whilst the location is really good, everything else was really poor. The bathrooms were dirty, people had left their toiletries, toilet paper and other stuff they no longer wanted on the floor, there was also mold on the roof of all the showers (see picture). The kitchen was also dirty and there was a huge bin right next to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trelawnyhand
Reunion Island
Reviewed 16 November 2016 via mobile

First, if you looking for a quiet place, this hostel it's not for you. There is a pub in the other side of the street, also guests can be noisy. This place was my home for 2 months, the bathroom is great, the kitchen needs some improvements. Very nice outdoor area that makes a very good social interaction between guests...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TiGreg974
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

Dirty overcrowded poor service. Don't let backpackers run the place. Bedding dirty. Pub opposite very noisy. Only pluses location. Came out at night and 3-4 people sleeping in lounge area. Lesson - don't let backpackers run it

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brent M
Stewart F, Dee - Reception at Mount Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Brent, Thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry about the noise from Astrolabe, unfortunately they have a license until 1am and our poor backpackers and neighbors have to hear it every weekend. In response to your comments about the hostel - for each new check-in we change every sheet, pillow case and duvet to a fresh one....

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 23 May 2016 via mobile

Mount backpackers was my home for 3ish weeks, I was in the 6 bed dorm with 2 other friends. Quietest room in the hostel, up the stairs first door on the left. Only got the bar across the road playing music sometimes till 1am, but that's okay. The hostel has a strict rule of 11pm quiet time, the outside area...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mikeharting
Stewart F, Manager at Mount Backpackers, responded to this review

Come back Mike !!! A whole lot of girls checked in just after you left!!! :)

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mount Maunganui hotels
1.6 km away
Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers
Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpack...
#8 of 19 in Mount Maunganui
157 reviews
1.6 km away
Seagulls Guesthouse
Seagulls Guesthouse
#4 of 19 in Mount Maunganui
107 reviews
0.6 km away
The Pacific Apartments
The Pacific Apartments
#2 of 4 in Mount Maunganui
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Calais Mount Resort
Calais Mount Resort
#11 of 19 in Mount Maunganui
131 reviews
0.9 km away
Baywatch Motor Inn
Baywatch Motor Inn
#1 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
124 reviews
0.7 km away
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
#3 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
FREE WiFi (unlimited), Surf Lessons Surfboard Rental, Bicycle Rental,Newly Refurbished! We offer the BEACH & SURF at your doorstep & right in town! Our piece of PARADISE, small, friendly, CLEAN & cosy hostel where everyone knows your name!, Assistance with SEASONAL WORK all year round. Winter rates available. Travel desk for all the Bay's activities, Sky TV, Why stay out of town? ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mount Backpackers

Address: 87 Maunganui Road, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Price Range: ₹ 1,160 - ₹ 3,415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mount Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mount Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“avoid the front rooms; they will be loud”
pip_sarah, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
“sleep furthest from the road front”
L5377WNdavidt, 14 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Only good for surfers & partiers who stay up all night & sleep during the day, & don't care about hygiene.”
christinem51, 23 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Watch out for rooms near street, they may have a bit of noise”
LauraTravelNZ, 17 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Not the 16 bed dorm.”
lolcas, 8 Jan 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$ 25* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 25
Hostelworld.comUS$ 39
Agoda.comUS$ 25
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates