We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Waihi Beach Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Waihi Beach Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

251 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Waihi Beach Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 217: English reviews
Mooloolaba
Reviewed 15 December 2012

We had a very enjoyable few days at Waihi Beach Lodge. Greg and Ali are great hosts and very helpful with their local knowledge and especially as I needed medical help. The pancakes at breakfast were superb and we certainly didn't eat lunch on any day that we were there. While the room was extremely comfortable it was not luxury...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
NZ
Reviewed 10 December 2012

This bed and breakfast accomodation run by a really lovely couple is just not what is advertised. Promoted as a 'Luxury Boutique Bed and Breakfast Lodge' this accomodation in my opinion is more accurately described as a bed and breakfast room, a block back from the beach with a shared lounge/living/deck area - all of which is shared with the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CMXNZ
whytey01, Owner at Waihi Beach Lodge, responded to this review

As we expressed to you in person we are disappointed that you were unhappy with your stay and thank you for your feedback. However, upon realising you were not happy when you arrived we offered you the opportunity to not stay without penalty, you decided to stay. Secondly, we offered you a lift to the café as we do for...

Kent
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Unfortunately we could only stay for 1 night at the Waihi Beach Lodge. Greg and Ali were so lovely and welcoming which made us want to stay longer. We were on our honeymoon touring around the North Island of New Zealand and from the other reviews we'd read, stopping at the Waihi Beach Lodge on our way from the Coromandel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brockie99
San Dimas
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We spent our first two nights here and it was the best place to start. Greg and Ali are great hosts. they were thoughtful and had great local knowledge. They had great recommendations for dinner and places to visit. They provided everything, even slippers ( which I used the whole 2weeks of our trip) and excellent shampoos and lotion. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wineloversandimas
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 November 2012

as a couple we stayed at the Waihi beach lodge, nice clean place with all the facilities you need great hoasts and good breakfast supplied , we dwould consider staying here again. ..........................................................................................................................................................

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scott w
Auckland
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We stayed 2 nights on a family holiday with my Mum and Step dad who were over from England. Excellent accommodation, hospitality definitely well above average, comfortable rooms. Greg and Ali are most welcoming as hosts, with hearty breakfasts and solid local advice. Would highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim P
Wicklow, Ireland
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We are from Ireland and did a 5 day tour of New Zealand on our honeymoon. We wanted to stay outside of the big cities and through Tripadvisor found Waihi Beach lodge. All of the reviews were more than positive and we can see why. We only stayed with Greg and Ali for one night but it was great. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NiamhFarrell
Rochester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 October 2012

After Auckland this was our first stop on a 5 week tour. Greg and Ali made us feel at home and shared their wealth of local knowledge.They were most helpful in suggesting the more out of the way places to visit on the Coromandel Peninsular.The studio apartment across the road from the marvellous beach had everything we needed and those...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iris D
Wellington
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We had a great 3 day stay at Waihi Beach Lodge – it was the perfect winter getaway to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. We were warmly greeted by Greg and Ali and it was a nice touch to find a bottle of bubbly in our room to help us celebrate our anniversary! Everything is spot on – a lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mmhs_nz
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We had a lovely weekend at The Waihi Beach Lodge. Greg and Ali were fantastic hosts, breakfast was great and our room was comfortable and well equipped. The lodge is close to the sea and well positioned. We stayed upstairs in the house itself and were made to feel very welcome, however it is quite close to the owners quarters...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gonzoid1

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waihi Beach
26.4 km away
Breakers Motel
Breakers Motel
#1 of 6 in Whangamata
177 reviews
3.5 km away
Waihi Beach Top 10 Holiday Resort
3.0 km away
Beachaven Kiwi Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 km away
Pacific View B&B
Pacific View B&B
#1 of 12 in Whangamata
216 reviews
26.5 km away
Brenton Lodge
Brenton Lodge
#1 of 10 in Whangamata
116 reviews
23.5 km away
Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Waihi Beach Lodge is a Boutique Bed and Breakfast Lodge, two hours south-east of Auckland just off State Highway 2 (Pacific Coast Highway) at Waihi Beach.The real benefit of Waihi Beach, apart from it's natural beauty, is its central location (see our map of the Coromandel Peninsula) as it provides you with the flexibility to see the Coromandel, Hobbiton, Rotorua and Waitomo from one base as well as being able to spend time in the Karangahake Gorge, view the gold mining history of Waihi and of course, a stroll or swim at the beach is a must.We have 3 king /queen bedrooms with ensuites and a modern studio apartment.All rooms are furnished in an uncluttered style with quality beds and cotton linen. Toiletries, luggage racks, hair dryers, televisions, DVD players and other thoughtful details are provided for your comfort.Tea and coffee are available anytime. Waihi Beach has several great cafes for dining. Waihi Beach Lodge is smoke-free indoors. Many guests come as strangers and leave as friends.Free Wifi is available throughout the lodge for checking emails. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Waihi Beach Lodge

Address: 170 Seaforth Road, Waihi Beach 3611, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Waihi Beach
Price Range: ₹ 8,881 - ₹ 13,224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waihi Beach Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Waihi Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Waihi Beach Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“choose away from inside staircase for privacy and quiet.”
KHPL2016, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms have outside access so all equally easy to access”
suemain62, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't confuse Waihi and Waihi Beach . . . they're adjacent, though two different locations.”
Respitesearch, 1 Apr 2016 | Read review
“All are great - self contained and perfect.”
sarahwJ9512DQ, 11 Feb 2016 | Read review
“all fine rooms”
159Roddy, 3 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5