We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Satis House Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Expert photos
Satis House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

634 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 633: English reviews
Middleton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very happy with service from Harry and Ollie, both very pleasant and friendly, helping to make the evening special. The food was also excellent as was the wine. All in all we had a very good night, and would definitely go again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathwhipps520
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I was with a group of people who stayed Saturday night and the accommodation was good . I must just say staff so friendly a special mention to Neil who was just outstanding all weekend , and the food was top class many thanks . Dennis.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dennis C
London
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We're local so just came for dinner. The hotel has changed hands recently and new chef Ben is clearly talented. Everything was delicious and the staff very friendly and professional. We knew before we came that we'd be spending more than we usually do locally and, in the event, were more than happy to do so. We will definitely be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JamesandMarjorie
lpswich
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Was looking forward to a relaxing Sunday but found pubic hair in the bath a durex in the draw in our hotel room. (Dunnich ) was a disappointment. Had stayed here a couple years previous loved it. Breakfast was lovely apart from the fried bread which we didn't eat has was to afraid breaking our teeth.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank maxinequality
Highgate London
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Have stayed at Satis House on several occasions and we immediately noticed how things had changed since our last visit 12 months ago. The hotel was hosting a wedding in their restaurant so the reception desk was a little chaotic to the point where our reservation couldn't be found. Nevertheless the guy who welcomed us and showed us to our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MisterMister001
Caterham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2016

I stayed at this hotel with my partner on the 23rd October. We arrived late afternoon and had to wait a little while to check in as the proprietor (I'm afraid I never got his name) was dealing with something in the restaurant I believe. However he was very apologetic and quite clearly he was rushed off his feet. When...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Stephen C
Cara D, Owner at Satis House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you again. We are indeed upgrading and hope it did not in any way inconvenience your stay.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2016

We stayed in Southwold which is a garden room, perfect for us as we brought our dogs. it was a large room with kingsize bed and ensuite. Absolutely spotless, everything provided. Excellent quality toiletries, tea & coffee. There was a decked area just outside the room to sit and enjoy the beautiful garden. Beautiful food as always! The actors for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidG11SL
Cara D, Owner at Satis House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you. We thought the murder mystery was excellent too. Hope to see you again soon.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2016

I was taken to this hotel on the recommendation of friends. On arrival the staff were friendly and welcoming. We were shown to our room which was the Attic suite, on first appearance it was quirky and looked lovely. After visiting the local area on our return we found that the heating in the bathroom was not working, the shower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katie C
Cara D, Owner at Satis House Hotel, responded to this review

We live at the hotel and dine in the restaurant most evenings so I am sorry we did not get the opportunity to meet you. Unfortunately, we are not able to be present all the time but will hopefully be here to meet you next time. The carpet in the hallway and the hallway itself is being redecorated in the...

Norfolk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

We visited on the off chance of having lunch. Despite being completely empty of customers, the staff we met were lovely, warm and welcoming. They are clearly refurbishing this lovely building and I think, with time it will be beautiful. We ordered off their menu and to be honest, despite the food being good we felt the prices were far...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Delia P
Cara D, Owner at Satis House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write a review and I am pleased to read that you have acknowledged that we are embarking upon a whole range of upgrades to our new home which we are sure customers will be very pleased with. It is right to say that lunchtimes are currently quiet. There are several reasons for this: the...

Essex
Reviewed 15 October 2016

Rooms tired, badly furnished and not very clean. Hotel is run down (broken stair treads, scuff marks on the walls and stained mismatched carpets). Very miserable breakfast. Extremely poor value for money. Comfy bed.

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Essexrosabel
Cara D, Owner at Satis House Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry you were not happy with your stay. Are you sure you were at Satis House as we do not have any broken stair treads or stained mismatched carpets? And our hotel is clean! Our hotel is over 300 years old and has been refurbished to a high standard by the previous owners who have mixed a combination...

383 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (119)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (50)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (263)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Executive Garden Room (46)
Viewed
Luxury Four Poster Room (52)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (35)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yoxford
14.3 km away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
908 reviews
33.6 km away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
13.6 km away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 km away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
750 reviews
13.3 km away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
300 reviews
4.2 km away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This Garde II listed Georgian House sits in 3 acres of woodlands. Recently awarded a Gold award, 2 Rosettes and Best Breakfast accolade from the British tourist board and AA, Satis House offers the perfect setting for relaxing or visiting local tourist hot spots like Southwold and Aldeburgh.The Restaurant offers locally sourced Modern British cuisine and has just been voted top tree restaurant in Suffolk 2009. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Satis House Hotel

Address: Main Road, Yoxford, Saxmundham IP17 3EX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Saxmundham > Yoxford
Price Range: ₹ 7,267 - ₹ 12,025 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Satis House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Satis House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Satis House Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Sussex
over a year ago
Royston, United Kingdom
5 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Satis House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Be aware that there is no lift in this hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles katiec117, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“just ask the staff are great”
 of 5 bubbles justinphipps, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The annexe rooms outside the main hotel are wonderful.”
 of 5 bubbles susieduddridge, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't go for afternoon tea unless you get the option to site outside !!! It's cleaner”
 of 5 bubbles Ishamil, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Only are in the restaurant”
 of 5 bubbles diane029, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay