We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Swan at Forton

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Swan at Forton
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

182 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 182: English reviews
Start your review of The Swan at Forton
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

I stay here every year when I go to v festival. Friendly staff and clean. 10 min max taxi ride to the festival. Good breakfast well needed after v fest. And obv a hot shower. Hotel very helpful with your festival needs.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lee1979bpool
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We enjoyed a carvery here on a monday with friends.The meat was beautiful with a good choice but slightly marred by the surly chef serving the meat. We almost felt like we were a nuisance.The yorkies were delicious,definitely homemade.Sadly the roast potatoes were pale & insipid,sprinkled with Rosemary for some strange reason and were suspiciously rounded and all the same...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kes k
Swan F, Manager at The Swan at Forton, responded to this review

Hi there Many thanks for your review of our carvery this weekend. Firstly I would like to apologise that everything was not fully up to your standard this weekend. As you could see, we were extremely busy on the carvery doing over 210 people on Sunday and 140 on Monday night (in 2 hours!) As you can appreciate it is...

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

First visit, we called on the way back from Telford, and so glad we did. Lovely country pub. Great atmosphere, big comfy sofas, with a fire going. Fabulous food with good choice, we only had a main course, but the puds looked good. Excellent service. Given 4 stars as G&t expensive, it was nothing special, but food was reasonably priced....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VonVon6
Swan F, Manager at The Swan at Forton, responded to this review

Hello there! Thank you for taking the time to write to us regarding your recent visit. I am really pleased that you called in on your way home and had a great experience with us. Sorry to hear that you found the G&T expensive, it may be that unlike all of our competitors, we serve 35ml measures of gin, not...

Shropshire
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stopped in for lunch to be offered just carvery ( nut roast for myself). Awful potatoes just like the frozen Aunt Bessie type and rest bland and tasteless including the nut roast. No one asked how the meal was even when We had left most of it and asked to pay. The place has obviously gone downhill fast since last...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jubagsShropshire
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 February 2017

We had a twin room, beds were tiny and very uncomfortable, the bathroom was also on the small side and desperate for refurbishment. The room was at the front and from 6 am it was like sleeping on the hard shoulder. The evening meal was my biggest complaint, started with muscles in tomatoe sauce, more sauce than mussels, I then...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
Swan F, Manager at The Swan at Forton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write to us regarding your experience with us. I am sorry to hear of the problems you had whilst staying and dining with us and can only apologise. I will address each and every one of the issues you raise and will endeavour to put them right for future guests. (Obvoiously I cannot...

Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

Whilst en-route to Manchester airport we arranged to have a meal at the Swan at Forton on Boxing Day. We had booked our requirements in advance from the on line menu and,once seated ,our starters arrived within minutes of our drinks. The restaurant was very busy with Boxing Day revellers but this did not detract from the attention given to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Crabma
Swan F, General Manager at The Swan at Forton, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your visit. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us and am glad that even though we were very busy, that we were able to look after you very well and that we helped make your boxing day! Hopefully you will be "en-route" next...

Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed at The Swan for three nights while visiting friends and family. Upon arrival after an 8 hour journey, we were not made to feel very welcome, with a member of staff very quick to tell us when they would be stopping serving food, and when we needed to check out by. The room (in the converted barn) was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pete M
Marbella, Spain
Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

Nice venue, really nice food and very good atmosphere. Good all day event and nice drinks at the very well staffed bar Nice room and warm considering the cold weather outside. The only one downside only luke warm water in the shower.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carly W
Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 November 2016

The carvery can't be faulted. The food looks delicious and is definitely home-cooked. The price is reasonable and staff helpful and friendly. I hadn't booked but was welcomed in. The restaurant very quickly filled up and most seemed to be 'regulars'. Enjoyed the food so much I've booked a Christmas carvery lunch too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sw1abc
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 November 2016

Stayed for one night recently, evening meal was excellent and staff very attentive considering there was another large party eatingat same time, breakfast ok. Room was well below what would be expected even at a competitive price. We stayed in a room in the annexe and it was very cold when we got there at about 5.30, the wall heater...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wifandsally

12 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
2.0 km away
Premier Inn Newport/Telford Hotel
8.2 km away
The White House Hotel and Restaurant
11.0 km away
Hadley Park House Hotel
Hadley Park House Hotel
#7 of 21 in Telford
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
Premier Inn Telford North Hotel
5.9 km away
Offley Grove Farm
Offley Grove Farm
#1 of 1 in Adbaston
55 reviews
5.2 km away
Moreton Hall Farm B&B
Moreton Hall Farm B&B
#1 of 7 in Newport
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about The Swan at Forton

Address: Eccleshall Road, Newport TF10 8BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Newport
Price Range: ₹ 3,865 - ₹ 7,795 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Swan at Forton 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your The Swan at Forton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Swan at Forton staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Hove, United Kingdom
5 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Swan at Forton staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't call in .”
 of 5 bubbles jubagsShropshire, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had the Bridle suite which was very large so cannot comment really.”
 of 5 bubbles BrianWilson1943, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Request a room away from the road”
 of 5 bubbles cfc1008, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose it elsewhere!”
 of 5 bubbles WellCooked, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Front rooms very noisy”
 of 5 bubbles AnniGM, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5