We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Travelodge Canterbury Dunkirk

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Travelodge Canterbury Dunkirk
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

113 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 111: English reviews
Evesham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stay again ideal location no car parking quiet friendly staff drive through garage to get to lodge can not see from road at night central location for morning get away to beat Canterbury traffic can not say anymore just ideal place to stay will be back

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank nicke705
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

As with most Travelodges, comfy and very satisfactory and even in the past with some roaf noise from other hotels, we were particularly disturbed by some idiot staying in the room above us who walked around their room from 10pm till 12pm. I don't know if they were just heavy footed or the insulation was poor but do beware when... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank C5652FZmarkw
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Canterbury Dunkirk, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased to learn that you were happy with the overall experience, although we would like to apologise that your experience was impacted by the disturbance caused by other guests. Please rest assured we will pass on your feedback to the Hotel, so it may be looked into... More 

South Boston, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Simple, cost effective, convenient, with brilliant beds. Hotel was located near main road but was brilliant and quiet at night. Ideal location for what I needed. Highly recommend this hotel. Beds are really comfortable, rooms are spacious. Staff are friendly and booking makes check in and out really convenient.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank paulwdub
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Its okay I suppose, you get what you paid for. The actual room is a decent size probably a bit too big as they could've use the extra room to make the bathroom a little bit more comfortable I E the bath is obviously made for a person who has just left the circus and is around 4 foot tall.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Busdriverdave1969
TravelodgeUK, Shannon from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Canterbury Dunkirk, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay with us at Travelodge Canterbury Dunkirk. Please be assured that we appreciate your feedback and we will pass this on to the relevant department as it helps us to improve the services we offer and implement any changes based on customers recommendations and feedback. Thank you again for your review. We... More 

Chelmsford
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Based in what looks like a very small and rather grotty service area consisting of a petrol filling station and a single restaurant, I wasn't expecting much, but was very pleasantly surprised. The hotel was clean, quiet, and the family room I stayed in was clean, fresh and of a high standard. The bedding was spotless and clean too. The... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank JamesUKChelmsford
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Canterbury Dunkirk, responded to this review

We're pleased to learn you had a peaceful stay recently at our Canterbury Dunkirk Travelodge and we thank you for sharing your experience with us. We aim to provide a comfortable stay for all of our guests and we're thankful this has been achieved, however we are sorry to learn that your WiFi did not work correctly, we would kindly... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel was ok for the amount we paid however there was a very strong horrible smell about the place and our room smelt very damp. The heaters weren't put on at all previous to us arriving so the room was freezing cold. I did get a quiets night sleep however me and my friend had to share a bed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tasha A
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Canterbury Dunkirk, responded to this review

We appreciate the time you have taken to review our Canterbury Dunkirk Travelodge. We're pleased to hear our hotel team were friendly and kind throughout your stay with us, however we would like to apologise that your room was cold and your friend found the truckle bed not to their liking. We will be sure to pass your feedback to... More 

Caterham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely hotel set in the woods, very very quite location, clean and friendly. There is no Little Chef on site as stated on travellodge website it has been closed since 2012. There is a very good basic restaurant there but i feel travellodge should update their website fairly urgently as this is misleading.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank 420alexisc
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The Travelodge is set back from the car park in a wooded area, and this definitely helps to keep out the noise. The staff we spoke to were very helpful and polite. Our bathroom smelt of smoke and we did inform the receptionist. There were also rust marks in the bath and around the taps. Other than that everything was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Phoenixm34
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Like I said u get what u pay for ... has a kettle, tv(a few channels) I must say very friendly staff, room and corridors do smell abit fun and the walk at night to the door is abit spooky... also the shower is annoying as the shower head is mounted to the wall and u can't wash properly... also... More 

Helpful?
Thank charalamboskikas
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Canterbury Dunkirk, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel. We are pleased to learn that you are happy with the service you received, although we would like to apologise for the issues you experienced during your stay. Please rest assured we will pass on your feedback to the Hotel, so it may be looked into further. Thank you again... More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night on our way to stay elsewhere in kent. We arrived late, so it was dark, but we expected to be able to find it easier. The sat navigation directed us to the right place but we couldn't see the signs or building. So after driving up the road and back again we eventually spotted... More 

Helpful?
Thank mernic10
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Canterbury Dunkirk, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're sorry to learn that you experienced troubles locating our hotel, however we're pleased that despite this flaw you encountered very friendly staff members and you enjoy clean, comfortable accommodation. Enabling you to achieve a good night's sleep is what we strive for and it's great to hear this has been achieved. Thank you again... More 

19 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunkirk
1.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
650 reviews
7.2 km away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
7.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#3 of 17 in Canterbury
243 reviews
6.3 km away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
368 reviews
6.1 km away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Travelodge Canterbury Dunkirk

Address: A2 Trunk Road | Gate Services, Dunkirk, Canterbury ME13 9LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury > Dunkirk
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Canterbury Dunkirk 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotel.de so you can book your Travelodge Canterbury Dunkirk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Canterbury Dunkirk Hotel Dunkirk
Travel Lodge Canterbury
Canterbury Travel Lodge
Canterbury Travelodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge Canterbury Dunkirk staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Travelodge Canterbury Dunkirk staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The hotel is away from noise, therefore the rooms are quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles celiam147, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't book here”
 of 5 bubbles Leef228, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Avoid room 6 it smells”
 of 5 bubbles Mplipm, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles craiggasman, 9 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We were on the ground floor which was very convenient”
 of 5 bubbles BarryD874, 17 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay