We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Old Kent Estates, Coorg

Save
Share
Thaikappa Estate Horoor Post and Village, Suntikoppa 571237 India
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
eDreams
US$ 147
View Deal
Agoda.comUS$ 146
Booking.comUS$ 147
TripadvisorUS$ 146
ZenHotels.com
FindHotel
Trip.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (626)
Room & Suite (178)
Dining (45)

About

#1 of 5 hotels in Suntikoppa
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Old Kent Estates, originally developed in the mid 1800s, is one of the earliest established coffee plantations in Southern India. William Roland Wright, a Colonel in the British Army led to the transformation of this 200-acre estate from a jungle in which big game abound to a cultivated plantation and a delightful home to his family. First constructed in 1864, the stately bungalow has been fully restored to its former charm & glory and has vignettes of the by gone colonial era and houses several rooms. As a tribute to the Wright Family, each room is fondly named after one of the family members who once inhabited within. The property has been designed keeping in mind its rich history and tradition, ensuring the conservation and preservation of the natural surroundings, within an exclusive boutique setting. Each English cottage with its own private garden provides the utmost privacy, Get pampered with the Old Kent hospitality and experience the tranquil life of a typical estate owner in British India. Read some of the reviews from our guests to find out why we have been awarded the coveted Traveller's Choice Award two years running.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Public wifi
Hot bath
Free breakfast
Game room
Hiking
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children's television networks
Parking
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Billiards
Darts
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Butler service
First aid kit
Umbrella
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Air purifier
Bathrobes
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
See more room details
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi, Tamil, Urdu
342Reviews20Q+A94Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 240
  • 72
  • 13
  • 10
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Deepa R wrote a review Dec 2020
5 contributions
+1
First the pros: - Excellent estate, long walks, singing birds, beautiful flowers - Sampath and his assistants, they are making the impossible possible - They are the reason this place is not shut down. Their commitment is the only reason because the management doesn't seem to care. If it weren't for Sampath and his relentless need to help customers, it would have been an unbearable 2 days for us. - The management was kind enough to postpone my booking when I approached them with an unavoidable circumstance that was stopping me from travelling - The management was kind enough to not charge us 600 INR for 2 coffees and a sandwich we ordered after the unhappiness I showed about the state of the sofas The cons: - The sofas were stained, the least the management can do is at least get the covers changed. Pale-coloured sofas with brown, disgusting stains - There were cobwebs near door bolts - The carpets and doormats looked dirty. Why keep old stuff to show off if you can't maintain them? - A broken fan regulator set at high speed - A leaking faucet in the bathroom, meaning we had to close the main supply off every time we used the washroom - Un-ironed bathrobes - A huge jacuzzi with luke warm water, back rests that fall off - Old creamer satchets that were lumpy and we couldn't even make ourselves a cup of coffee - No labels on the coffee and team jars, meaning we had to smell the jar every time to check if we opened the one with coffee bags or tea bags - No spoons given to stir the coffee - No intercom (why charge us so much money if for every little thing, I need to call you from my phone and if there is no network, we have to walk down to the main building for help or wait for the network to start working) - No coffee except filter coffee available and being a South Indian I can distinguish between good and really bad coffee. I have had better coffee out of a vending machine - We stayed 2 nights and hence had 2 breakfasts and 2 dinners. Except for dinner on our first night there, every meal was an ordeal. I was in Karnataka and I had to leave dosa uneaten, the idlis were hard as rocks and so were the vadas, tasteless chutneys. Why not employ a good chef? - Over-priced room service with very few options. Also get a real menu please, not A4 printouts that are not even punched into a file. - Supposedly great trails created by some world- renowned Italian mountaineer. That man may have done a good job but the management did nothing to keep the trails approachable. Except for the Yellow trail, none are accessible till someone from the establishment won't take you along. Overgrown bushes and hey, what about using more than a small can of paint to mark the trails? Try using some of the money you charge us to buy a fresh can and start repainting those trees with some directions. Management - Utilize the skills that Sampath brings quietly to build customer experience. Right now all he does is mend it, thanks to lack of upkeep. Invest in a good chef, a well-bound menu, a few good sofas, a clean carpet, new doormats that are water absorbent, a plumber, some real lights on the pathways for people to walk at night to your open air restaurants. Lastly, I will never go back to this much-hyped and utterly disappointing place. The only saving grace is nature and that was a gift to all of us. A Taj establishment would charge me 7000 INR and give me a FAR FAR better experience than what we had to go through by shelling out almost 17000 INR per night.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Helpful
Share
pkpandey903 wrote a review Nov 2020
Bengaluru, India3 contributions1 helpful vote
After a long lockdown and spending almost 6 months at home, I and my wife decided to go to Coorg. After doing lots of research keeping Covid-19 and our safety in mind, we booked the Old Kent resort. We stayed there in 3rd week of October2020 Everything went per plan. We drove in our Honda City via Neelamangala-Hasan road following Googlemaps. There was absolutely no issue on the way. Road was in good condition except few kilometers here and there with little bumpy road. On the way we stopped at Swathi Delicacy restaurant which is very neat and clean. The restaurant guys take order in your car and serve the food there, so you don’t risk yourself exposing to too many people in the restaurant. We reached Coorg in around 6 hours from Bangalore. The road connecting the resort from the main road (approx. one Kilometer) is quite narrow and risky to drive- specially when you are driving in Sedan. For few minutes I felt that my car was struck and I might not be able to drive further but somehow we reached the resort . The experience at the resort was very good- very courteous staffs who made our check-in quite smooth and allotted a cottage named “Foxley Wood”. The room was quite spacious with extra-large bathroom, good toiletries (no shampoo) and great view from the room. Breakfast was included in the room rent and there was no choice for dinner as we had to go for buffet. Both had enough items ( taste of food was OK) if you love south Indian food. But lunch was a-la-carte (there was no buffet) which was quite expensive almost equal to 4 star rate in Bangalore, you might spend almost Rs1000/ head even for lunch. The resort is truly picturesque, wide spread cottages, and neatly maintained. Most of the staffs were wearing mask and following Covid guidelines. Since we also went well prepared taking our own care like enough sanitizer, surface spray, few towels, bed sheets etc , we returned quite safe and healthy. The most horrible part of the room was the bed mattress which might be 10 years old and completely in sagged condition. Both the nights we could not sleep due to severe back pain which spoiled our vacation. We have given the feedback to the resort folks and hope they take it positively and try to improve. Except the mattress condition and due to which our painful night, we would have loved to visit this resort again. It is slightly expensive resort but the price is known before we book so no complain. Hope our review helps our fellow travelers specially those who are driving from Bangalore.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Vachana S wrote a review Jul 2020
6 contributions5 helpful votes
What kind of a resort charges 10k + without a pool? There are resorts like Tamara, Evolve back and windflower that goes justice to the the price they charge. Pool is a must for a resort to charge 10k plus
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Asim Azeez, General Manager at Old Kent Estates, Coorg
Responded 25 Oct 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and to devote your valuable time reviewing us. We see that the lack of swimming pool has dampened your stay, Initially we purposely decided not to have the pool as this might not fit in with our colonial charm and ambience. However due to demand by our esteemed guests like yourself we have decided to have one shortly. We dare say you may be able to enjoy the pool on your next visit to Old Kent Estates. Regards, Asim Azeez General Manager
Read more
Abeona-R wrote a review Mar 2020
New Delhi, India29 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
I chose Old Kent Estate in Suntikoppa, Coorg as we were not interested in any sightseeing and wanted to stay amidst coffee plantations and have options of day hikes. And this turned out to be the perfect choice! We loved every bit of it - the location, quaint cottages with huge baths, food and hospitality. We spent long hours exploring the plantation and were truly impressed by the professional management of the estate. We also went for the plantation tour and special thanks to Sampath for explaining the entire process and the various varieties of coffee and pepper. And also Mr. Binu Rajendra, Mgr - Resv & Guest Relations was extremely helpful and most courteous through the entire process of reservation. Would love to be back here and spend more time!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Asim Azeez, General Manager at Old Kent Estates, Coorg
Responded 25 Oct 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and to devote your valuable time reviewing us. We are humbled by your appreciation of our services. Your feedback plays an essential part in evaluating our standards and a great moral booster to our team. We eagerly await to welcome you on your next visit. Regards, Asim Azeez General Manager
Read more
SuparnaPune wrote a review Mar 2020
Chicago, Illinois546 contributions63 helpful votes
+1
We stayed here in December 2018 so it's been an year but we still talk about it all the time. It has around 5/6 cottages and we were the only one for first 2 nights and another couple came in for the last 3. The cottage is spacious with huge bathroom complete with top class toiletries. The view from the cottage is awesome.. we could gaze into the green hills.. We hung out on our porch, main villa porch (where the food is served), watched a movie, read books. What we enjoyed the most was the well-marked trails. we did those everyday, sometimes twice a day. The tour of the coffee estate and learning about it was also interesting. The food was awesome.. Potato vindaloo is a must try.. yum yum..!! The coffee was so awesome that we had in-numerous cups every single day! The only negative (possibly positive) is that there is no internet. No data, no wifi. Even the phone network doesn't work. Good part is that they provide you with a basic phone with network that works there which you can use to make calls (so we could call home at least!).
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Asim Azeez, General Manager at Old Kent Estates, Coorg
Responded 25 Oct 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and to devote your valuable time reviewing us. We are humbled by your appreciation of our services. Your feedback plays an essential part in evaluating our standards and a great moral booster to our team. We eagerly await to welcome you on your next visit. Regards, Asim Azeez General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$ 146 - US$ 199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IndiaKarnatakaCoorgSuntikoppa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Old Kent Estates, Coorg
Which popular attractions are close to Old Kent Estates, Coorg?
Nearby attractions include Omkareshwara Temple (7.7 km), Nagarhole National Park (7.9 km), and Chiklihole Reservoir (7.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Old Kent Estates, Coorg?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a spa.
Which room amenities are available at Old Kent Estates, Coorg?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Old Kent Estates, Coorg?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Old Kent Estates, Coorg?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Old Kent Estates, Coorg?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bigcup cafe, Coorg Cuisine, and The Fort Mercara - Restaurant.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Old Kent Estates, Coorg?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Hindi, Tamil, and Urdu.
Are there any historical sites close to Old Kent Estates, Coorg?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Raja's Tomb (7.9 km) and Madikeri Fort (6.3 km).