We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Hardur Post, Suntikoppa 571237 India
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (25)
Room & Suite (5)
Dining (2)

About

#5 of 15 in Suntikoppa
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Spend your weekend at a coffee estate. Hillyside offers you two bedrooms in a beautiful setting on the banks of the Harangi river and dam waters. This property is an ancesteral home and maintains much of the rustic beauty and is coupled with the convenience of a homestay. This is ideal for anyone looking to live amongst nature, giving the authentic experience of life in a coffee plantation. Since this is a home we request visitors not to expect the luxury and amenities that are associated with other hotels or resorts.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Room types
Family rooms

Location

Full view
Contact
Hardur Post, Suntikoppa 571237 India
Getting there
Kannur International Airport71 kmSee all flights
Jindal Vijaynagar Airport311 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
15Reviews0Q+A4Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 5
  • 2
  • 0
  • 3
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Neha Dingra wrote a review Feb 2021
1 contribution
My husband and I visited this place after a long isolation due to covid. all I can say is I wish we had just stayed at home. The exterior is nice. Very green and secluded. The walk down till the river is also pleasant and you can enjoy your tea by the riverside. Other than this, it's just a small hut in the middle of the woods. There were also many cigarette butts strewn near the campfire seating arrangement. After trying the very basic food on the first day we went to a nearby resort for the rest of our meals. It was not the worst experience but I certainly would not visit or recommend again to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Anirudh Thammanna, Owner at Hilly Side Estate
Responded 23 Feb 2021
Hi thanks for the feedback. Please confirm the dates of your stay at Hillyside Estate so we can take care of the mentioned grievances. We don’t seem to have any bookings on your mentioned dates.
Read more
Traveller 246 wrote a review Oct 2019
7 contributions
+1
Terrible experience! There were hairy caterpillars all around the house and they didnt even have any pest control or anythng like that. There were too much of corions all over the roof and floor where we were not able to sleep for 2 days. We booked the villa by paying the whole amount and we had to sleep inside our cars at night. The kitchen facilities,outside courtyard and the lake view was ok. There was also a caretaker there. when we shared this matter with him, he just made a maid to broom the floor. The floor and he went.. Since we had paid the total amount in advance we had no other options, so we stayed there for 2 days! We even tried to call the wandertrails customer service and one Mr. Shyam (assistant alotted by wandertrails) but no response wer there and the assistant kept on cutting the call.. I would never ever suggest this place to anyone i know! Because this is the kind of services they are providing to the customers. Very poor!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Sirajudin wrote a review Oct 2019
1 contribution
The surroundings is good but the house was not clean, night couldn't sleep because of hairy worms itching, full of dust everywhere, uncleaned towels, mattress and furnitures. I won't recommend this place to any of my friends.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: rooms are untidy and poor service full of dust every where.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Kishan J wrote a review Apr 2018
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Visited Hilly Side Estate with my family recently and it was one of the best homestays that I have stayed in recent times. The 2 bedroom main house was ours and the upkeep is also really nice. The river flowing close by is an added attraction and the food was excellent. The caretaker is not pro-active but does not get into your privacy at all. The living room is well equipped with a carrom board, cards and the kitchen is also equipped. We also managed to find firewood with the help of the caretaker and put up a campfire in the evening. A good choice if you love old-rustic type houses and farms.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Srikanth B wrote a review Oct 2017
Mumbai11 contributions
+1
Location is about a km from the tarmac road, via mud road which is motorable. This is a fantastic place - river Haringe is just couple of minutes by walk, you can see it from the property. Caretaker is very cooperative, and lives in his house about 100m away. Property is a typical old house and upkeep is good. If you want to experience a typical farm house then this is the place. What it is: Typical farm house, amidst nature, almost foresty area, no immediate neighbors, lot of birding opportunities. Has two clean bedrooms with attached clean toilets - hot water is made with fire wood (caretaker will do it, or if you like you can give it a shot too!). Though firewood heated, hot water is delivered through the plumbing to a hot water tap in both bathrooms (although a little slow), so need adequate time to prepare; There is a kitchen with refrigerator and basic amenities, living room with carom, cards, TV and adequate comfortable furniture. Campfire place outside. Has good cell phone coverage for BSNL and Airtel - not sure about other operators. What it is not: Not a luxurious place with plush rooms and modern toilet with high pressure shower and 24x7 hot water. Summary: If you are looking at luxury, you may not like it. If you want a typical rural farm setting that is clean and well kept, then you'll love it.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2017
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: There are two rooms. One with a fireplace (not a functional fireplace) is bigger. Both have 3...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$58 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IndiaKarnatakaKodagu (Coorg)Suntikoppa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hilly Side Estate
Which popular attractions are close to Hilly Side Estate?
Nearby attractions include Harangi Backwaters (4.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hilly Side Estate?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, kids activities, and laundry service.
Are there any historical sites close to Hilly Side Estate?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Raja's Tomb (12.5 km) and Madikeri Fort (10.5 km).