We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ascott Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Ascott Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

312 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 310: English reviews
Yorkshire Uk
Level Contributor
235 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I don't know what it is with hotels lately expecting guests to arrive to a cold room. It is winter in the UK heating should be on. I wouldn't sit in a cold room at home and don't expect to when I am away. The heating did come on eventually but only after I asked for it to be turned... More 

Helpful?
Thank york1
DavidAscott, Manager at Ascott Hotel, responded to this review

The reason your room was cold was because you arrived before the check in time ,perhaps we should have told you to wait outside un till it was time to check in that way you would have had a warm room. Double beds and double mattresses are a standard size so we cannot comment on that. Thank you for your... More 

Alnwick
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have just had a lovely stay at this hotel.room was just as it was described nice and big lots of space.not far from city centre got a tram into city.lovely breakfast to set you up for the day .we would definitely use this hotel again,owners couldn't do enough to help you and to answer any questions you might have.

Helpful?
Thank Thomas H
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2016

After a gruelling five hour journey from our home in Bedfordshire,The Ascott Hotel was an oasis of calm.Our greeting was warm and friendly and we immediately felt at home.As requested,our room had an en-suite shower and even a non-slip mat was provided,a very rare occurrance. Following an excellent nights sleep in an extreemly comfortable bed,we were offered an extensive breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank 998jan
Level Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for a night ,truly enjoyed our stay in The Ascott ,good size room with lovely decorations,comfy bed ,clean rooms ,overall very unique & cosy place. Breakfast was also good which was served by friendly staff .

Helpful?
Thank simstars21
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2016

I would be struggling to find anything bad to say, in fact I can't. We have just had an overnight stay, choose not to stay in the centre of Manchester and so pleased we didn't. The hotel had everything we needed, the staff were very accommodating, booking a taxi and offering good advice with getting in to Manchester, breakfast was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sandra T
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

This is my 4th stay this year and I have never been disappointed. From check in to fantastic rooms and delicious breakfast it has always been perfect. Deceptively big but great friendly service. The village is a 6 minute stroll away with an excellent selection of restaurants. I would definitely recommend this hotel over any of the big chains.

Helpful?
Thank neil22alexander
Cumbria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2016

We stayed at the Ascott Hotel on 12 September 2016. We have stayed before on several occasions. You are always made to feel very welcome by Dave and Peter. The rooms are well appointed and tastefully decorated. The standard of cleanliness is exceptional. The breakfast is always excellent. The only downside on this occasion was having to sit next to... More 

Helpful?
Thank WalkersCumbria
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2016

The Ascott Hotel is a good choice if you want accommodation near Manchester. The owners and staff are friendly and helpful. It is an attractive hotel with nice clean rooms in a quiet location. Good food offered at breakfast. Public transport, rail, tram and buses close by. We would definitely stay there again.

Helpful?
Thank Toni M
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

The beds are super comfy. Rooms are nice and clean and have everything you need. A nice and quiet place for a good sleep. The staff were lovely, very welcoming and helpful. Couldn't ask for a better place. Thanks! xxx

Helpful?
Thank sexielexie69
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

We are just returning from Manchester after a funeral of a close family member. This was our second visit to the Ascott hotel and although we only stayed one night they made us extremely welcome, We had mentioned at the time of booking the reason for our visit and enquired whether a room could be ready for us to change... More 

Helpful?
Thank CAMRAM59

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eccles
4.4 km away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
4.0 km away
Premier Inn Manchester Salford Quays Hotel
4.3 km away
Travelodge Manchester Salford Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Hotel Football Old Trafford
Hotel Football Old Trafford
#2 of 118 in Manchester
1,245 reviews
3.3 km away
Novotel Manchester West
2.4 km away
Premier Inn Manchester Trafford Centre West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to The Ascott Hotel Manchester situated in a leafy suburb 5 miles from Manchester city centre (10 minutes by car). Our tastefully restored Victorian town house close to Monton Village with its wealth of eating places and offers individually styled rooms and also has a large period style guest lounge. We are very proud of the fact that the hotel was voted Best B&B of 2004, and has also appeared in Coronation Street. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ascott Hotel

Address: 6 Half Edge Lane, Eccles, Salford M30 9GJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford > Eccles
Price Range: ₹ 4,277 - ₹ 8,468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ascott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ascott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ascott Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Ascott Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms overlooking the car park may not have the best view but they are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles 998jan, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The budget rooms will be smaller.”
 of 5 bubbles 216tonim, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“front of building will reduce noise from motorway”
 of 5 bubbles Gingerpiman, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room 5 if you want a quiet room with more space”
 of 5 bubbles JP2303, 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are quieter and not over looked on upper floors and at the back of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles ElaineB1968, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay