We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Inverdoorn Game Reserve

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Inverdoorn Game Reserve
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

328 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Inverdoorn Game Reserve
See the most recent reviews
Showing 260: English reviews
Amherst, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2016

My daughter and I stayed for one night in the new luxury tents. We were treated like royalty! There are 3 tents and they are a 10 min drive into the reserve. We were the only ones at the tents and had the whole place to ourselves! They are luxurious!!! We had fabulous food, including an ostrich filet at the... More 

Helpful?
Thank SharonMagnolia
Inverdoorn, Marketing Coordinator at Inverdoorn Game Reserve, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive feedback. We are pleased you had a wonderful safari experience at Kuganha tented camp. There is truly a thrilling intimacy when exploring the wild, proximity as well as exclusivity ensures that every moment is delivered in colourful high definition. We agree with Sharon, kuganha allows you to enjoy the ambiance that being in the wild... More 

Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2016

The accommodations were 5 stars, but the safari was only 3 stars. I've averaged my review out at 4, but i wish I could give .5 stars because Inverdoorn is honestly only a 3.5 star experience. I can't take away from the experience I had here, but I wouldn't go back. We were visiting Cape Town and Inverdoorn was about... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Dana J
Inverdoorn, Marketing Coordinator at Inverdoorn Game Reserve, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Conservation is an integral part of all what we do and we work, firstly, with our hearts. Inverdoorn cannot be compared to other reserves and lodges. We have a past as a fruit farm and a town, which forms part of South African history. As Inverdoorn is situated in the middle of the Karoo, we... More 

Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2016

There is a lot about Inverdoorn that is good. The staff were without exception friendly, helpful and you had the feeling they were always going out of their way to help us. The game ranger we had was really knowledgable and made the game drives interesting and fun. The duty manageress on both nights likewise helpful especially with requirements we... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Gideon F
Inverdoorn, Marketing Coordinator at Inverdoorn Game Reserve, responded to this review

Thank you for the review and your positive feedback. We recommend the guesthouses for families, as they provide a better ambiance for groups and allow everyone to remain together. Guest houses are also safer for kids therefore it may have appeared basic to you. As far as our décor and furniture is concerned, we chose a style that would complement... More 

Boston, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2016

We checked in at Inverdoorn and were met by very friendly staff. They were helpful and knowledgeable. The rooms were so, so and the food could have been better. The serving staff and bartender were terrible. Unengaged and sullen, as if they were really doing us a favour. There was a good variety of wildlife, but seeing the larger animals... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fritz T
Inverdoorn, Marketing Coordinator at Inverdoorn Game Reserve, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We can only apologies for the unpleasant experience and will take it up with the serving staff. Your feedback allows us to strengthen our commitment to delivering the best possible service. Inverdoorn is not only a business. Conservation is an integral part of all that we do and we work, firstly, with our hearts. Inverdoorn... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2016 via mobile

Invendoorn Game Reserve is just an expensive Zoo with few animals of each behind big fences. The lions are separated from other animals. The animals in the zoo are fed by the staff. The staff is in a bad mood and has a lot of excuses for not making lunch under the trees or dinner under the stars. Expect to... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Tyrki
Inverdoorn, Marketing Coordinator at Inverdoorn Game Reserve, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Inverdoorn is a 10 000 hectare reserve and the biggest reserve close to Cape Town. Inverdoorn strives to provide the best safari experience close to Cape Town, but there is a heavy focus placed on wildlife conservation due to the pertinence of the issue in the world today. Our fencing strives to keep the animals... More 

Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2016

I booked a day trip safari with this group. In total it lasted about three hours, but it was a good full three hours of adventure. Out ranger guide, Sean, went above and beyond to show us some of the animals that most don't usually get to see. I saw elephants, lions, buffalo, zebra, rhinos, hippos, cheetah, etc. I have... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sandman103
Inverdoorn, Marketing Coordinator at Inverdoorn Game Reserve, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We have taken note of your comments and appreciate the feedback, as it allows us to strengthen our commitment to delivering the best possible service. We would be happy to welcome you again in future... Regards Lauren Leonard More 

Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2016 via mobile

This is a little piece of heaven only 3hrs out of Cape Town. Please be aware the dirt track is bumpy and is for about 20km in total. The game reserve itself... Stunning.... However I will agree with another reviewer that our room was NOT as luxurious as the brochure shows. It was very old and weathered. The food was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Emsussex58
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2016

My husband and I stayed for 2nights at Inverdoorn in March. To start with the both their web site and their brochure do not show all the accommodation on offer. We booked on line and when we arrived were initially very disappointed in our accommodation. The pretty pictures on the web site and in the brochure only show the luxury... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank KatieBee1529
Inverdoorn, Marketing Coordinator at Inverdoorn Game Reserve, responded to this review

I would like to personally apologize for the series of unfortunate incidences that you experienced during your stay with us. We continually try to do our very best for all of our guests. I will look into each issue that you have noted, in an attempt to correct and improve our services. We have double checked and our website www.inverdoorn.com... More 

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2016

We were very impressed with the quality of Inverdoorn. Granted, we were in a luxury chalet. The park was everything we hoped for. Close to Cape Town, so it was a reasonable drive. Food was reasonable, although that wasn't what we were there for. Our guide on the two safaris was great.

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
Ashford, Middlesex
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2016

Whilst in Cape Town and telling people we were going to Inverdoorn, nobody had heard of it. They all knew of Aquila though. These people need to be educated on this fantastic reserve which is just under 3 hours drive away from Cape Town through a beautiful drive around the mountains! When we arrived we were seated under a canopy... More 

Helpful?
Thank juliep010

330 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (321)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (226)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ceres
0.0 km away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
234 reviews
0.0 km away
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
#1 of 1 in Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
43 reviews
29.1 km away
Aquila Private Game Reserve
Aquila Private Game Reserve
#1 of 1 in Touwsrivier
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.1 km away
Klondyke Cherry Farm
Klondyke Cherry Farm
#3 of 10 in Ceres
44 reviews
0.0 km away
Samara Private Game Reserve
Samara Private Game Reserve
#2 of 14 in Graaff-Reinet
209 reviews
0.0 km away
Jock Safari Lodge
Jock Safari Lodge
#19 of 166 in Kruger National Park
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Airport Transportation

Additional Information about Inverdoorn Game Reserve

Address: Cape Winelands, Ceres 6835, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Ceres
Price Range: ₹ 25,978 - ₹ 51,139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inverdoorn Game Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Inverdoorn Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inverdoorn Game Reserve Hotel Western Cape
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Inverdoorn Game Reserve staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Los Angeles, California

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Inverdoorn Game Reserve staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get directions to the hotel from the hotel itself. Google maps was not all that helpful. Some of the roads to the reserve are not paved.”
 of 5 bubbles E4733NRjosephm, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“3.5 hours travelling time from Capetown take a jacket go with realistic expectations”
 of 5 bubbles jacksdad100, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We booked the Ambassador suite which was excellent”
 of 5 bubbles RoyandDebbie, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Kunganha Tented Camp for the experience. Main Lodge for swimming.”
  • Luxury Kunganha Tented Safari Camp
 of 5 bubbles Extraordinary1, 18 May 2016 | Read review
“Pick the luxury tents! You wont be sorry!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles SharonMagnolia, 4 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay