We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Backpacker Pad

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Backpacker Pad
Add a photo
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

66 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 54: English reviews
Start your review of Backpacker Pad
 Click to rate
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

Me and my friends stayed here for two nights and also booked a trek and a bus through Sophat, the owner which ran seamlessly. This family run hostel is definitely one of the best I've stayed at during my travels (stayed at over 30 different hostels in Southeast Asia) and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The shower is warm, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nina P
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

Can't say enough good things about this hostel- best wifi we've had so far, really nice food and nice room. Sophat (the owner) is absolutely lovely and organised a 3 day trek with two nights staying over in the jungle for us, which couldn't have been better. Our guide was fabulous and we even ended up having dinner with his...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bethany A
Concord, California
Reviewed 31 January 2017

I really liked this place, god price its clean and it has a lot of good people in it. The staff is very pleasant and the owner really kind. you can't go wrong with the Hotel..Try also their Tours !!! I stayed 10 nights and had a wonderful stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WilliamBurnet
Reviewed 8 September 2016

I stayed here in August. When I arrived the owner and staff were very drunk which made me feel uneasy but friendly and loud music was playing until late preventing me from sleeping. The noise persisted throughout my stay. The place was a bit dirty and I disliked how the owner treated his staff, he spoke to them without respect,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ksyenia K
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

Man, this guy is the host with the most. I broke my spectacles, he had me at an optometrist in 10 minutes, his home is full of love and we could not have felt more welcome. Sophats English is excellent and he has a jungle trekking business with over10 years experience certified by the Cambodian ministry for tourism, could not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Osnabruck, Germany
Reviewed 8 April 2016 via mobile

We stayed for two nights and did a Tuk Tuk tour organized by the owner. The place is cheap, so great for travellers on a budget - don't expect anything more than the basics. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the breakfast good but if you go on the street you get it even cheaper.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan_Klenner
Reviewed 31 March 2016 via mobile

It's a cheap hostel, the beds are okay, they offer food for breakfast and lunch. You can book tracking tours and tickets for the bus to city's near bye. The manager is very nice and speaks good English. Dorm is very cheap, I think the cheapest (2$) I ever had, but it's okay and only 5 beds.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexander A
BackpackerPad, Owner at Backpacker Pad, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your great review about our hostel. As the owner of guest house I will try to work very hard to provide better services to our clients both guest house and jungle trekking tours. Our team is ready to perform our work professionally. I hope we will keep in touch. Many thanks for your smile and...

Reviewed 19 February 2016

I stayed over in this place for 1 night in Banlung. The place is nice and comfortable for a price of 2$ for a bed. though the staff are learning to speak in english, the owner does and gave enough info about the place and various eco camps that can be done. Obviously for the price you can expect an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karthik K
Reviewed 13 December 2015 via mobile

No communication with the "supposed" manager, we asked twice if we could book a bus and he never answered. What is more, we asked if we could pay with visa and he answered that it was OK but of course, at check-out the machine was supposedly taken by the bank for checking! Worst excuse ever, right? Food was served 30...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank no_1990
BackpackerPad, Manager at Backpacker Pad, responded to this review

Hi ! thanks you for your comments. Actually, our guests can pay by their credit card Visa, master or mastro through our ATM pos services offered by the local bank in Banlung. The day you wanted to pay for your bills, the ATM pos already taken to have it checked but you still wanted to pay by card because of...

Zürich
Reviewed 15 October 2015

We had a great trekking but my friends monney got stolen (1xUS100 and 1xUS300), and as we heard there were more people with the same issue. Wenn the police was involved, they finally offered (with the consent of the police, what a scam!) to pay 50% of the lost money if they agreed not to talk about it. Has this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RaH1273
BackpackerPad, Owner at Backpacker Pad, responded to this review

Hello ! thank you so much for your million reviews posted by the same person. It posted, posted, posted and posted nonstop by the same person. Do you know the rule of the guest house in the world? everywhere it is the same. You must take care of your valued stuff at your own risks. The guest house is not...

76 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (67)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banlung hotels
0.0 km away
Bamboo House
Bamboo House
#1 of 25 in Banlung
42 reviews
0.0 km away
Banlung Balcony Guesthouse & Restaurant
0.0 km away
Tree Top Eco-Lodge
Tree Top Eco-Lodge
#1 of 17 in Banlung
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Ratanakiri-Boutique Hotel
0.0 km away
Terres Rouges Lodge
Terres Rouges Lodge
#2 of 9 in Banlung
191 reviews
0.0 km away
The Courtyard Guesthouse
The Courtyard Guesthouse
#2 of 25 in Banlung
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Backpacker Pad is a family run guest house in Banlung. Mr. Sophat formally the manager of Lake View Lodge and his family has just moved to a new place which is strategically located between the lake and city center. The geust house is doing the same jobs such as accommodating, catering food and beverage, organizing day tours and extreme jungle treks (Sophat Tours).Furthermore, Backpacker Pad offers a new dorm bed for $1 and $2 per night. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The food is amazing. Furthermore, the guest house also provides free WiFi, pool table, DVD player and pick up from the bus station. We are Backpacker Pad staff is very happy to welcome to your stay at our place. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Backpacker Pad

Address: | Village 5, Labanseak, Banlung, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Ratanakiri Province > Banlung
Price Range: ₹ 649 - ₹ 908 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Backpacker Pad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpacker Pad Banlung, Ratanakiri
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Backpacker Pad staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't take a room close to the living area!”
Netsprecherin, 11 Aug 2015 | Read review
“any room from what i saw there all pretty good.”
LouisM148, 25 Jun 2012 | Read review
2 of 2
No availability for your dates from these sites
TripAdvisor
* /night
View Deal
Priceline
Agoda.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates