We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bowes House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bowes House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

26 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Bowes House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 26: English reviews
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed here for three nights in May. I'm sure our overall impression was helped by the gorgeous weather but we were made extremely welcome by Lisa. We came with elderly parents who found the stairs a challenge but both rooms we were given were spacious and perfect for our needs. Lisa was knowledgable about the area and was able...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kevinphillips2
Woodstock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We stayed Bowes for one night.Lisa was very friendly and welcoming, not only to us but also to Willow (our black labrador). She was very knowledgeable about the area and suggested a lovely place for supper. The room was extremely comfortable (huge bed + top quality linen), lovely views of the gardens and surrounding countryside. We also were given access...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jonathan D
lisapMosterton, Owner at Bowes House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for posting a lovely review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope that one day you may be able to return. Regards lisa

Richmond, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 March 2013

I'll just start with a slight negative - surprised not to see room tidied (but I see Lisa makes a point of this for short stays) - but this won't affect the overall review - just something to consider. I didn't make a point of it while I was there because everything else was just so.... welcoming - very pleasant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WelshwizardK10D
lisapMosterton, Owner at Bowes House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for posting a review. So glad you had a lovely stay and I hope you will come back sometime. I will make it more clear on my website that I dont tidy rooms as I consider it your own private space during your time here. If guests are here for long stays I do of course...

Mosta, Malta
Reviewed 18 January 2013

I stayed at Bowes only for two days. Friendly and familiar atmosphere, wonderful countryside. Everything peaceful. The access alley is very characteristic, even if a little dangerous to cross for the car shock absorbers,,,but country is country). I hope I shall come back, one day amd, for sure, not only for businness and solo but also with friends and family.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Italo G
lisapMosterton, Owner at Bowes House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. It was lovely to have you to stay and I do hope that you will be back some day. kind regards lisa

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2012

A two night stay was nothing but a pleasure. Lisa and Jeremy were wonderful hosts and couldn't have been more helpful with tips and advice on interesting places to see and excellent local restaurants. Contrary to the previous review we saw no sign of animal hairs in the living room, in fact the place was spotless. Breakfast too was delicious...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joanne E
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We stayed at Bowes House in August, all started well but did not last long.I feel that the B&B Service given is now tired and worn out. Despite old revues being good we did not see any good service on our trip unfortunately we stayed for too many days. We were made to feel awkward every day asking on a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Stephen G
lisapMosterton, Owner at Bowes House, responded to this review

I am so sorry that you were unhappy with your stay at Bowes House, I was most surprised to read your review as you had given no indication of not being happy whilst you were with us. We do have pets and usually these are kept out of the guest sitting/dining room, on this occasion as your daughter was so...

Southerners
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We received a very warm welcome from Lisa, and had a fantastic bedroom, with biggest bath we have seen in a long time, and views over the valleys that were wonderful. We enjoyed a lovely breakfast in the morning with freshly picked raspberries and yoghurt, and kippers, which were very moreish. We wished we could have stayed longer, and this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tdejw
Penrith, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Our five days at Bowes House were wonderful. Lisa pays scrupulous attention to the finest details, but also manages to be relaxed and welcoming. The organic breakfasts were delicious, with home made yoghurt and preserves; bacon and sausages from their own pigs (the latter also home made); and eggs collected from the hens in the field beyond the gate. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Aelred4
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 May 2011

We were made very welcome, and Lisa took the time to give us some local knowledge, with suggestions of places to see and happily loaned us maps. Very enjoyable stay with large comfortable room for three nights, but could well have stayed longer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank josephine48
Lancashire
Reviewed 13 May 2011

This is our second visit to Bowes House situated on the edge of Mosterton Village and we have found it a very comfortable and quiet place to stay. The two main bedrooms (both en suite) are comfortable and spacious with lovely views across the countryside. Breakfast is delicious with local produce. The only drawback is that there are no tea/coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cat026

13 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mosterton
5.0 km away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Beaminster
492 reviews
4.1 km away
The Manor Arms
The Manor Arms
#1 of 1 in North Perrott
48 reviews
1.9 km away
Winyard's Gap Inn
Winyard's Gap Inn
#1 of 8 in Beaminster
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Hill Farm B&B
Hill Farm B&B
#4 of 8 in Beaminster
7 reviews
5.1 km away
Quigley Bed & Breakfast
Quigley Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 8 in Beaminster
75 reviews
4.9 km away
The Old George
The Old George
#2 of 3 in Broadwindsor
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Friendly family run B and B in quiet location with stunning views. Twin and double room with ensuite showers and bathrooms. Single room with separate bathroom. Organic/ local and homemade produce for breakfast. Sitting room with TV etc and large garden. Lovely walking country. Coast 20 mins. Close to Devon and Somerset borders. Great for exploring the West Country. 5 minutes Crewkerne station with free pick up. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bowes House

Address: Bowes House Bowes Lane | Mosterton, Beaminster, Mosterton DT8 3HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Mosterton
Price Range: ₹ 6,678 - ₹ 7,430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bowes House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bowes House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for douible room with large ensuite bath”
 of 5 bubbles tdejw, 24 Sep 2011 | Read review
1 of 1