We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Globe

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Globe
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

442 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 436: English reviews
Start your review of The Globe
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We had a nice meal here. Food was a bit mixed- the lamb was especially good, some of the other meals standard pub food. The setting is lovely. We were a bit disappointed that we couldn't be accommodated at our preferred time when booking as it didn't seem that busy. Service was efficient.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lpembs
globemanager, General Manager at The Globe, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feedback. Our restaurant booking system allows a certain number of covers per time slot to be booked to alleviate pressure on our kitchen. Our menu tries to cater for all tastes therefore we do include traditional favourites such as steak, fish & chips, pie, sausage and mash etc along with more complex dishes such as the...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Staff were very friendly and helpful, but the food was shocking £12.95 for a roast dinner that could have walked off the plate it was so raw. Waiter stated they serve their beef pink, that was a understatement it wasn't even cooked. Chef re-cooked 5 or 6 meals but then the size of portion wouldn't of filled a small child,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FlossiePym72
globemanager, General Manager at The Globe, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review of your recent visit. We are of course disappointed to read that even though we replaced the meals in their entirety that unfortunately our roast still did not meet your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for this. We have many happy customers who return to us time and time again therefore we are...

Crewkerne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Cracking beers, superb food menu, friendly and professional staff and pub with loads of history and character. Sandwiches and beer in the garden with family sat in the sunshine in beautiful Topsham- Saturday afternoons don't get much better than this!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robswindon69
globemanager, General Manager at The Globe, responded to this review

Many thanks for your amazing review. Our courtyard drinking and dining area is now available until late this year so we hope to see you there many more times over the coming months!

Devon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked a table for Mothers Day. We have eaten here many times but our experience this time was different. We asked if the Roast Pork came with crackling and were told it did. When it arrived it did not have any so we asked for it. Several minutes later we were told that the cook burnt it and there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bangel2015
globemanager, General Manager at The Globe, responded to this review

Thank you for posting yet another review for the Globe. Your previous reviews have always been very complimentary so we are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Our team and managers have not changed however we do have quite a few team members to enable us to cover all day every day. The pork is...

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It might be a small menu for the lunchtime special but WOW! Amazing food. Great presentation & brilliant flavours. They've definitely got an outstanding chef. The staff were so helpful, adapting a meal for our veggie friend who fancied the non veggie meal. All in all - the best St Austell pub in the SW without a doubt!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DandR-Exeter
globemanager, General Manager at The Globe, responded to this review

Thank you for such a glowing review! We are pleased that you enjoyed the lunch offer menu. We will pass your kind comments to our team and we hope that you will be able to visit us again soon.

Devon
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I visited with my partner who isn't very adventurous with his food choices. There was plenty of choice to suit us both. I had blackend cod which was delicious, my partner had cider cured ham egg & chips which was also really good. We stayed over in one of the court yard rooms which were very spacious & modern. Would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrea K
globemanager, General Manager at The Globe, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the food at the Globe. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Thank you for rating us so highly.

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 March 2017

Eating there was never a regrettable option. Me and my family went with some friends for Dinner and it was amazing it is also used as an amazing inn and will definitely return!!! Love it. Waiters and waitresses were extremely polite and I have recommended for fellow friends

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cowdude
globemanager, General Manager at The Globe, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review and for recommending the Globe to your friends. We shall look forward to your return visit.

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2017

I along with 2 friends booked for a Saturday night stay. Very impressed with our rooms in 'boutique' style, lovely and warm with a well equipped bathroom( only downside there was the shower curtain, shame not a screen). We enjoyed a pre dinner drink in the bar, very warm and cosy but were pleasantly surprised when we proceeded through to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JANE251062
globemanager, General Manager at The Globe, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a positive review of your stay at the Globe. We will pass your kind comments to our team. We will certainly bear in mind your feedback regarding the shower curtains for future refurbishment plans. We hope to see you again soon.

Exmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

As we live nearby we regularly go into Topsham on Saturdays for shopping in the market and lunch. We have used many of the venues in Topsham over the years and have now been going to the Globe Hotel since it was taken over by a well known brewery and was extensively refurbished. We keep going because we find the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael W
globemanager, General Manager at The Globe, responded to this review

Thank you for rating us so highly. We are very proud of our team here at the Globe so we are pleased to read that you find them to be friendly and that you always receive great service.

Devon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2017

We had visited the pub on Monday for a spot of light lunch. Barman very friendly when we enquired if they did sandwiches. We had sandwiches and chips and a child's meal. Very good portions and reasonable priced compared to a lot of similar options in the town. Spacious seating in the bar, restaurant or out the back of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bluecity25
globemanager, General Manager at The Globe, responded to this review

We are pleased that you enjoyed your light lunch at the Globe. We serve food all day, every day so it is ideal for a nice relaxing lunch where there is no rush to leave. Our drinking and dining courtyard is now fully open so why not return and enjoy a lunch outside in the sun! Thank you for your...

44 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Topsham
6.2 km away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
6.3 km away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
826 reviews
6.1 km away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#14 of 31 in Exeter
1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,514 reviews
6.8 km away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
3.8 km away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#5 of 31 in Exeter
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Globe is a beautiful 16th Century Coaching Inn set in the heart of Exeter’s Historic Estuary Town of Topsham. Located only 4 miles from Exeter City centre, it attracts both tourists and business travellers.The Inn has recently undergone a major refurbishment to restore and update the historic building whilst retaining its authentic character and personal touch.Topsham has a wonderful community, relaxed and friendly offering a perfect base to explore the area, whether by bike, foot or public transport. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Globe

Address: 34 Fore Street, Topsham, Exeter EX3 0HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter > Topsham
Price Range: ₹ 6,805 - ₹ 13,860 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Globe 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Globe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Globe staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
herts
Leeds, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Globe staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Family room”
Cowdude, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms look to be of equal standard but need to negotiate steps to reach them all”
JANE251062, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“There are a few rooms in the pub the rest are outside with the doors leading onto a courtyard very nice..”
staustellpatlor, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Did not use as a hotel so cannot comment.”
annf104, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Some bar noise for some rooms in main building, but bar closes promptly so no big problem if you enjoy pub style hospitality”
BobT797, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5